Skip to main content
Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

HOW MANY

Electronic Databases: 580
Electronic Books: 134,063
Electronic Journals: 25,750
Updated October 28, 2010
E-Resource Roundup

Oh, hello!

Visits today: 20



Archives


About this Blog

Search this Blog:


Quick Search

April 14, 2010

MEDLINE now available through ISI Web of Knowledge

We now have access to MEDLINE through ISI Web of Knowledge, in addition to our access via OVID and Pubmed.  This access is a free add-on to our existing Web of Knowledge subscription.  Check it out, and compare the interface and searching to Ovid and Pubmed!

MEDLINE via ISI Web of Knowledge
1950 – Present
MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 12 million records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine.

Facebook Twitter Email


March 19, 2010

OCLC removes vendor content from Firstsearch

In addition to the announcement of Ebsco Publishing’s acquisition of Netlibrary, OCLC has also announced

“an important change to our FirstSearch content services. OCLC is transitioning out of our role as reseller of vendor-owned content. Therefore we will transfer or discontinue sale of the vendor-owned databases on FirstSearch when subscriptions have ended.

We will instead increase our focus for both FirstSearch and WorldCat.org on providing libraries with access to a rich set of library-owned content and increasing visibility and access to the full scope of a library’s collection. We will work with libraries, publishers and other information providers to expand WorldCat.org as a comprehensive platform for eContent.”

Drexel currently has access to several databases on the Firstsearch platform.

Those affected by this change are:

  • AltPressIndex
  • BasicBiosis
  • Contemporary Women’s Issues
  • GeoRefS
  • Wilson Select Plus

We will have access to these databases on the Firstsearch platform until our subscriptions end (July 2010), at which time we will have to replace access through another provider.

Drexel also has access to several databases that will remain available on through OCLC Firstsearch.  those are:

  • ArticleFirst
  • Clase & Periodica
  • OCLC Electronic Books
  • Electronic Collections Online (ECO)
  • GPO Monthly Catalog
  • History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
  • PapersFirst
  • ProceedingsFirst
  • World Almanacs

For more information on the cheanges to OCLC Firstsearch, see this FAQ from OCLC: http://www.oclc.org/firstsearch/content/questions/

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: No Longer Available,Publisher Merger,Resource Changes — Tags: , , — nme26 @ 8:57 am


November 18, 2009

Vault Career Insider

Vault Online Career Library has changed its name and its look, and is now:

Vault Career Insider

Includes Vault Career and Employer Guides, Career Profiles, Company Research, Diversity Profiles, Industry Research, and an Internship Database.  Also includes downloadable career guides, 3000 insider company snapshots, industry overviews, occupational profiles and career advice articles plus access to online forums.

Free personal registration required for access to this resource

Once patrons create a personalized login, they may use Vault Career Insider from the link on the databases page or catalog to gain access to excellent career information.

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Resource Changes,Resource Enhancements,URL Change — Tags: — nme26 @ 5:03 pm


August 20, 2009

New Resource!: Epocrates

Health Sciences now subscribes to the database Epocrates.

Epocrates is designed to provide clinical information at the point of care.  The database contains practical, peer-reviewed content with a unique patient-centered approach for access to continually updated integrated drug and disease information  Premium features include pill identifier, alternative medicines, and a robust suite of calculators.

Drexel’s access to Epocrates replaces some content accessible in our previous subscription to Elsevier’s FirstConsult service, to which we no longer subscribe.

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: New Resources — Tags: , , — nme26 @ 10:30 am


April 22, 2009

CINAHL access expanded

Thanks to help from the College of Nursing, Drexel now has a site license to the essential nursing resource CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) on the EbscoHost platform.  We previously held a 20-user-limit subscription to this database, which was causing many nursing students to be turned away from the database.

Check out our unlimited CINAHL access for yourself!

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Resource Enhancements — Tags: , — nme26 @ 10:58 am


March 31, 2009

OvidSP Enhancements

The next release of OvidSP is scheduled to go live Tuesday, March 31, 2009 at 10:00 am Eastern Daylight Time (14:00 GMT). The following platform enhancements will be available as part of this release:

  • Customizable Search Fields
  • 2 New Limits: Limit to Star Ranking and Limit Date to Last
  • Quarterly AutoAlerts
  • Improved highlighting in search results
  • Links to PDFs of full-text articles—when available—in citations
  • Links to full text or the citation are now included when you export a citation to your citation manager or email to colleagues
  • Ovid Universal Search™ check box on the main search panel (Sign up for a free trial of this unique cross-platform search solution)
  • Ovid Universal Search tab names can be user specified (for Universal Search customers only)
  • Link text for the Knowledge Base in upper-right corner now reads Support & Training for additional clarification
Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Resource Enhancements — Tags: , — nme26 @ 9:39 am


February 4, 2009

old and new: Marquis Who's Who

oh good, that rhymes.

We have reinstated our subscription to Marquis Who’s Who OnlineMarquis Who’s Who includes biographies from 24 different Who’s Who books all together in one searchable database.  Our reinstated Who’s Who subscription should help clear up confusion over which Who’s Who books we can access online.  Please enjoy this database and share this information, but remember that Marquis Who’s Who only allows for 1 concurrent user.

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: New Resources — Tags: — nme26 @ 2:11 pm


January 31, 2009

NEW! CQ Global Researcher

Drexel now has a subscription to CQ Global Researcher.  A companion to our existing CQ Researcher subscription, CQ Global Researcher offers background and context on world news from an authoritative global perspective with in-depth coverage of newsworthy global affairs from a multitude of international viewpoints.

Enjoy!

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Access Problems,New Resources — Tags: — nme26 @ 1:59 pm


November 12, 2008

Reference Universe widget now available

Reference Universe now offers a widget to imbed anywhere on our libraries website for easy searching of Reference materials listed in the Reference Universe database.  You can see the code and an example of the widget provided by Reference Universe’s parent company Paratext here.

And just in case you are unfamiliar with Reference Universe, I recommend checking it out as a great aggregator of print and online reference works that links directly to Drexel’s holdings.

If you are interested in using this widget on your blog or elsewhere on the libraries website, please contact Katherine Lynch for help.

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Resource Enhancements — Tags: , — nme26 @ 2:14 pm


October 21, 2008

Web of Science Enhancements

Web of Science gets a little fancier!

Citation Maps enhancements bring you a more focused analysis
A new slider bar lets you control the depth of citations viewed.

Verify an author’s affiliation
You can more clearly identify an author by verifying his or her affiliation — simply by linking a common number assigned to the author and address

Easily integrate repository data into your search
Now you can automatically access important data from institutional repositories in your ISI Web of Knowledge searches. Theses, technical reports, dissertations, and more from 716 repositories are included in your ISI Web of Knowledge search, via Scientific WebPlus. And you can personalize your Web results by commenting, bookmarking, and tagging websites for further reference and to share with your colleagues.

Find additional molecular biology information in your searches
Access new links to National Center for Biotechnology Information directly from ISI Web of Knowledge searches, including full text.

Easier export from Inspec
Output Inspec results in the BibTeX format.

Enhance usability with the new Chinese interface
Chinese speaking users can now choose to view the ISI Web of Knowledge interface in Simplified Chinese. Simply select the Chinese language link that appears at the bottom of any product page.

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Resource Changes,Resource Enhancements — Tags: , — nme26 @ 9:44 am


Older Posts »

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon