- Country Information
- Visa and Work Authorization
- Job Listings
- Work Placement Programs
- Company Directories
Make sure to look through the International Job Search Research Guide in addition to the resources below.
- CIA World Factbook: England– WWW
A great resource to find basic information on countries around the world
- Global Road Warrior: England — WWW
Global Road Warrior is a comprehensive business travel, telecommunications, and business culture reference that features over 175 different countries. It provides information such business culture, being a businesswoman, essential terms to know, and much much more!
- Working in England: Advice & Tips – WWW
Eurograduate features some advice and even a sample CV on how to conduct a job search in the UK.
- Living in the UK: Resources for Expatriates– WWW
Articles, links, resources and more, brought to you by Transitions Abroad.com.
- Going Global — ELECTRONIC
Country profiles with information on job resources, top companies, resumes/CV’s, cultural advice, and more.
- BUNAC — WWW
The British Universities North America Club (BUNAC) specializes in work/volunteer abroad programs for people between the ages of 18 and 30. Their Intern in Britain program gives you authorization to work and travel in the UK for up to six months. Their 2011 program fee is $750 plus insurance.
- UK Border Agency — WWW
The United Kingdom’s site on Visa information. Find out the difference between a Student and Working Visa and which one is more applicable to you. Understand the UK’s 5-Tier Immigration System. This site also helps you gather the required documents in order to apply for a Visa, as well as link to Visa4UK, the UK’s online Visa Application system.
- GoAbroad.com– WWW
A very good site for finding job abroad opportunities. Can search by country, region, or city, in addition to your area of study. Collects jobs from a variety of different work abroad programs. Includes jobs from a variety of industries, though many are in teaching.
- Craigslist: London– WWW
- iAgora.com: England– WWW
Internships and entry-level jobs from 28 European countries, accessible for free or on a “premium” level.
- Indeed.co.uk– WWW
One of my favorite job search engines for the US also has a UK equivalent!
- Idealist.org– WWW
The best website to find job and internship listings from the nonprofit world. Check out their jobs, internships, and volunteer positions in the UK. However, be aware that listings may be posted by placement programs.
- Riley Guide: International Job Opportunities in the British Isles– WWW
The Riley Guide highlights the major job search websites for all of the British Isles, including the United Kingdom.
- Adzuna– WWW
Very cool job site that allows you to login using your LinkedIn or Facebook account to see if any of your connections or friends work at the companies that are posting jobs. They also offer some very helpful maps and other information to help you find where the jobs are and more. While the job search itself is not the best, it’s still worth using especially if you want to use your network.
- London Jobs– WWW
Excellent site just for jobs in London and its surrounding suburbs! Choose jobs from a large variety of fields. You can also select internships or temporary jobs for your Co-op Abroad experience.
- AISEC– WWW
AISEC is a nonprofit dedicated to promoting cultural understanding and international cooperation, and offers hundreds of management, technical, education, and development internships abroad. You must join AISEC before you can apply for the internship program. The AISEC Penn chapter serves the entire Philadelphia region; you can contact Jill Portnoy, the VP of Talent Management, at firstname.lastname@example.org to learn more about the recruitment process.
- BUNAC — WWW
The British Universities North America Club (BUNAC) specializes in work/volunteer abroad programs for people between the ages of 18 and 30. They provide support and visa processing for their 6-month Intern in Britain program.
- EPA Internships– WWW
Work abroad programs to several cities in Europe including London, Berlin and Madrid.
- Internship in London — WWW
Excellent site for looking for unpaid internships in London. While the site mainly caters to students from other EU countries, it also works with students from the United States. Most postings will list the duration and start time of the internship, though most internships would be flexible.
- UK Employment & Recruitment Agencies– WWW
Directory of Employment and Recruiting Agencies in England. Can specify agencies by location. Most require some fee for their services.
- Accommodations for Students– WWW
This site has it all! Whether you’re looking for a roommate, student housing, student homes, or even your own “flat,” this site helps you find the accommodation you’re looking for in the area of your choice.
- Craigslist: London– WWW
- International Student House– WWW
Another very good student accommodations building. One site in London, includes housing and amenities while living with other students from around the world.
- Nido Student Living– WWW
Student accommodations complex with several locations in London. Choose from single studios to double dorm rooms with a roommate. Many amenities are included.
- Right Move– WWW
One of the largest property sites in the UK. Look for flats or rooms to rent throughout London and the UK.
Use these database to generate lists of companies in England.
- Register of Sponsors- Employers– WWW
MUST READ! A list of all the companies in England that hire International workers and students. When you begin to target companies to contact, make sure that you can find them on this list so you know they hire international students.
- D&B Million Dollar Database — ELECTRONIC
Million Dollar is a fantastic database that allows you to compile lists of companies based on many different criteria including industry, country, region or city. You can export your results to Excel so you can save your company lists and their contact information.
- Business & Company Resource Center– ELECTRONIC
To generate a list of international companies, select ‘Advanced Search.’ Under ‘Content Area’ select ‘Company Profiles/Products.’ To specify location, select ‘State/Country’ from the drop-down menu. To specify industry, select ‘Industry Description,’ ‘SIC code,’ or ‘Keyword’ from the drop-down menu.
- Europages– WWW
Use this business directory site to search for companies in Europe by business sector , products & services or theme.
- Uniworld– ELECTRONIC
Use this electronic company directory to create lists of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the U.S. It’s easy to use and searchable by country, industry and much more!
Content Editor: Brendan Johnson
Last Updated: 10/31/2012