- Country Research
- International Job Listings
- Job Listings by Country
- Work Placement/Authorization Programs
- Work Placement Program Directories
- Company Directories
The Riley Guide’s Non-US Job Search offers many great resources as well.
- The CIA World Factbook– WWW
A great resource to find basic information on countries around the world.
- Worldwide Cost of Living by City: 2012– WWW
- Eurograduate — WWW
If you’re planning to work outside the United States, this site can be very helpful. Choose from a number of countries in Europe for information on how the application process might work. There is also country-specific information about application letters and resumes (called Curriculum Vitae or CV), including mock CVs.
- Experiential Learning International– WWW
Tons of resources for students from every major. Paid and unpaid internships are offered on 4 continents in some of the fastest growing cities in the world.
- Global Road Warrior– ELECTRONIC
Global Road Warrior is a comprehensive business travel, telecommunications, and business culture reference that features over 175 different countries. It provides information such business culture, being a businesswoman, essential terms to know, and much much more!
- Goinglobal– WWW
Country profiles with information on job resources, top companies, resumes/cvs, cultural advice, and more.
- Going Global Career Guides — E-BOOK
Country-specific information about job search resources, employment trends, work permits and visas, application guidelines, cultural advice and much more!
- International Business Etiquette Resources– Research Guide
- IRS: International Taxpayer– WWW
If you work abroad, you still need to report your worldwide income on your US tax return. Find out more on being an international taxpayer on this website.
- International Visitors Council– WWW
A great place to meet and network with the rising stars in a variety of industries throughout the world.
- Overseas Digest– WWW
Site with general Information. Helpful information about avoiding pitfalls of going abroad. Sources on working abroad as well as information on specific countries and destinations.
Curriculum vitae, or CVs as they are often called, are another name for resumes. Most international companies prefer CVs, which are longer and more detailed than US-style resumes. US companies in other countries typically still expect a US-style resume.
- The Global Resume and CV Guide — PRINT
- How to Change your Resume for International Applications — WWW
- How to Prepare Your Curriculum Vitae –PRINT
- Best Resumes and CVs for International Jobs: your passport to the international job market –PRINT
- The Big Guide to Living and Working Overseas– PRINT
See Chapter 24, International Resumes.
- Escape Artist: Overseas Jobs- WWW
Great site for helping job seekers find jobs abroad. Search by industry, job, and/or region to find jobs and co-ops that most interest you.
- How to conduct an international job search (by country) -WWW
- iAgora.com: iWork– WWW
Search this site for internships and entry-level jobs from 28 European countries.
- iHipo: International Careers– WWW
Search for international jobs and internships.
- Overseas Jobs– WWW
Easy way to search for jobs; direct access to employers and no fee; jobs do not seem to be filtered.
- Global Experiences — WWW
Internships for select European and Australian cities. Offer specific Fashion and LGBT internships.
- Global Gateway (Monster.com) — WWW
Search for job opportunities around the world.
- Idealist.org (from Action Without Borders) — WWW
Search for internships with nonprofit and community organizations around the world. Click on the “Advanced searches” link at the top of the page to find the internship postings.
- International Job Listing Sites — WWW
This site, maintained by the University of California Berkeley Career Center, provides a list of international job and internship search resources.
- International Job Search (CareerBuilder.com) — WWW
Search CareerBuilder.com for international job opportunities by country, job type and more.
- Riley Guide: International Job Opportunities — WWW
This excellent guide provides links to online international job search resources by country or region.
- TransitionsAbroad.com: Work Abroad — WWW
This site provides a wealth of information on paid and volunteer work abroad, living abroad, study abroad and cultural travel overseas. Check out the Worldwide and Regional Portals for Careers Abroad!
There are many organizations out there that place students with paid or unpaid internships, either for a fee or by application. The following are some of the best out there.
- AIESEC — WWW
AIESEC is a nonprofit dedicated to promoting cultural understanding and international cooperation, and offers hundreds of management, technical, education, and development internships abroad. You must join AISEC before you can apply for the internship program. View the AIESEC Drexel chapter’s Collegiate Link page for the most up-to-date contact information.
- Cultural Vistas– WWW
Formerly the Association for International Practical Training (AIPT), Cultural Vistas offers programs that provide U.S. students the opportunity to gain a summer work experience abroad in countries like Argentina, Germany, Switzerland, Spain and more.
- The American-Scandinavian Foundation — WWW
If you have found an internship independently in Scandinavia, ASF can help you secure a temporary work/residence permit. ASF also offers training opportunities in Scandinavia for Americans aged 21 and over. Short-term placements of 2-3 months during the summer are possible for students majoring in certain fields, principally engineering, chemistry, business, and computer science.
- BUNAC– WWW
The British Universities North America Club (BUNAC) specializes in work/volunteer abroad programs for people between the ages of 18 and 30. They provide support and visa processing. They offer programs in Australia, New Zealand, France, Ireland, Canada, Peru, South Africa, and Cambodia.
- Casa de Espanol Xelaju — WWW
CEX’s Project La Pedrera offers students and non-students a variety of internship and volunteer work opportunities with an underserved, indigenous community in Guatamala.
- Connect 1-2-3- WWW
Connect-123 facilitates career-related internship and service learning opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students in Cape Town, South Africa and Buenos Aires, Argentina in a wide range of fields including public health, medicine, education, economic development, business consulting, human rights, and journalism for a flat program fee of $1495 and $1295, respectively.
- DAAD– WWW
The Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst (DAAD, or the German Academic Exchange Service in English), offers a variety of internship opportunities for undergraduate and graduate student looking to do an internship in Germany. RISE (Research Internships in Science and Engineering) is a summer internship program for students in the field of biology, chemistry, physics, earth sciences, and engineering, and applications are due in late January. RISE professional is a similar program for graduating seniors and graduate students. EMGIP is a two month internship in the German Parliament, while internXchange is a summer internship program for American Journalism students.
- EPA Internships– WWW
Work abroad programs to several cities in Europe including London, Berlin and Madrid.
- IASTE- International Association for the Exchange of Students for Technical Experience– WWW
IAESTE offers paid internships in over 30 countries in technical fields such as engineering, computer science, mathematics, natural/physical sciences, architecture, and agricultural science, for a program fee. Application deadline is January 10th.
- IES Abroad– WWW
Internships for specific subjects and industries in various European, Asian, and South American countries.
- International Cooperative Education– WWW
ICE places students on paid international summer internships, for a fee of about $1150. They also place students on semester-long internships. They recommend applying by mid-March.
- U.S. Department of State– WWW
Offers unpaid student internships, about half of which are located abroad in US embassies.
- WorldTeach– WWW
WorldTeach allows students and recent grads from a multitude of majors to provide English language teaching to students in developing countries around the world. Subjects include English, Math, Science, Entrepreneurship, Community Health and more.
The following websites are directories of programs and organizations that offer volunteer/internship opportunities abroad
- Directory of Work Abroad Web Sites — WWW
This site, maintained by the International Center at the University of Michigan, includes links to both general and region-specific sites, as well as information on grants and scholarships.
- Intern Abroad– WWW
Directory of internship opportunities abroad. Search by country and/or type of internship.
- International Opportunities Program- Internships– WWW
This website, managed by UC Irvine’s Center for International Education, is a great resource for finding internship programs and placement services.
- TransitionsAbroad.com– WWW
This site provides a wealth of information on paid and volunteer work abroad, living abroad, study abroad and cultural travel overseas. Check out the sections on Internships Abroad!
The directories listed below are in print and can be found at the Careers Collection. Directories are for ‘Library Use Only’ and may not be checked out.
- Directory of International Internships — PRINT
- The Internship Bible (Princeton Review) — PRINT
* See “Internships by Location – Abroad” section in the back of the book.
- Peterson’s Internships — PRINT
* See International Internship Appendix in the back of the book.
- Best resumes and CVs for international jobs — PRINT
- The Big Guide to Living and Working Overseas — PRINT
- Directory of international internships — PRINT
- The Directory of Jobs & Careers Abroad — PRINT
- The Directory of Websites for International Jobs — PRINT
- GenXpat: The Young Professionals Guide to Making a Successful Life Abroad — PRINT
- The Global Citizen: A Guide to Creating an International Life and Career – PRINT
- How to Live Your Dream of Volunteering Overseas — PRINT
- International Job Finder — PRINT
- International Jobs: Where They Are and How to Get Them — PRINT
- Jobs and careers abroad — PRINT
- NACE Job Choices 2012: Diversity– E-BOOK
- The Rough Guide to Crete 7– PRINT
- Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel– PRINT
- Vault guide to international careers — PRINT
- Work Worldwide: International Career Strategies for the Adventurous Job Seeker — PRINT
- Work Your Way Around the World — PRINT
- Working Abroad: Finding International Internships and Entry-level Jobs – PRINT
Use these to generate lists of international companies by industry and country.
- Business & Company Resource Center
To generate a list of international companies, select ‘Advanced Search.’ Under ‘Content Area’ select ‘Company Profiles/Products.’ To specify location, select ‘State/Country’ from the drop-down menu. To specify industry, select ‘Industry Description,’ ‘SIC code,’ or ‘Keyword’ from the drop-down menu.
- Europages– WWW
Use this business directory site to search for companies in Europe by business sector , products & services or theme.
Use this electronic company directory to create lists of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countires and Foreign Firms Operating in the U.S. It’s easy to use and searchable by country, industry and much more!
- D&B Million Dollar Database
Million Dollar is a fantastic database that allows you to compile lists of companies based on many different criteria including industry, country, region or city. You can export your results to Excel so you can save your company lists and their contact information.
Content Editor: Brendan Johnson
Last Updated: 10/31/2012