- Country Information
- Visa and Work Authorization
- Job Listings
- Work Placement Programs
- Housing
- Company Directories
Disclaimer: Many of the following resources are from third-party organizations, and we cannot verify or be responsible for your use of their services.
Country Information
- CIA World Factbook: China — WWW
A great resource for finding basic country information on countries around the world. - Chinese-English Oxford Language Dictionary Online– ELECTRONIC
This new resource functions not only as a bilingual dictionary, but also features a calendar of Chinese holidays and festivals, useful phrases, cultural notes, sample letters and emails, word games, AND you can hear each word spoken by clicking on the icon next to the word. Turn your speakers up! - Day-to-Day in China– WWW
This website provides a number of tips and recommendations for foreigners living in China, particularly the cities of Beijing and Wu Xi. - Global Road Warrior: China– ELECTRONIC
A comprehensive business travel, telecommunications, and business culture reference that provides information such as business culture, being a businesswoman, essential terms to know, and much more! - Going Global Career Guide: China– ELECTRONIC
Country-specific information about job search resources, employment trends, work permits and visas, applications guidelines, cultural advice, and more! - Pursuing a Summer Internship in China– WWW
Some tips on pursuing a summer internship in China from Wang & Li Asia Resources, a recruitment firm for international companies in China. - U.S.-China Business Council– WWW
This organization is composed of 250 companies that do business in China, and seeks to expand the U.S.-China commercial relationship. There is invaluable information here, from a China briefing book, facts and statistics, and a wealth of great links.
Visa and Work Authorization
- Embassy of the People’s Republic of China> A Brief Introduction to Chinese Visas– WWW
The Chinese Embassy website details the various visas they offer.
Job Listings
Check out the International Job Listings and Job Listings by Country on the International Job Search research guide for additional resources.
- 51Job– WWW
The biggest online job site in China. - American Chamber of Commerce in the People’s Republic of China– WWW
AmCham-China represents US companies and individuals doing business in China. Learn about the business visa and health insurance services they offer, read their several publications, search their directory of member companies, and browse their job and internship listings. - The Beijinger Classifieds: Internships– WWW
The Beijinger is Beijing’s premier English-language site with all kinds of classifieds. This links to their internships. - ClassifiedPost: Top Jobs in Hong Kong– WWW
Job postings from many different sectors. Also features a Career Centre, Salary Index, Career Doctor, and more. - Craigslist Shanghai- Internships– WWW
I’ve linked to their Shanghai site, but Craigslist is operating in Beijing, Guangzhou, Hangzhou, and Shenzhen. - Hong Kong Jobs for Expats and English Speakers– WWW
Brought to you by GeoExpat. Mostly full-time positions, but also a few internships. - Idealist.org– WWW
The best website to find job and internship listings from the nonprofit world. Check out their jobs, internships, and volunteer positions in China. However, be aware that listings may be posted by placement programs. - iHipo International Careers: China– WWW
iHipo features international job and internship listings from around the world. This links to their Chinese listings. - Riley Guide: International Job Opportunities in China– WWW
The Riley Guide highlights the best job search websites for China. - Shanghai Expat- Jobs– WWW
Search Shanghai Expat’s jobs classifieds for jobs and internships. They even have a company list. - Zhaopin– WWW
One of China’s leading online job sites. Search for internships and full-time jobs from around all of China on the English version of this website.
Work Placement Programs
Find more programs by using one of our directories.
- Abroad China, Inc– WWW
They offer both a Summer Internship/Study Program and a Young Professional Internship/Study Program. You can choose between Beijing or Shanghai, and participants typically receive a salary. Accommodation costs are included in the Summer Program ($4700-$5750) but are not included in the Young Professional Program ($2170-$2650). - AISEC– WWW
AISEC is a nonprofit dedicated to promoting cultural understanding and international cooperation, and offers hundreds of management, technical, education, and development internships abroad. You must join AISEC before you can apply for the internship program. The AISEC Penn chapter serves the entire Philadelphia region; you can contact Jill Portnoy, the VP of Talent Management, at jill@sas.upenn.edu to learn more about the recruitment process. - CRCC– WWW
Unpaid internships in China. Includes accommodation and lessons in Mandarin. - Experiential Learning International– WWW
ELI places students on 1 to 6 month long internships in Shanghai in a variety of industries. The total fee is $1095 and includes placement, airport pick-up, orientation, activities, and an in-country coordinator. It does not include accommodation but housing assistance is available. Stipends are available for some internships, but require a 3 month minimum placement. Make sure to apply at least 2 months in advance of your desired start date. - IASTE- International Association for the Exchange of Students for Technical Experience– WWW
IAESTE offers paid internships in over 30 countries in technical fields such as engineering, computer science, mathematics, natural/physical sciences, architecture, and agricultural science, for a program fee. Application deadline is January 10th. - International Cooperative Education– WWW
ICE places students on paid international summer internships, for a fee of about $1150. They also place students on semester-long internships. They recommend applying by mid-March. - IES Global- The China Internship Program– WWW
IES Global offers a Media Internship, Corporate Internship, and Hospitality Internship for up to 6 months, with prices starting at about 1300 Euros. They can for arrange accommodation and Mandarin language courses for additional fees. Only Hospitality interns receive some sort of stipend. - UOutlook– WWW
The program fee is 4125 Yuan, which is equivalent to about $600. This includes internship placement, visa assistance, housing arrangement assistance, airport pick-up and drop-off, and an orientation. Housing is not included in the fee. Apply at least 2 months before your desired start date. - U.S. Department of State– WWW
Offers unpaid student internships, about half of which are located abroad in US embassies.
Housing
Most work placement programs offer accommodation assistance, but in case you need to find housing for yourself, here are some places you may want to look:
- AsiaExpats.com- Shanghai Apartments– WWW
- AsiaExpats.com- Beijing Apartments– WWW
AsiaExpats is a resource for expats, professionals, and executives living in Asia. These link to the apartments and property link on their website. - The Beijinger Classifieds: Housing– WWW
The Beijinger is Beijing’s premier English-language site with all kinds of classifieds. This links to their housing classifieds. - Craigslist Shanghai- Apartments/Housing for Rent– WWW
I’ve linked to their Shanghai site, but Craigslist is operating in Beijing, Guangzhou, Hangzhou, and Shenzhen. - Expatriates.com– WWW
Expatriates lauds itself as the “online community for expatriates.” It functions like a classifieds for countries around the world. This links to the China apartment listings. - Shanghai Expat- Real Estate– WWW
Find apartments and houses for rent in many Chinese cities.
Company Directories
Use these database to generate lists of companies in China.
D&B Million Dollar Database — ELECTRONIC
Million Dollar is a fantastic database that allows you to compile lists of companies based on many different criteria including industry, country, region or city. You can export your results to Excel so you can save your company lists and their contact information.- Business & Company Resource Center– ELECTRONIC
To generate a list of international companies, select ‘Advanced Search.’ Under ‘Content Area’ select ‘Company Profiles/Products.’ To specify location, select ‘State/Country’ from the drop-down menu. To specify industry, select ‘Industry Description,’ ‘SIC code,’ or ‘Keyword’ from the drop-down menu. - Uniworld– ELECTRONIC
Use this electronic company directory to create lists of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countires and Foreign Firms Operating in the U.S. It’s easy to use and searchable by country, industry and much more!
Content Editor: Brendan Johnson
Last Updated: 10/31/2012








