Recommended
| Name | Description |
|---|---|
|
CANCERLIT 1963-current Open Access |
Contains references to cancer literature published from the 1960s to the present; updated with approximately 10,000 records every month. |
|
CINAHL via Ebsco 1806 - Present |
Indexes/abstracts books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas. Same content as CINAHL on Ovid, with more full text access. |
|
ClinicalTrials.gov Current Open Access |
Provides patients, family members and members of the public with current information about clinical trials. |
|
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews Current Now available as part of Wiley's Cochrane Library |
Systematic reviews differ from other types of review in that they adhere to a strict design in order to make them more comprehensive, thus minimizing the chance of bias, and ensuring their reliability. Rather than reflecting the views of the authors, or being based on a partial selection of the literature, (as is the case with many articles and reviews that are not explicitly systematic), they contain all known references to trials on a particular intervention and a comprehensive summary of the available evidence. |
|
Evidence Based Medicine Reviews (EBM Reviews) Dates vary All Evidence Based Medicine Reviews in this collection are now available through Wiley's Cochrane Library. |
Includes fully searchable access to Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, and Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials. |
|
HealthSTAR 1975-current |
The HealthSTAR database contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration and research. In addition to journal article citations and abstracts, HealthSTAR includes citations to meeting abstracts, technical reports and monographs |
|
images.MD Current |
images.MD has over 50,000 medical images from more than 90 collections and 2,000 contributors. |
|
Journal Citation Reports 2002-current |
Journal Citation Reports presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic, objective way to evaluate journals and their impact and influence in the research community. |
|
MD Consult Dates vary |
MD Consult provides access to over 36 medical texts, articles from more than 46 clinical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, 2,500 patient education handouts, CME, and daily medical updates |
|
MEDLINE In-Process Current |
Pre-MEDLINE (PREM) provides basic information and abstracts before a records are indexed with MeSH heading(s) and added to MEDLINE. New records are added daily to Pre-MEDLINE; completed Pre-MEDLINE records are added as citations to MEDLINE on a daily basis. |
|
MEDLINE via OVID 1950 - Present |
The premier medical literature search system, which includes Index Medicus, the International Nursing Index and the Index to Dental Literature. |
|
MEDLINE via PubMed 1966-current Open Access |
NLM's search service to access MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases. |
|
OldMEDLINE 1951-1965 |
Indexes articles from international biomedical journals covering the fields of medicine, preclinical sciences, and allied health sciences, originally printed in hardcopy indexes published from 1951 through 1965. For more current articles, see MEDLINE. |
|
OVID Dates vary |
Provides searching platform for a number of databases covering the Health Sciences. |
|
PDQ (Physician's Data Query) Current Open Access |
An NCI database that contains the latest information about cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, supportive care, and complementary and alternative medicine, plus clinical trials. |
|
PsycBooks 1806 - present |
a full-text database of over 1100 books and chapters in the American Psychological Association’s array of electronic ebooks. |
|
PsycINFO 1872-current |
Indexes and abstracts books, dissertations and journal articles in the psychological and behavioral sciences, including the creative arts therapies. |
|
PubMed (Medline) 1966-current Open Access |
NLM's search service to access MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases. |
|
PubMed Central 1970-current Open Access |
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine digital archive of life sciences journal literature. |
|
STAT!Ref Current 5 concurrent users maximum |
A searchable electronic library of full-text medical textbooks, dictionaries, drug information, etc. for health care professionals. |
|
Web of Knowledge (ISI) 1980-present |
ISI Web of Knowledge is a Web portal the ISI Citation databases through Web of Science: Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index, as well as Current Contents and Journal Citation Reports. |
|
Web of Science (ISI) 1980-current |
The interface for access to the ISI Citation databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Science Citation Index. |
Also Useful
| Name | Description |
|---|---|
|
Academic OneFile Dates vary |
Provides searching across over 11000 periodicals, and over 4300 fulltext titles |
|
AccessMedicine Suite Dates vary 6 concurrent users maximum |
A medical education resource consisting of a large variety of up-to-date established textbooks; allows searching across multiple AccessMedicine publications. |
|
Ageline 1978-current Open Access |
AgeLine abstracts the literature of social gerontology as well as aging-related research from psychology, sociology, social work, economics, public policy, and the health sciences. |
|
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) Evidence Reports Dates vary Open Access |
Full text and summaries of Evidence Reports indexed by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality. Covers all aspects of healthcare and medicine. |
|
Alt-HealthWatch Dates vary |
Find articles and other materials on alternative health. |
|
AMA FREIDA Online Current Open Access |
Provides information on more than 7,800 graduate medical education programs accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME), and other related materials. |
|
American Hospital Directory Current |
a database of online data for over 6,000 hospitals in the United States |
|
Annual Reviews Dates vary |
Annual Reviews volumes, published each year in approximately 30 focused disciplines within the biological, medical, physical, and social sciences, are thorough and timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists and academicians. |
|
ArticleFirst 1990-current |
An index of journal article citations from over 15,000 serials across a broad subject area. |
|
Beilstein Crossfire via DISCOVERYGATE 1771-current (abstracts from 1980-current) Off-Campus users must use Drexel's Virtual Private Network (VPN) to access this resource. See Drexel VPN Instructions for assistance. |
An essential database for organic chemistry information, now in a web-based application. |
|
BioMed Central 1999-current |
BioMed Central is an independent publishing house providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. BioMed Central's portfolio of over 100 journals ranges from the general interest to a range of specialist online only journals. |
|
Books@OVID Dates vary |
A searchable collection of electronic textbooks, drug reference and handbooks with a primary care focus. |
|
Cambridge Journals Online Dates vary |
Full text access to Health Sciences and Social Sciences titles from Cambridge University press. |
|
CCH Health and Human Resources NetWork Current Individual registration required for access. Recommended Browsers: MS Internet Explorer 6.x or MS Internet Explorer 7 |
Current awareness tools (i.e., looseleaf services) and full text of primary law in the areas of U.S. employee benefits, employment law, food and drug regulation, health care administration, health law, labor law, medical device regulation, occupational safety, payroll administration, pension administration, and unemployment insurance. Also includes downloadable interactive forms on OSHA compliance, U.S. federal pension and benefits administration, and U.S. federal and state employment, human resources, and payroll functions. For assistance using the Intelliconnect CCH Portal, please see the User Guide |
|
CDC Recommends: The Prevention Guidelines System Current Open Access |
Up-to-date and archived guidelines and recommendations approved by the CDC for the prevention and control of disease, injuries, and disabilities. |
|
Cochrane Library Current NEW! |
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane Reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information: other systematic reviews abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials – all the current evidence in one single environment. |
|
Cochrane Methodology Register 1995 - Present Now available as part of Wiley's Cochrane Library |
The Cochrane Methodology Register is a bibliography of publications which report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials. It includes journal articles, books and conference proceedings; these articles are taken from the MEDLINE database and from hand searches. The database contains studies of methods used in reviews and more general methodological studies which could be relevant to anyone preparing systematic reviews. CMR records contain the title of the article, information on where it was published (bibliographic details) and, in some cases, a summary of the article. They do not contain the full text of the article. The CMR is produced by the UK Cochrane Centre, on behalf of the Cochrane Methodology Review Group |
|
Community of Science (COS) Expertise (old COS interface) Current |
Detailed professional information about nearly 480,000 scientists, scholars and researchers. |
|
Community of Science (COS) Funding Opportunities Current Available through the CSA Illumina platform |
COS Funding Opportunities is a compiled database of available opportunities for grants, fellowships, prizes and other type of funding. It is an extensive database with opportunities for recipients anywhere in the world, working in any discipline. Opportunity sponsors come from the public and private sector, including local, state and national governments, foundations and societies, and corporations. |
|
Community of Science (old COS interface) Dates vary includes COS Expertise and COS Workbench |
The Community of Science researcher database lets you identify and locate researchers with interests and expertise similar to your own. It contains over 40,000 first-person expertise records. Users may limit retrieval to a particular location or institution and may also add their own record to the database. |
|
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) 1992-current |
Indexes books, journals, reports, etc. about women's health and human rights issues. |
|
CRISP: Computer Retrieval of Information on Scientific Projects 1986-current Open Access |
A database of federally funded biomedical research projects conducted at universities, hospitals and other research institutions. |
|
DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness) Current Now available as part of Wiley's Cochrane Library |
DARE contains abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality-assessed. Each abstract includes a summary of the review together with a critical commentary about the overall quality. The database can be used for answering questions about the effects of specific interventions, whether such questions arise from practice or when making policy. DARE covers a broad range of health related interventions and includes over 3000 abstracts of reviews in fields as diverse as diagnostic tests, public health, health promotion, pharmacology, surgery, psychology and the organization and delivery of health care. DARE complements the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews by quality-assessing and summarizing reviews that have not yet been carried out by The Cochrane Collaboration. Produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK. |
|
Diagnosaurus Current |
Diagnosaurus provides differential diagnoses (DDx) of symptoms, signs, and diseases. |
| Dietary Supplements Labels Database |
The Dietary Supplements Labels Database offers information about ingredients in more than three thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. |
|
Doc.com: an interactive learning resource for healthcare communication Dates vary |
40 learning modules that present key principles and evidence-based recommendations through text and video. |
| DynaMed |
A clinical reference tool with clinically-organized summaries for nearly 2,000 topics in evidence-based medicine. |
|
ebrary Dates vary |
Access to over 32,000 electronic books. One-time ebrary reader download is required for advanced features. |
|
ERIC (EbscoHost) Dates vary Includes full text linking to articles via SFX. |
A searchable database of annotated citations for education-related research, technical reports and journal articles. |
|
ETHX on the Web Dates vary Open Access |
A Bibliographic Database on Bioethics and Professional Ethics. |
|
Exam Master Online Registration required for access. Upon registration, please use individual username / password for access. |
a database of sample medical exam questions for USMLE and Medical Specialty Board exams. The content outlines and question types conform to a large extent with the guidelines set up by the various licensing/certification authorities such as the National Board of Medical Examiners. |
|
Expanded Academic 1980-current |
A searchable database providing access to humanitities, social science, science and technology journals. |
|
Faculty of 1000 Biology current |
an online research service that highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 2300 selected leading researchers ("Faculty Members") |
|
Federal Register 1995-current Open Access |
Includes U.S. federal agency announcements and information, such as presidential documents, agency meetings, grant opportunities, and proposed federal regulations. A new edition of the Federal Register is published every business day. |
|
Food Science & Technology Abstracts (FSTA) 1990-current 4 concurrent users maximum |
Abstracts to literature relating to food science and technology, prepared by subject specialists. |
|
Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database Dates vary Open Access |
Searchable database of foreign doctoral dissertation abstracts. |
|
Funded Research Dates vary |
A comprehensive database of funding and award histories; includes data from the NIH, NSF, etc. |
|
Google Scholar Dates vary To link to Drexel full text from Google Scholar, first add Drexel in the Library Links within Scholar Preferences |
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. |
|
GPO Access 1994-current Open Access |
Use GPO Access to search or browse official, full-text information from the three branches of the Federal Government. |
|
GPO Monthly Catalog 1974-current |
A catalog of all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.) |
|
Grants.gov Current Open Access |
Grants.gov is a database designed so that seekers of Federal grants to electronically find, apply for, and manage grants. |
|
GrantsNet.org Current Free online registration required |
A searchable database of funding opportunities in biomedical research and science education. |
|
HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) 1985-current |
Provides information on measurement instruments (tests, questionnaires, etc.) |
|
Health Information for International Travel 2008 Current Open Access |
The Yellow Book is published every two years by CDC as a reference for those who advise international travelers of health risks. |
|
Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 1982-current |
searchable and browsable full text of 24 Health Sciences journals covering Social studies of health, public policy, health services & administration, health education, community/public health nursing |
|
Health Technology Assessment 2001 - Present Now available as part of Wiley's Cochrane Library |
The HTA database brings together details of completed and ongoing health technology assessments (studies of the medical, social, ethical and economic implications of healthcare interventions) from around the world. The aim of the database is to improve the quality and cost-effectiveness of health care. The HTA database is produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD) at the University of York, UK, using information obtained from members of INAHTA and other health technology assessment organizations. |
|
History of Science, Technology and Medicine 1975 - present 5 concurrent users maximum. |
describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. |
|
HIV Protease Database Current Open Access |
Archive of experimentally determined 3-D structures of HIV and SIV Proteases from Protein Data Bank (PDB). |
|
Household Products Database Current |
This database links over 5,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients. With links to PubMED and TOXNET. |
|
HSTAT (Health Services/Technology Assessment Text) Current Open Access |
HSTAT (Health Services/Technology Assessment Text) is a searchable collection of full-text clinical practice guidelines, technology assessments and health information. Provided by the National Library Medicine and posted on its web site. |
|
Human Mitochondrial Protein Database Current Open Access |
Provides comprehensive data on mitochondrial and human nuclear encoded proteins involved in mitochondrial biogenesis and function. |
|
Journals@OVID Dates vary |
Provides access to hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies. |
|
JSTOR Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 1 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 2 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 3 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 4 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Life Sciences Journal inception through 2003 |
A journal archive covering Health & General Sciences and Biological Sciences |
|
LexisNexis Statistical 1973 - Present |
Includes tables, abstracts, and links to statistical information from State, US, and International sources through LexisNexis. The American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index, Index to International Statistics. |
| Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Total Access Collection |
LWW publishes over 200 print and online journals for physicians, nurses, and clinicians, as well as professional medical societies. Access available through the Ovid platform. |
|
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) 1973-current Open Access |
A searchable database for information about chemicals and chemical toxicity. |
|
MEDLINEPlus Current Open Access |
A medical encyclopedia provided by the National Library of Medicine. |
|
Merck Index (14th Edition) Current |
An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals. he Merck Index is a world renowned, authoritative handbook of chemical, pharmaceutical and biomedical information that contains more than 10,000 monographs, 32 supplemental tables and 450 Organic Name Reactions and almost 1000 retired monographs. Provided by Knovel. |
| Methods In Enzymology |
Detailed protocols and descriptions of biochemical and biophysical techniques. Access from volume 1 (1955) to the present |
|
National Guideline Clearinghouse (Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) Current Open Access |
The National Guideline Clearinghouseâ„¢ (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. |
|
National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) Policy and Legislation Database Current Open Access |
The NHGRI Policy and Legislation Database contains Federal and State laws/statutes, Federal legislative materials, and Federal administrative and executive materials including regulations, institutional policies, and executive orders in the area of genome research. |
|
Natural Standard Current |
Natural Standard is an international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. |
|
NHS Economic Evaluation Database 1995-Present Now available as part of Wiley's Cochrane Library |
The National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database is funded by the Department of Health's NHS Research and Development Programme, and produced by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (CRD), and provides cost-benefit analyses about healthcare interventions. The NHS Economic Evaluation Database contains over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations. The database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. |
|
NTIS (National Technical Information Service) 1977-current Open Access |
NTIS is the federal government source for the sale of scientific, technical, engineering, and related business information by or for the U.S. government and complementary materials from international sources. See the NTIS Database User Guide for assistance using this database. |
|
NursingConsult Current |
Mosby's Nursing Consult brings together several leading nursing resources to help nurses efficiently find answers to pressing clinical questions. It includes the Latest Drug Information, Patient Education Information, Professional Journals, Reference Books, Current News, Clinical Practice Information, Evidence-based Content, and Care Planning Tools. |
|
Oxford Journals Online Dates vary |
Full-text multidisciplinary journal collection. |
|
PAIS International 1972-current New Platform! |
Covers articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, hearings and statistical directories about public affairs, including public policy and social issues. |
|
PapersFirst 1993-current |
PapersFirst is a world-wide multidisciplinary index to papers of congresses, conferences, expositions, workshops, symposia, and meetings received at the British Library. A companion database to ProceedingsFirst. |
|
PILOTS (Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress) 1871 - Present |
The PILOTS database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. |
|
POPLINE 1827-current Open Access |
POPLINE focuses on particular developing-country issues including demography, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and child health, primary health care communication, and population and environment. |
|
Population Index 1986-2000 Open Access |
Population Index is the primary reference tool to access the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. |
|
Pre-CINAHL current |
A companion database to CINAHL, Pre-CINAHL is intended to provide current awareness of new journal articles, and includes a rotating file of limited bibliographic information (no subject searching), which are available to searchers only for the time when these articles are being assigned additional indexing. |
|
Primal Pictures Anatomy.tv Enable pop-ups for optimal viewing. |
includes Interactive Functional Anatomy and Complete Human Anatomy -- both are 3D interactive human models. |
|
ProceedingsFirst 1993-current |
ProceedingsFirst is a multidisciplinary index of published meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia worldwide. Individual papers are indexed in the companion database, PapersFirst. |
|
ProQuest Dates vary |
Provides searching platform for a number of periodical databases covering Business, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences. Delivers more than 4,000 full-text publications from over 3,000 publishing partners. |
|
Proquest Dissertations & Theses 1861-current |
With more than 1.5 million entries, Proquest'sDissertation Abstracts database is the one central, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses. |
|
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source 1982-current |
Covers a wide range of topics, including nursing, allied health, alternative therapies, biomedicine, consumer health and health administration. |
|
Proquest Research Library 1986-current |
Proquest Research Library indexes more than 3,880 journal titles—over 2,620 in full text—from 1971 forward. |
|
Protein Data Bank Current Open Access |
Protein Databank (PDB) is the singular, worldwide repository for the processing and distribution of 3-D biological macromolecular structure data. |
|
PsycCRITIQUES Current |
full-text reviews of books, popular films, videos, and software relevant to psychology. Weekly releases may also include a review of a popular first-run film or a comparative review of several current trade books. Reviews focus on current media, with most being from the current year. |
|
SAGE Journals Online :: SAGE Premier Collection 1999 - current |
SAGE Premier collection is comprised of full-text access to nearly 500 journals published by SAGE covering all academic disciplines, but specializing in Social Sciences. |
|
ScienceDirect 1995-current |
ScienceDirect is a search platform which provides access to more than 1000 full-text journals in a wide range of subject areas. |
|
Scirus Dates vary To link to Drexel full text from Scirus, first add Drexel University in the Library Partner Links within Scirus Preferences. |
A comprehensive science-specific search engine on the Internet. Searches open-access websites as well as peer-reviewed content from publisher sites. |
|
Short Tandem Repeat DNA Internet Database Current Open Access |
Database that collects literature, facts, data, and reference listings on STR systems. |
|
Springer LINK Dates vary |
Fulltext online versions of a number of journals published by the Springer-Verlag. Each journal includes mission and subject coverage details. |
|
Thieme-connect Dates vary |
Abstracts and full-text from a selection of 28 English-language and 50 German-language journals in the fields of chemistry, biology and medicine. |
|
TOXLINE via NLM 1966-current Open Access |
TOXLINE is a bibliographic database covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. |
|
Wiley Interscience Journals Dates vary |
Full text of over 1000 leading scientific, technical, medical, and professional journals and several reference works |
|
Wired.MD streaMed Patient Education Solution Current |
Consumer health and patient education videos that are developed by physicians and educators throughout the country. These videos present the most common health conditions, diagnoses, procedures, and treatments. |


