Skip to main content
Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University


Archives


About this Blog

Search this Blog:


Quick Search

October 18, 2010

Subject Guides: New Guides for Child Psychiatry, Health Services Administration

We’ve added to the Health Sciences Libraries’ list of Subject Guides, with new guides for Child Psychiatry (http://www.library.drexel.edu/resources/guides/healthsciencesguides/?page_id=740) and Health Services Administration (http://www.library.drexel.edu/resources/guides/healthsciencesguides/?page_id=683).  Our Subject Guides point to librarian-selected research and clinical tools, e-books, journals and websites, and can assist students, residents and faculty in navigating the abundance of information sources available in their area of study.

Look for the full list of Health Sciences Subject Guides at http://www.library.drexel.edu//resources/guides/healthsciencesguides/guides.

Facebook Twitter Email


March 4, 2010

Images.MD Subscription ended

Due to a change in ownership and structure, the cost of Images.MD is now prohibitive, and we have ended this subscription.  To provide other options for finding medical and healthcare images, we have created a new Subject Guide, “Medical Images” .  The guide lists library-subscribed resources that provide images and other multimedia, as well as publicly-available image and video collections.

Do you have a favorite that we haven’t listed yet?  Share it with us!

The Health Sciences Libraries’ Subject Guides — lists of librarian-recommended sources for research, study and clinical use specific to each discipline or specialty — can be found directly from the Subject Guides link on our homepage.

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Research Guides — Tags: , , — kt32 @ 9:46 am


February 20, 2009

Evidence-based Practice Support in Economic Stimulus Bill

Earlier this week, the NY Times reported that the recently-passed economic stimulus bill will, “for the first time, provide substantial amounts of money for the federal government to compare the effectiveness of different treatments for the same illness.”

The article reflects concerns that the inclusions of issues of cost vs. effectiveness could lead to rationing of healthcare, or that it could “put the government in the middle of the doctor-patient relationship,” but also mentions similar initiatives that have been in place in Great Britain, France and other countries for more than a decade.

The Health Sciences Libraries Research Guides include two lists of websites recommended for learning more about evidence-based practice, and specialized tools for finding evidence-based practice information such as the systematic reviews mentioned in the article.  Explore:

Evidence-based Medicine, and

Nursing: Evidence-based Practice

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: News,Research Guides — Tags: , , , — kt32 @ 2:46 pm


July 8, 2008

Anesthesiology Research Guide Updated

New resources include:

AACN Advanced Critical Care

Thelan’s Critical Care Nursing: diagnosis and management. 5th ed.

American Society of PeriAnesthesia Nurses

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Research Guides — rr47 @ 2:34 pm


July 1, 2008

Forensic Science Research Guide Updated

New resources include:
Database: Computer Forensics Tool Testing (CFTT) Project Website
EJournals: American Journal of Pathology, Archives of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine, Clinical Toxicology, Drug Detection Report, Human Pathology
Ebooks: Casarett and Doull’s Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons; Goldfrank’s Toxicologic Emergencies; World Encyclopedia of Police Forces and Correctional Systems, 2nd ed.

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Research Guides — rr47 @ 2:30 pm


June 2, 2008

Physician Assistant Research Guide Updated

The Physician Assistant Research Guide has been updated with the following additions:

*Databases: Exam Master with PANCE questions
*Descriptions of PA association websites
*Additional ebooks

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Research Guides — rr47 @ 11:32 am


May 28, 2008

Art Therapy Research Guide Updated

The Art Therapy Research Guide has been updated with the following additions:

*A link to RefWorks
*Databases:Alt-Health Watch, ARTstor, Grove Dictionary of Art, HAPI
*A new ebook section which includes a link to Creative Arts in Therapy theses in iDEA.

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Research Guides — rr47 @ 10:35 am


April 26, 2008

Physical Therapy Research Guide Updated

New resources include:
Ejournals: Gait & Posture, Journal of Prosthetics and Orthotics, Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research, Spine, Strength and Conditioning Journal, and Stroke.

Directories: Google directory links for Rehabilitation Medicine and Physical Therapy

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Research Guides — rr47 @ 12:50 pm


March 26, 2008

Music Therapy Research Guide Updated

The following resources have been added to the Music Therapy Research Guide:

Databases: Alt-Health Watch, Classical Music Library, Music in Print, Naxos Music Library
Electronic Journals: Acoustic Guitar, Arts in Psychotherapy, Guitar Player
New Ebooks section-includes links to finding Creative Arts in Therapy theses

Normally edited by Gary Childs, this page was updated by Jeff Wheeler.

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Research Guides — rr47 @ 9:36 am


March 23, 2008

Nursing Research Guide Updated

The Nursing Research Guide has been updated with the following resources:

Database-ERIC
Ejournals-Journal of the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, Nurse Leader, Nursing Standard, Public Health Nursing
Ebooks-APA Style Guide to Electronic Resources, Nursing Care Planning Guide, 6th ed.
Expanded Academic and Professional Associations, Nursing Theory sections

Facebook Twitter Email
Filed under: Research Guides — rr47 @ 9:23 am


Older Posts »

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Wordpress Wordpress icon