These are websites and books to help patrons develop their career path. For more on job searching, see the Job Search Research Guide.
Selected Web Resources
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Occupation Employment by Industry The files provide detailed occupation employment projections (2008-2018) by industry.
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Industry Employment by Occupation The files provide detailed industry employment projections (2008-2018) by occupation.- Career Guide to Industries, 2010-2011 edition Search for career information by industry on this site, a companion to the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
CareerJournal.com The Wall Street Journal's career site offers a wide variety of career-related information. Be sure to visit their College/MBA site. This companion website provides entry-level starting salaries, career exploration links, and more.- Free Library of Philadelphia- Career Resources Online If you have a library card for the Free Library of Philadelphia, you can access many subscription databases online, including career resources such as Career Transitions and Job & Career Help Center.
- JobHuntersBible.com This site, created by the author of What Color is Your Parachute? offers a wide variety of career planning advice.
- JobStar- Guides for Specific CareersLinks to career information sites, arranged by job field.
- JobWeb Career PlanningThis portion of the JobWeb site (brought to you by the National Association of Colleges and Employers) provides articles for college students about career planning.
Major Resource Kits Explore career possibilities by major, and link to additional sources of information. Brought to you by the Bank of America Career Services Center at the University of Delaware.
Occupational Outlook Handbook A US Department of Labor publication, the handbook provides information on all types of careers including working conditions, training, earnings, and outlook.- O*Net Online resource for occupational exploration.
Books
- 50 Best Jobs for Your Personality -- PRINT/E-BOOK
150 Best Recession-Proof Jobs-- PRINT- Best jobs for the 21st century -- PRINT/E-BOOK
- Career Choice and Development -- PRINT/E-BOOK
- The Career Chronicles: An Insider's Guide to What Jobs Are Really Like-- PRINT
- College Majors and Careers: A Resource Guide for Effective Life Planning -- PRINT
- College Majors Handbook with Real Career Paths and Payoffs -- PRINT/E-BOOK
- The Career Navigation Handbook -- PRINT
- Do What You Are: Discover the Perfect Career for You Through the Secrets of Personality Type -- PRINT
- Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance -- PRINT
- Have No Career Fear -- PRINT
- I Don't Know What I Want, But I Know It's Not This-- PRINT
The Pathfinder: How to Choose or Change Your Career for a Lifetime of Satisfaction and Success -- PRINT- The Three Boxes of Life and How to Get Out of Them -- PRINT
What Color is Your Parachute? -- PRINT- The Vault College Career Bible -- PRINT
- Your Dream Career for Dummies -- PRINT
- Zen and the Art of Making a Living -- PRINT
Content Editor: Brendan Johnson
Last Updated: 10/31/2012








