Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Interdisciplinary Databases

Name Description
Credo Reference

a database of over 200 reference books covering various disciplines.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Current

Contains the complete text of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, including the Propedia, Micropedia, Macropedia, and Book of the Year.

Expanded Academic 1980-current

A searchable database providing access to humanitities, social science, science and technology journals.

Google Scholar Dates vary

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

LexisNexis Academic Universe Dates vary

Large database covering federal and state court opinions, statutes, and regulations. Also has extensive coverage of news publications, news transcripts, and company information.

Proquest Research Library 1986-current

Proquest Research Library indexes more than 3,880 journal titles?over 2,620 in full text?from 1971 forward.

Web of Science (ISI) 1980-current

The interface for access to the ISI Citation databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Science Citation Index.

WorldCat 1200-current

Records for materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries. WorldCat offers holdings information vital for collection development, cataloging, authority control, and retrospective conversion services.

Name Description
Academic OneFile Dates vary

Provides searching across over 11000 periodicals, and over 4300 fulltext titles

AccessScience Dates vary.

Full access to 7100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. Also includes over 2000 biographies of leading scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites.

ACLS Humanities E-Books Dates vary

Offers a searchable collection over 1700 full-text humanities books, as well as reviews.

African Journal Archive Varies

The African Journal Archive is a retrospective digitisation project of full-text journal articles published in Africa, in the Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities, providing access to a multi-disciplinary, multi-country digital archive of Africa?s research and cultural heritage contained in its journal literature.

AMA Manual of Style Online: a guide for authors and editors Current

contains everything medical and scientific researchers, writers, and editors need to produce well-organized, clear, readable, and authoritative manuscripts. Includes glossaries of publishing terms, citation style information, and a guide to correct usage of common medical terms.

AP Images 1826 - Current

an International photo archive (1826-present), a Graphics Database which contains graphics, maps, illustrations and logos, and an AP Audio Database which contains searchable audio clips dating back to the 1920s.

ArticleFirst 1990-current

An index of journal article citations from over 15,000 serials across a broad subject area.

Biography In Context (Formerly Biography Resource Center) Dates vary

Biographies of hundreds of notable figures from all areas of study and popular culture.

Blackwell Synergy 1997-current

The Blackwell Publishing Full Collection comprises 803 journals from across Science, Technology, Medicine, Humanities and Social Sciences collections.

Book Review Index Online 1965-current

Book Review Index Online is a comprehensive guide to book reviews that includes more than 5 million review citations from thousands of publications. Now with unlimited simultaneous users.

Books in Print Current

Provides access to publication information for over 3.5 million books in-print, out-of print, and forthcoming.

Books24x7 Current

Search, browse and view fulltext of nearly 8000 books, covering both Information Technology (IT) and Finance.

Brodart DartClix Dates vary

DartClix is a catalog of websites and their components in a keyword-searchable interface available through Access PA.

CIA World Factbook Current

Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency, the World Factbook provides national-level information on countries, territories, and dependencies.

Community of Science (COS) Papers Invited current

The database consists of detailed information and deadlines about calls for papers for forthcoming conferences and special issues of scholarly journals. These calls for papers are issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines and from all over the world. Thus, the database serves as an alerting service for researchers, scholars and students that are seeking opportunities to present and publish their research. Approximately 10,000 conferences are listed each year along with 1,200-1,500 special issues. Also searchable from within any of Drexel's CSA databases

Community of Science (COS) Scholar Universe current

COS Scholar Universe provides authoritative information about more than 1 million scholars and organizations around the world, together with verified affiliation and publication information. The database comprises international faculty at 4-year universities and their departments. Also searchable from within any of Drexel's Proquest databases.

CQ Researcher Current

Weekly publication providing original in-depth analysis of the most current major and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, pros and cons, two bibliographies and more.

ebrary Dates vary

Access to over 32,000 electronic books. One-time ebrary reader download is required for advanced features.

EBSCOHost databases Dates vary

EBSCOhost is a collection of databases and reference resources, including Alt-HealthWatch, Business Search Premier and Nursing & Allied Health Reference Collection.

Electronic Books Database Dates vary

Contains all of the e-book records cataloged by OCLC member libraries.

Electronic Collections Online (ECO) Dates vary

ECO provides full text access to electronic journals from a number of participating publishers

Encyclopedia of Associations Online Current

Contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations.

Federal Register 1995-current

Includes U.S. federal agency announcements and information, such as presidential documents, agency meetings, grant opportunities, and proposed federal regulations. A new edition of the Federal Register is published every business day.

First Search Dates vary

Provides searching platform for a number of periodical databases covering the Sciences, Technology, Engineering, Arts & Humanities, and Social Sciences.

FirstGov.gov Dates vary

Search engine for government information, with more than 186 million web pages from federal and state governments, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories.

Foreign Doctoral Dissertations Database Dates vary

Searchable database of foreign doctoral dissertation abstracts.

Gale Powersearch Dates vary

Provides searching platform for a number of periodical databases covering the Sciences, Technology, Business, Arts & Humanities, and Social Sciences. Includes Cross-Searching for Expanded Academic, General Business File, General Onefile, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center, and Academic Onefile. Also links to searching of Literature Resource Center, Biography Resource Center, Book Review Index, Associations Unlimited, Business & Company Resource Center, The Making of Modern Law, The Making of the Modern World, and The Economist Historical Archive.

GovSearch Current

A directory of contact information and organization charts for U.S. government at the Federal, State, and Municipal and County levels, including government agencies.

GPO Access 1994-current

Use GPO Access to search or browse official, full-text information from the three branches of the Federal Government.

GPO Monthly Catalog 1974-current

A catalog of all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.)

IngentaConnect Dates vary

Large multidisciplinary database covering many academic and professional publications.

Internet Archive Open Educational Resources

Contains Open Educational Resources and university lectures culled together on the Internet Archive. This library contains hundreds of free courses, video lectures, and supplemental materials from universities in the United States and China. Many of these lectures are available for download. The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Internet Archive Open Source Movies

thousands of videos (65,000 as of March 2008) were contributed by Archive users and community members. These videos are available for free download. The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Internet Archive Texts

The Open-Access Text Archive is a collection open to the community for the contribution of any type of text, many licensed using Creative Commons licenses. Includes collections culled from other Open-Access digital book projects, such as Project Gutenberg, American Libraries, Canadian Libraries, Universal Library and more. The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Journal Citation Reports 2002-current

Journal Citation Reports presents quantifiable statistical data that provides a systematic, objective way to evaluate journals and their impact and influence in the research community.

Journals@OVID Dates vary

Provides access to hundreds of scientific, technical, and medical journals from over 50 publishers and societies.

JSTOR Dates vary

Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Leadership Library on the Internet Current

This digital version of the Yellow Book directories provides current directory information for government, business, professional, and nonprofit organizations.

LexisNexis Congressional 1789 - Present

Includes Serial Set, CRDC Historical, Statutes at Large, and Congressional Indexes from LexisNexis.

LexisNexis Statistical

Drexel no longer subsribes to Lexis Nexis Statistical. For questions or comments about this change, please send feedback to The Suggestion Box.

Marquis Who's Who 1985-current

Marquis Who's Who on the Web contains over 1.4 million comprehensive biographies, including birth and death information, family history, education and degrees, career history, creative works, awards, memberships, and more. Includes 24 Who's Who titles

National Geographic Society Publications Index 1888-current

The NGS Publications Index includes broad subject indexing to magazines, books, films and videos, educational products, map products, interactive features, and newsletters produced by the Society.

NetLibrary Dates vary

Online books from across disciplines.

NetLibrary Reference Center Dates vary

NetLibrary's Reference Center eBook Search limits your search to only titles in the Reference Center collection to which Drexel subscribes (about 100 titles).

Networked Digital Library of Theses & Dissertations Current

Contains information on how to set up Electronic Theses and Dissertation (ETD) Programs, how to create and locate ETDs, and current research in digital libraries related to ETDs.

New York Times (Current) 1980 - Present

Full text of the New York Times from 1980 to present (no images). Full text of New York Times Magazine and New York Time Book Review from 1997 to present.

New York Times (Historical) 1851 - 2003

Full Text coverage of the New York Times from 1851 - 2003, including original images.

OpenDOAR Directory of Open Access Depositories Current

The OpenDOAR service provides a quality-assured listing of open access repositories around the world. OpenDOAR staff harvest and assign metadata to allow categorisation and analysis to assist the wider use and exploitation of repositories. Each of the repositories has been visited by OpenDOAR staff to ensure a high degree of quality and consistency in the information provided. OpenDOAR FAQ

Original Sources Prehistory-current

Searchable full-text of Primary works by the most important figures in all aspects of World History.

Oxford English Dictionary Second Edition

Online version of the classic extensive dictionary which includes word origins. Fully searchable.

Oxford Journals Online Dates vary

Full-text multidisciplinary journal collection.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online current

language resources never before available online: fully searchable, completely comprehensive bilingual dictionaries, and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning and using an expanding range of languages. Available language pairings include Chinese-English, French-English, German-English, Italian-English, Russian-English, and Spanish-English.

Oxford Reference Online Dates vary

Approximately 200 dictionaries, language reference works, and subject reference works.

PapersFirst 1993-current

PapersFirst is a world-wide multidisciplinary index to papers of congresses, conferences, expositions, workshops, symposia, and meetings received at the British Library. A companion database to ProceedingsFirst.

Population Index 1986-2000

Population Index is the primary reference tool to access the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.

ProceedingsFirst 1993-current

ProceedingsFirst is a multidisciplinary index of published meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia worldwide. Individual papers are indexed in the companion database, PapersFirst.

ProQuest Dates vary

Provides searching platform for a number of periodical databases covering Business, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences. Delivers more than 4,000 full-text publications from over 3,000 publishing partners.

Proquest Dissertations & Theses 1861-current

With more than 1.5 million entries, Proquest'sDissertation Abstracts database is the one central, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Readers' Guide Retrospective 1890 - 1982

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature provides thorough indexing and accurate bibliographic data for 272 popular magazines central to any school, college, or public library collection. Presenting the richest account of U.S. cultural history you?ll find in any single source, Readers? Guide Retrospective is the online equivalent of 44 Readers? Guide annuals.

Regional Business News

Comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Roper Center iPoll 1935-current

iPOLL is and up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion polls. It is full-text retrieval system organized at the question-level, and includes nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935. The data is updated daily.

SAGE Journals Online :: SAGE Premier Collection 1999 - current

SAGE Premier collection is comprised of full-text access to nearly 500 journals published by SAGE covering all academic disciplines, but specializing in Social Sciences.

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)

SRMO is a powerful research methods tool, linking SAGE?s renowned research methods content with sophisticated search tools to help researcher answer their research methods questions like never before. The site contains 504 book titles, including the entire QASS (aka Little Green Book) series, 6 dictionaries, 4 encyclopedias and a Major Work containing journal articles. They also have a visual Methods Map tool and playlist functionality called SRMO Lists.

ScienceDirect through 1995

ScienceDirect is a search platform which provides access to more than 1000 full-text journals in a wide range of subject areas.

SimplyMap

a web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using United States demographic, business, and marketing data. Data sources include the U.S. Census and Census projections.

Statista (TRIAL)

Statista.com integrates over 60,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. Categorized into over 20 market sectors, Statista provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest. Content is generally free to access; however, given the exclusivity and detail of many statistics, a purchased Premium Account is required to access much of the platform. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory Current

Provides information about pricing, subscription, key publisher, editor and advertising contact of over 240,000 serial titles.

United Nations Documentation Center 1946-present

Provides access to full text of all United Nations resolutions from 1946 to present, and full text of most other UN official documents from 1993 to present.

University of California Press eScholarship Editions 1985-current

Collection includes over 400 books from academic presses on a range of topics.

Web of Knowledge (ISI) 1980-present

ISI Web of Knowledge is a Web portal the ISI Citation databases through Web of Science: Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index, as well as Current Contents and Journal Citation Reports.

World Almanacs 1998-current

Includes biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics (from The World Almanac and Book of Facts, The World Almanac of the U.S.A., The World Almanac of U.S. Politics, The World Almanac Knowledge Source.)

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon