Recommended
| Name | Description |
|---|---|
|
America: History and Life 1964-current |
History of the United States and Canada, comprised of over 490,000 citations in over 2,000 journals dating back to 1964. For World history back to 1450, see Historical Abstracts. |
|
Historical Abstracts 1450-current |
Provides coverage of over 1,700 journal titles published worldwide and serves as a complete reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). |
|
History of Science, Technology and Medicine 1975 - present 5 concurrent users maximum. |
describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields. The database integrates four bibliographies: the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology (Technology and Culture), the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. |
Also Useful
| Name | Description |
|---|---|
|
ACLS Humanities E-Books Dates vary formerly known as ACLS History Ebook Project |
Offers a searchable collection over 1700 full-text humanities books, as well as reviews. |
|
Ad*Access 1911-1955 Open Access |
Presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines. |
|
Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals 1990-current Open Access |
The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals is a subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. |
|
Alternative Press Index 1991-current |
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. |
|
American History In Video 1890 to Present NEW! |
American History in Video includes approximately 1,000 hours of newsreels from the late 1890s to the 1980s. Beginning with the Spanish American War, the early films provide documentary footage of actual people, places, and events together with interviews and other broadcast content from the period. In addition to the “officially received†perspectives offered by newsreels, this collection includes some 200 hours of rare, hard-to-find, and diverse perspectives as captured in a wide range of short films. Alongside the contemporaneous materials are some 750 high-quality documentaries from video content producers such as The History Channel that Covering the full gamut of American history from the pre-Colonial period through the twentieth century. |
|
American Memory 1450-current Open Access |
Library of Congress historical collections online, comprised of written and audio-visual materials, with roughly 120 collections in all subject areas. |
|
American Song 1750 - 1960 |
American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. This release includes 763 albums, equaling 12,542 tracks. |
|
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (ISI) 1980-current |
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. |
|
Cambridge Journals Online Dates vary |
Full text access to Health Sciences and Social Sciences titles from Cambridge University press. |
| Catalogue of Digitized Medieval Manuscripts |
The database will initially provide links to hundreds of manuscripts, which we expect quickly to grow to thousands. Basic information about the manuscripts is fully searchable, and users can also browse through the complete contents of the database. |
|
Constitutions of the Countries of the World and Constitutions of the United States: National and State Dates vary |
Offers access to English language translations of the current constitutions of 187 countries, with scholarly commentary and citations to secondary works. Historical documents (usually earlier constitutions) in English translation are available for many countries. Also includes up-to-date constitutions for the United States (with commentary) and all 50 U.S. states, plus 15 U.S. territories. Historical documents include proposed amendments to the U.S. Constitution and earlier constitutions of many U.S. states. |
|
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) 1992-current |
Indexes books, journals, reports, etc. about women's health and human rights issues. |
|
CQ Global Researcher Current |
CQ Global Researcher provides in-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. Available exclusively online, CQ Global Researcher offers focused, readable, single-topic reports on vital world issues. Written by seasoned journalists with years of international experience, these reports make use of such popular sections as "current situation," "pro-con," and a new feature called "voices from abroad." |
|
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 1639-1800 |
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans |
|
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2003 |
Contains full text of The Economist magazine from 1843 to five years before the present. It includes full color images and exportable financial tables, and allows searching of photographs, advertising, tables, maps, supplements, or commentary. |
|
HLAS Online 1936-current Open Access |
The Handbook of Latin American Studies is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. |
|
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1984 |
Provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of major scholarly sources in the humanities and social sciences, as well as numerous lesser-known specialized magazines. |
|
In The First Person Dates vary Open Access |
In the First Person is an index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. |
|
JSTOR Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 1 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 2 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 3 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 4 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
Left Index 1982-current |
Guide to literature of leftist and radical media, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. |
|
LexisNexis Academic Universe Dates vary |
Large database covering federal and state court opinions, statutes, and regulations. Also has extensive coverage of news publications, news transcripts, and company information. |
|
LexisNexis Congressional 1789 - Present |
Includes Serial Set, CRDC Historical, Statutes at Large, and Congressional Indexes from LexisNexis. |
|
LexisNexis Statistical 1973 - Present |
Includes tables, abstracts, and links to statistical information from State, US, and International sources through LexisNexis. The American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index, Index to International Statistics. |
|
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 1600-1926 |
Contains full text of more than 10,000 accounts of civil and criminal trials published between 1600 and 1926, including trial transcripts, briefs, transcripts of oral arguments, records of legislative and administrative proceedings, arbitration records, and popular accounts of trials. |
|
Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850 |
Collection of more than 61,000 full-text books and 466 periodicals on business and economics, published from 1450-1850. |
|
Nation Digital Archive 1865 to Present |
all Nation articles from July 1865 through the present |
|
New York Times (Current) 1980 - Present |
Full text of the New York Times from 1980 to present (no images). Full text of New York Times Magazine and New York Time Book Review from 1997 to present. |
|
New York Times (Historical) 1851 - 2003 |
Full Text coverage of the New York Times from 1851 - 2003, including original images. |
|
Project Muse Dates vary |
Project MUSE is a collaboration between libraries and publishers providing full-text access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. |
|
Web of Knowledge (ISI) 1980-present |
ISI Web of Knowledge is a Web portal the ISI Citation databases through Web of Science: Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index, as well as Current Contents and Journal Citation Reports. |
|
WorldCat 1200-current |
Records for materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries. WorldCat offers holdings information vital for collection development, cataloging, authority control, and retrospective conversion services. |


