Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Emily Missner
Emily Missner
Liaison Librarian for Business

Drop-in Hours:
Tuesdays 1:00PM - 2:30PM
Fridays 2:30PM - 4:00PM
or email for appointment

Hagerty Library, Room 137
edm25@drexel.edu
215-895-6164

New Items in the Catalog

Business

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Research a Company

  1. Company Overviews
  2. Articles about a company
  3. Create a list of companies
  4. Company Financials
  5. SEC Filing Documents

Company Overviews

  • best resourceHoover's Online -- ELECTRONIC Only have ten minutes to learn all you can about a company? Than Hoovers is a great place to go. It offers profiles of more than 50,000 US and international companies. Each profile may include company description, historical profile, competitors, financials, industry information, and biographies of executives.
  • Factiva -- ELECTRONICUse the "Companies/Markets" tab on the top of the screen to search for your company. Use the interactive graph on the right side of the screen to look at articles about the company that were published on any given day on the chart. Very useful and interesting
  • best resourceMergent Online -- ELECTRONIC Mergent Online contains detailed company overviews. Search for a company overview by company name, ticker symbol, location, size, or by SIC code. Use the tabs across the top of the screen to view the company's annual reports, history, SEC filings, and highlights.
  • ValueLine -- ELECTRONIC Along with its stock analysis tools, you can use ValueLine to look at terrific one-page company snapshots. Look at stock information, outlook, and financials all on a single page! For large companies, use the traditional Value Line Investment Survey. For small and mid-cap companies, use the Value Line Expanded Edition. Use the Lookup Company feature on the left side of the screen to search for companies by company name, ticker symbol, or industry.

Articles about a Company

  • ABI/Inform Global -- ELECTRONIC ABI/Inform is a full-text business database containing articles from scholarly journals, trade publications, and popular business magazines. Try searching for articles in this database using the name of your company. If you are looking for a specific aspect of your company, try adding keywords to limit your search. For example: Ford Motor Company AND advertising As you look through the articles you've pulled up in your initial searches, look at the hyperlinked subject headings which are in the first part of the article citation. If you click on the subject headings, you will be able to see all articles related to that subject.
  • best resourceLexis-Nexis Academic -- ELECTRONIC Lexis-Nexis Academic provides access to a variety of major newspapers including the New York Times and the Times of London. You can also use Lexis-Nexis to look at magazine articles and news wires. Use the "news" tab for more precise searching.
  • Business & Industry -- ELECTRONIC Along with articles from over 600 trade and business sources covering a variety of companies, you can use Business & Industry to find market and product information as well. You can keyword search in the top search box or use the pull-down menus to create your search.
  • best resourceBusiness Source Complete -- ELECTRONIC This database offer indexes to 3,800 scholarly business journals (including the Harvard Business Review) covering management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business including full text for nearly 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications.
  • Factiva -- ELECTRONIC Factiva provides access to nearly 9,000 sources from 152 countries in 22 languages. Use the Search tab to find articles about your company. Or switch to Companies/Markets and look up your company. Note: Our subscription only allows for 11 concurrent uses.

Creating Lists of Companies

  • best resourceD&B Million Dollar Database -- ELECTRONIC Company directory with over one million US public and private businesses. Company records include industry information with up to 24 8-digit SICs, number of employees, annual sales, type of ownership, and biographies of principal executives. Limited to companies with sales greater than $1 million or more than 20 employees.
  • Hoover’s Online -- ELECTRONIC Hoovers offers profiles of more than 50,000 U.S. and international companies. Each profile may include company description, historical profile, competitors, financials, industry information, and biographies of executives.
  • D & B Business Rankings -- PRINT Reference HF5343 .D88 Public and private businesses are ranked by sales and employee size and further broken down into industry category and and geographic location. Many rankings are separated into public and private lists. Contact information is given, but not company descriptions, however the directory contains an index to business executives and a company division cross-reference index.

Company Financials

  • Hoover’s Online -- ELECTRONIC Hoover's Online offers basic company financial information for public companies. It also have very limited info on the financials of private companies.
  • Academic Universe (LexisNexis Academic) -- ELECTRONIC Use the business search to pull up financial information from a variety of premier business sources including Nelson's, Hoover's, and Standard and Poors. Click on "Business" on the left side of the screen. When you reach the business menu, click on "Company Financial." You can also use LexisNexis to look at SEC filing documents.
  • best resourceMergent Online -- ELECTRONIC To find detailed company financials, begin by searching for a company overview by company name, ticker symbol, CUSIP. Use the menu on the top of the screen to click into the company financials.
  • ValueLine -- ELECTRONIC ValueLine's detailed company financial information is compacted onto a single page. For large companies, use the traditional ValueLine Investment Survey. For small and mid-cap companies, use the ValueLine Expanded Edition. Use the Lookup Company feature on the left side of the screen to search for companies by company name, ticker symbol, or industry.

SEC Filing Documents

What are SEC filings?The United State's Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) requires public US companies to file financial and stock information. The most commonly used forms are the annual 10-k and the quarterly 10-Q. Among other information, these documents offer company overviews and descriptions,  detailed financial data including assets, property, mergers & acquisitions, cash flow, earning, liability and stockholder's equity, and the "letter to stockholders" or "management discussions" which report and analyze the company's business strategy, performance and future plans. Note: If your company is actually a subsidiary of another company, you will have to find the SEC filing for the parent company.

  • Academic Universe (LexisNexis Academic) -- ELECTRONIC Use the "business" search to pull up financial information from a variety of premier business sources including Nelson's, Hoover's, and Standard and Poors. Click on "Business" on the left side of the screen. When you reach the business menu, click on "SEC filings & reports.
  • EDGAR -- ELECTRONIC EDGAR is the Securities and Exchange Commission's database for searching for SEC filing documents including real-time filings.
  • best resourceMergent Online -- ELECTRONIC To find detailed company financials, begin by searching for a company overview by company name, ticker symbol, CUSIP. SEC filings can be downloaded in Microsoft Word, Excel, PDF, or HTML for easy downloading and keyword searching. Use the menu on the top of the screen to click into EDGAR.

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon