- Country Information
- Visa and Work Authorization
- Job Listings
- Work Placement Programs
- Company Directories
Make sure to look through the International Job Search Research Guide in addition to the resources below.
- CIA World Factbook: Germany– WWW
A great resource to find basic information on countries around the world.
- Global Road Warrior: Germany — WWW
Global Road Warrior is a comprehensive business travel, telecommunications, and business culture reference that features over 175 different countries. It provides information such business culture, being a businesswoman, essential terms to know, and much much more!
- Working in Germany: Advice & Tips – WWW
Eurograduate features some advice and even a sample CV on how to conduct a job search in Germany.
- Living in Germany: Resources for Expatriates– WWW
Articles, links, resources and more, brought to you by Transitions Abroad.com.
- The Local- WWW
English-language newspaper in Germany. Discusses all the major issues and news in Germany while including sections on Culture, Jobs, Housing and more.
- Going Global — ELECTRONIC
Country profiles with information on job resources, top companies, resumes/CV’s, cultural advice, and more.
- German Mission to the United States: Visas- WWW
Run by the German Mission to the United States, this site lists all of the information needed to understand and apply for the appropriate visa(s) to work in Germany.
- VisaHQ: Germany- WWW
General site that provides some general information for students looking into applying for a visa to Germany.
- GoAbroad.com– WWW
A very good site for finding job abroad opportunities. Can search by country, region, or city, in addition to your area of study. Collects jobs from a variety of different work abroad programs. Includes jobs from a variety of industries, though many are in teaching.
- Craigslist: Germany– WWW
- iAgora.com: Germany– WWW
Internships and entry-level jobs from 28 European countries, accessible for free or on a “premium” level.
- Toytown Germany- WWW
English-speaking jobs in Germany. Search for jobs in a number of cities throughout Germany and in over 30 industries.
- XPat Jobs: Germany- WWW
Another really good site for English-speaking jobs in Germany. Registration is free and you can post your Resume/CV for employers to find you as well.
- Indeed.de– WWW
One of my favorite job search engines for the US also has a Germany equivalent! Note: the entire site is written in German.
- Idealist.org– WWW
The best website to find job and internship listings from the nonprofit world. Check out their jobs, internships, and volunteer positions in Germany. However, be aware that listings may be posted by placement programs.
- Riley Guide: International Job Opportunities in Germany– WWW
The Riley Guide highlights the major job search websites for Germany.
- AISEC– WWW
AISEC is a nonprofit dedicated to promoting cultural understanding and international cooperation, and offers hundreds of management, technical, education, and development internships abroad. You must join AISEC before you can apply for the internship program. The AISEC Penn chapter serves the entire Philadelphia region; you can contact Jill Portnoy, the VP of Talent Management, at firstname.lastname@example.org to learn more about the recruitment process.
- DAAD– WWW
The Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst (DAAD, or the German Academic Exchange Service in English), offers a variety of internship opportunities for undergraduate and graduate student looking to do an internship in Germany. RISE (Research Internships in Science and Engineering) is a summer internship program for students in the field of biology, chemistry, physics, earth sciences, and engineering, and applications are due in late January. RISE professional is a similar program for graduating seniors and graduate students. EMGIP is a two month internship in the German Parliament, while internXchange is a summer internship program for American Journalism students.
- Cultural Vistas: Germany– WWW
Cultural Vistas is a nonprofit dedicated to advancing international practical training opportunities for young professionals. They offer internship and work abroad programs in Argentina, Germany, Switzerland, and Spain.
- EPA Internships– WWW
Work abroad programs to several cities in Europe including London, Berlin and Madrid.
- IASTE- International Association for the Exchange of Students for Technical Experience– WWW
IAESTE offers paid internships in over 30 countries in technical fields such as engineering, computer science, mathematics, natural/physical sciences, architecture, and agricultural science, for a program fee. Application deadline is January 10th.
- IES Abroad– WWW
Internships for specific subjects and industries in various European, Asian, and South American countries.
- Intern in Germany-Berlin- WWW
Browse internships in Business, Accounting, Marketing and IT, among others, for this internship program in the German political and cultural capitol of Berlin.
- International Cooperative Education– WWW
ICE places students on paid international summer internships, for a fee of about $1150. They also place students on semester-long internships. They recommend applying by mid-March.
- Accommodations for Students– WWW
This site has it all! Whether you’re looking for a roommate, student housing, student homes, or even your own “flat,” this site helps you find the accommodation you’re looking for in the area of your choice.
- Craigslist: Germany- WWW
- ImmoStreet- WWW
Search for housing throughout Germany. Look for short-term and long-term rentals. Be aware that most will be long term rentals and apartments.
- Studentenwerk: Berlin- WWW
Good site that provides a link to the Berlin Studentenwerk, or government sponsored institution that provides services to college students in a particular region in Germany. Here you can find resources for housing for international students. Note: some of the site is written in German.
- Toytown Classifieds- WWW
Website for English-speakers in Germany. Look through the classified ads of other English speakers in Germany to see if anyone has an apartment to rent or sublet.
- Toytown Germany: Apartment Rental Tips– WWW
Unsure of what to look for or what the apartment lease process is in Germany? Take a look at these fantastic tips on what to expect when you are getting ready to sign the lease for your German apartment. It also includes important German real estate terms to look for in listings and some additional German housing sites.
- Remember to look on the websites of local colleges and universities as well!
- D&B Million Dollar Database — ELECTRONIC
Million Dollar is a fantastic database that allows you to compile lists of companies based on many different criteria including industry, country, region or city. You can export your results to Excel so you can save your company lists and their contact information.
- Business & Company Resource Center– ELECTRONIC
To generate a list of international companies, select ‘Advanced Search.’ Under ‘Content Area’ select ‘Company Profiles/Products.’ To specify location, select ‘State/Country’ from the drop-down menu. To specify industry, select ‘Industry Description,’ ‘SIC code,’ or ‘Keyword’ from the drop-down menu.
- Europages– WWW
Use this business directory site to search for companies in Europe by business sector , products & services or theme.
- Uniworld– ELECTRONIC
Use this electronic company directory to create lists of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countires and Foreign Firms Operating in the U.S. It’s easy to use and searchable by country, industry and much more!
Content Editor: Brendan Johnson
Last Updated: 10/31/2012