Skip to main content Skip to site search
Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Performing Arts Databases

Name Description
Film Literature Index
Date range
1976-2001

Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance Full Text
Date range
1989 - Present

A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries. Full text available includes more than 100 journals and over 50 books & monographs such as Art and the Performance of Memory, Who's Who in Contemporary World Theatre, World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre and many more.

International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text
Date range
1864-current

IIPA Full Text provides indexing, abstracts and selected full text from sources including dance, film, drama, television, the arts and entertainment industry, stagecraft, magic, musical theatre and performance art.

Naxos Music Library

Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 130,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database. All these can be accessible from computers in academic libraries, home or office.

Pollstar Online
Date range
Dates vary

Provides music concert industry information, including Route Book (concert tour schedules), box office results, industry directories, news and other industry related data services.

Variety.com
Date range
Dates vary

Offers the full text of every current article in Daily Variety and Variety, as well as research tools like a searchable credits database, a global showbiz events calendar, interactive box office charts, classifieds, video clips, extended event photo coverage and more.

Name Description
American Song
Date range
1750 - 1960

American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. This release includes 763 albums, equaling 12,542 tracks.

Classical Music Library
Date range
Dates vary

Large and continually growing collection of over 35,000 classical music recordings for listening, browsing and searching. Provides musical sound recordings and MIDI files, program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history, and glossary), and images. The music includes vocal and instrumental works from the Middle Ages through to the present.

Dance In Video

Dance in Video will contain 250 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance. This release includes 47 videos, equalling 82 hours

Music-In-Print Databases
Date range
2001 - current

emusicquest provides The Music-In-Print Series databases for subscribers to search online: Sacred and Secular Choral, Classical Vocal, Organ, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, Piano, Chamber, Band, Brass, Handbell, Harp, Percussion, Recorder, Jazz, and Popular Music In Print

Oxford Music Online (formerly Grove Music Online)
Date range
Dates vary

Oxford Music Online is comprised of the reference source formerly known as Grove Music Online, and now also includes other valuable Oxford Reference sources. Oxford Music Online is an extensive reference resource to information about music.

RecordXpress Film & TV Guide
Date range
Current

RecordXpress Film & TV Guide offers updated contact information for all Film and Television firms in the United States.

Copyright © 2012 Drexel University Libraries, 33rd and Market Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19104. All rights reserved   |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon