Recommended
| Name | Description |
|---|---|
|
ComAbstracts 1980-current |
Research from the communications field. |
|
Communication & Mass Media Complete current |
CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“coreâ€) indexing and abstracts for more than 420 journals, and selected (“priorityâ€) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 600 titles. |
|
Communications Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1982-current |
Includes the full text of 16 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, encompassing over 5,000 articles in the field of communications. |
|
Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI) 1980-current 41 concurrent users maximum |
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. |
Also Useful
| Name | Description |
|---|---|
|
Ad*Access 1911-1955 Open Access |
Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines. |
|
Alternative Press Index 1991-current |
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. |
|
American History In Video 1890 to Present NEW! |
American History in Video includes approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s. Beginning with the Spanish American War, the early films provide documentary footage of actual people, places, and events together with interviews and other broadcast content from the period. In addition to the “officially received†perspectives offered by newsreels, this collection includes some 200 hours of rare, hard-to-find, and diverse perspectives as captured in a wide range of short films. Alongside the contemporaneous materials are some 750 high-quality documentaries from video content producers such as The History Channel that Covering the full gamut of American history from the pre-Colonial period through the twentieth century. |
|
American Memory 1450-current Open Access |
Library of Congress historical collections online, comprised of written and audio-visual materials, with roughly 120 collections in all subject areas. |
|
Cambridge Journals Online Dates vary |
Full text access to Health Sciences and Social Sciences titles from Cambridge University press. |
|
CIA World Factbook Current Open Access |
Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency, the World Factbook provides national-level information on countries, territories, and dependencies. |
|
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online 1991-current |
Resource for theory and research in international affairs. It includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. |
|
Clase and Periodica 1975-current |
Index of over 2,600 scholarly Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. Articles are published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. |
|
Columbia Gazetteer of the World NEW! |
The Columbia Gazetteer of the World is an encyclopedia of geographical places and features covering the entire World. The entries include information on many of the following: demography; physical geography; political boundaries; industry, trade, and service activities; agriculture; cultural, historical, and archeological points of interest; transportation lines; longitude, latitude, and elevations; distance to relevant places; pronunciations; official local government place-names and changed or variant names and spellings.Their length varies from a brief notation on a small village to an essay on a country or region. |
|
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) 1992-current |
Indexes books, journals, reports, etc. about women's health and human rights issues. |
|
CQ Public Affairs Collection 1960-current |
Features reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations. |
|
CQ Researcher Current |
Weekly publication providing original in-depth analysis of the most current major and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, pros and cons, two bibliographies and more. |
|
CQ Weekly Current |
CQ Weekly Online offers full coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. Produced by the largest news team on Capitol Hill. |
|
Global Road Warrior Current |
Global Road Warrior is a comprehensive business travel, telecommunications and business culture reference.. The Global Road Warrior covers 175 countries. Each country listing includes: Key facts, Communications, Service support and Technical support contacts, Business culture insights, Language tips, top 150 travel web sites, regional maps, international dialing guide, mobile connectivity problems and solutions, currencies of the world and more. |
|
HLAS Online 1936-current Open Access |
The Handbook of Latin American Studies is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. |
|
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1984 |
Provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of major scholarly sources in the humanities and social sciences, as well as numerous lesser-known specialized magazines. |
|
In The First Person Dates vary Open Access |
In the First Person is an index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. |
|
Left Index 1982-current |
Guide to literature of leftist and radical media, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. |
|
LexisNexis Academic Universe Dates vary |
Large database covering federal and state court opinions, statutes, and regulations. Also has extensive coverage of news publications, news transcripts, and company information. |
|
Literary Market Place Online Current one user maximum |
literarymarketplace.com contains 2 important reference works, Literary Market Place and International Literary Market Place: Literary Market Place (LMP) is the directory of America and Canadian book publishing, and The International Literary Market Place (ILMP), provides a similar scope of publishing data for more than 180 countries around the world. |
|
Media Review Digest 1988-current |
Media Review Digest indexes approximately 80,000 media resources and more than 300,000 reviews, evaluations, awards and prizes. |
|
Original Sources Prehistory-current |
Searchable full-text of Primary works by the most important figures in all aspects of World History. |
|
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online current 3 concurrent users maximum. |
language resources never before available online: fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages. Available language pairings include Chinese-English, French-English, German-English, Italian-English, Russian-English, and Spanish-English. |
|
PAIS International 1972-current New Platform! |
Covers articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, hearings and statistical directories about public affairs, including public policy and social issues. |
|
Project Muse Dates vary |
Project MUSE is a collaboration between libraries and publishers providing full-text access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. |
|
Roper Center iPoll 1935-current Users must fill out a one-time registration and agree to Terms of Use before using this resource. |
iPOLL is and up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion polls. It is full-text retrieval system organized at the question-level, and includes nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935. The data is updated daily. |
|
SAGE Journals Online :: SAGE Premier Collection 1999 - current |
SAGE Premier collection is comprised of full-text access to nearly 500 journals published by SAGE covering all academic disciplines, but specializing in Social Sciences. |
|
ScienceDirect 1995-current |
ScienceDirect is a search platform which provides access to more than 1000 full-text journals in a wide range of subject areas. |
|
Social Services Abstracts 1980-current |
CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. |
|
Sociological Abstracts 1952-current |
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts the literature in socology (and related disciplines) from an international selection of journals, serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations. |
|
Web of Knowledge (ISI) 1980-present |
ISI Web of Knowledge is a Web portal the ISI Citation databases through Web of Science: Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index, as well as Current Contents and Journal Citation Reports. |


