Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Biological Sciences Databases

Name Description
Biological Sciences

An interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

BioMed Central 1999-current

BioMed Central is an independent publishing house providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. BioMed Central's portfolio of over 100 journals ranges from the general interest to a range of specialist online only journals.

BioOne 2000-current

Offers an aggregation of full-text, high-impact bioscience research journals, mostly published by small societies and non-commercial publishers.

Name Description
AccessScience Dates vary.

Full access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. Also includes over 2000 biographies of leading scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites.

AGRICOLA 1979-current

Comprehensive source of U.S. agricultural and life sciences information, containing over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, monographs, theses, and more, from 1979 to the present.

arXiv.org Dates vary

Electronic pre-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science and quantitative biology.

Biological Macromolecule Crystallization Database Dates vary

The Biological Macromolecule Crystallization Database (BMCD) contains crystal data and the crystallization conditions, which have been compiled from literature.

Environmental Science Database 1972 - Current

coverage of topics such as soil erosion, erosion control, biodegradation, bioremediation, and more. Environmental Science Database also contains information on environmental aspects of agriculture, forestry, food, and rural development.

Faculty of 1000 Biology current

an online research service that highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 2300 selected leading researchers ("Faculty Members")

GreenFILE Current

GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

MEDLINE via OVID 1950 - Present

The premier medical literature search system, which includes Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature.

Nature Publishing Group Dates Vary

Nature offers key journals in Chemistry, Clinical Practice and Research, Earth and Environment, Life Science, and Physics.

Neotropical Birds

Neotropical Birds Online is an authoritative, online resource for life histories of Neotropical birds.The scope of Neotropical Birds Online is all bird species that regularly occur in the Neotropics, from Mexico and the Caribbean south to southernmost South America. The emphasis is on species that breed within this region, but the eventual goal is to provide accounts for all species that regularly occur within this region.

Paleobiology Database

The Paleobiology database is a public resource for the scientific community. It has been organized and operated by a multi-disciplinary, multi-institutional, international group of paleobiological researchers. Its purpose is to provide global, collection-based occurrence and taxonomic data for marine and terrestrial animals and plants of any geological age, as well as web-based software for statistical analysis of the data. The project's wider, long-term goal is to encourage collaborative efforts to answer large-scale paleobiological questions by developing a useful database infrastructure and bringing together large data sets.

Protein Data Bank Current

Protein Databank (PDB) is the singular, worldwide repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D biological macromolecular structure data.

PubMed Central 1970-current

PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine digital archive of life sciences journal literature.

Scirus Dates vary

A comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet. Searches open-access websites as well as peer-reviewed content from publisher sites.

Short Tandem Repeat DNA Internet Database Current

Database that collects literature, facts, data, and reference listings on STR systems.

Thermodynamics of Enzyme-Catalyzed Reactions Database Current

Provides a compilation of data on the thermodynamics of enzyme-catalyzed reactions, limited to direct equilibrium and calorimetric measurements performed on these reactions under in vitro conditions.

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon