Recommended
| Name | Description |
|---|---|
|
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online 1991-current |
Resource for theory and research in international affairs. It includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences. |
|
CQ Political Reference Suite 1945 - Present |
CQ Press Political Reference Suite of Online Editions integrates many of CQ Press's reference titles on government and politics into an electronic format that offers easy navigation between titles. Includes Congress and the Nation, Historic Documents Series, Political Handbook of the World, Politics in America, Supreme Court Yearbook, Vital Statistics on American Politics, and the Washington Information Directory. |
|
CQ Weekly Current |
CQ Weekly Online offers full coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. Produced by the largest news team on Capitol Hill. |
|
PAIS International 1972-current New Platform! |
Covers articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, hearings and statistical directories about public affairs, including public policy and social issues. |
|
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts 1975-current |
Supplies up-to-date bibliographic information and research drawn from 1000 journals drawn from the international serials literature. |
Also Useful
| Name | Description |
|---|---|
|
Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals 1990-current Open Access |
The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals is a subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. |
|
Alternative Press Index 1991-current |
Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. |
|
American Memory 1450-current Open Access |
Library of Congress historical collections online, comprised of written and audio-visual materials, with roughly 120 collections in all subject areas. |
|
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) 1987-Current |
ASSIA indexes over 500 journals covering health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. |
|
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (ISI) 1980-current |
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. |
|
Cambridge Journals Online Dates vary |
Full text access to Health Sciences and Social Sciences titles from Cambridge University press. |
|
CIA World Factbook Current Open Access |
Prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency, the World Factbook provides national-level information on countries, territories, and dependencies. |
|
Constitutions of the Countries of the World and Constitutions of the United States: National and State Dates vary |
Offers access to English language translations of the current constitutions of 187 countries, with scholarly commentary and citations to secondary works. Historical documents (usually earlier constitutions) in English translation are available for many countries. Also includes up-to-date constitutions for the United States (with commentary) and all 50 U.S. states, plus 15 U.S. territories. Historical documents include proposed amendments to the U.S. Constitution and earlier constitutions of many U.S. states. |
|
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) 1992-current |
Indexes books, journals, reports, etc. about women's health and human rights issues. |
|
CountryWatch Current |
Political, economic, corporate, and environmental trends in 192 countries. Includes a key set of political, economic, and business information for its clients in the form of Country Review and the Country Wire. Country Review provides a political and economic survey for each of the 192 countries of the world, updated continuously online. |
|
CQ Global Researcher Current |
CQ Global Researcher provides in-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. Available exclusively online, CQ Global Researcher offers focused, readable, single-topic reports on vital world issues. Written by seasoned journalists with years of international experience, these reports make use of such popular sections as "current situation," "pro-con," and a new feature called "voices from abroad." |
|
CQ Public Affairs Collection 1960-current |
Features reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations. |
|
CQ Researcher Current |
Weekly publication providing original in-depth analysis of the most current major and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, pros and cons, two bibliographies and more. |
|
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2003 |
Contains full text of The Economist magazine from 1843 to five years before the present. It includes full color images and exportable financial tables, and allows searching of photographs, advertising, tables, maps, supplements, or commentary. |
| Europa World Year Book |
Covers political and economic information in over 250 countries and territories, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe |
|
FirstGov.gov Dates vary Open Access |
Search engine for government information, with more than 186 million web pages from federal and state governments, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories. |
|
Global Market Information Database (GMID) Current Users must accept the license agreement terms upon entering this resource. GMID is not available to Alumni |
An online business information system providing business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. GMID offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources. 205 countries are researched, with extended coverage of 52. |
|
Global Road Warrior Current |
Global Road Warrior is a comprehensive business travel, telecommunications and business culture reference.. The Global Road Warrior covers 175 countries. Each country listing includes: Key facts, Communications, Service support and Technical support contacts, Business culture insights, Language tips, top 150 travel web sites, regional maps, international dialing guide, mobile connectivity problems and solutions, currencies of the world and more. |
|
HLAS Online 1936-current Open Access |
The Handbook of Latin American Studies is a selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. |
|
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective 1907-1984 |
Provides full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of major scholarly sources in the humanities and social sciences, as well as numerous lesser-known specialized magazines. |
|
In The First Person Dates vary Open Access |
In the First Person is an index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. |
|
JSTOR Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 1 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 2 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 3 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
JSTOR Arts and Sciences 4 Dates vary |
Interdisciplinary collection of journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. |
|
Left Index 1982-current |
Guide to literature of leftist and radical media, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. |
|
LexisNexis Academic Universe Dates vary |
Large database covering federal and state court opinions, statutes, and regulations. Also has extensive coverage of news publications, news transcripts, and company information. |
|
LexisNexis Congressional 1789 - Present |
Includes Serial Set, CRDC Historical, Statutes at Large, and Congressional Indexes from LexisNexis. |
|
LexisNexis Statistical 1973 - Present |
Includes tables, abstracts, and links to statistical information from State, US, and International sources through LexisNexis. The American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index, Index to International Statistics. |
|
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926 1600-1926 |
Contains full text of more than 10,000 accounts of civil and criminal trials published between 1600 and 1926, including trial transcripts, briefs, transcripts of oral arguments, records of legislative and administrative proceedings, arbitration records, and popular accounts of trials. |
|
Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850 |
Collection of more than 61,000 full-text books and 466 periodicals on business and economics, published from 1450-1850. |
|
Nation Digital Archive 1865 to Present |
all Nation articles from July 1865 through the present |
|
New York Times (Current) 1980 - Present |
Full text of the New York Times from 1980 to present (no images). Full text of New York Times Magazine and New York Time Book Review from 1997 to present. |
|
New York Times (Historical) 1851 - 2003 |
Full Text coverage of the New York Times from 1851 - 2003, including original images. |
|
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center Current |
An online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center's unique features include Viewpoint articles and access to statistics and government data placed in context. |
|
Project Muse Dates vary |
Project MUSE is a collaboration between libraries and publishers providing full-text access to over 300 humanities, arts, and social sciences journals from 60 scholarly publishers. |
|
Roper Center iPoll 1935-current Users must fill out a one-time registration and agree to Terms of Use before using this resource. |
iPOLL is and up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion polls. It is full-text retrieval system organized at the question-level, and includes nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935. The data is updated daily. |
|
SimplyMap 5 concurrent users maximum. Free personal registration is required for access. |
a web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using United States demographic, business, and marketing data. Data sources include the U.S. Census and Census projections. |
| Social Science Research Network (SSRN) |
A searchable database of thousands of papers sent by the authors for submission, covering all areas of social science. Abstracts and some full text available. |
|
Social Services Abstracts 1980-current |
CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. |
|
U.S. Congressional Documents Library Dates vary |
Provided through HeinOnline, the library includes full text of U.S. Statutes at Large (1789-2004); Congressional Record (Permanent Edition 1873-1889, 1992-2003) (with more volumes to be added each month); Congressional Record (Daily Edition 2003-present); Annals of Congress (1789-1824); Register of Debates (1824-1837); Congressional Globe (1833-1873); American State Papers (1789-1838); and Journals of the Continental Congress (1774-1789). |
|
United Nations Treaty Collection 1920-current Open Access |
This official collection includes The United Nations Treaty Series (1946-2005), The League of Nations Treaty Series (1920-1944), unpublished treaties (through 2006), the Status of Multilateral Treaties (last updated Nov. 15, 2007), and Depositary Notifications (CNs) by the Secretary-General (2001-present). |
|
Web of Knowledge (ISI) 1980-present |
ISI Web of Knowledge is a Web portal the ISI Citation databases through Web of Science: Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index, as well as Current Contents and Journal Citation Reports. |
|
WorldCat 1200-current |
Records for materials cataloged by OCLC member libraries. WorldCat offers holdings information vital for collection development, cataloging, authority control, and retrospective conversion services. |


