- Country Information
- Visa and Work Authorization
- Job Listings
- Work Placement Programs
- Company Directories
Make sure to look through the International Job Search Research Guide in addition to the resources below.
- CIA World Factbook: Italy — WWW
A great resource for finding basic country information on countries around the world.
- Italian-English Oxford Language Dictionary Online– ELECTRONIC
This resource functions not only as a bilingual dictionary, but also features a calendar of Italian festivals and holidays and festivals, useful phrases, cultural notes, sample letters and emails, word games, AND you can hear each word spoken by clicking on the icon next to the word. Turn your speakers up!
- Global Road Warrior: Italy– ELECTRONIC
A comprehensive business travel, telecommunications, and business culture reference that provides information such as business culture, being a businesswoman, essential terms to know, and much more!
- Going Global Career Guide: Italy– ELECTRONIC
Country-specific information about job search resources, employment trends, work permits and visas, applications guidelines, cultural advice, and more!
- Living in Italy: Resources for Expatriates– WWW
Articles, links, resources and more, brought to you by TransitionsAbroad.com.
- National Italian American Foundation (NIAF)– WWW
NIAF promotes Italian American culture and heritage. They offer Culture and Heritage Grant Awards and resources such as a Study Abroad in Italy Directory and an Internship, Volunteer, & Work Resource Guide.
- Working in Italy: Advice and Tips– WWW
Eurograduate features some advice and even a sample CV on how to conduct a job search in Italy.
- Visiting/Living in Italy- WWW
Information from the United States Diplomatic Mission to Italy on being a non-resident, resident, and obtaining a work permit.
- Consulate General of Italy in Philadelphia: Visas – WWW
- iAgora: Italy– WWW
Internships and entry-level jobs from 28 European countries, accessible for free or on a “premium” level.
- Idealist.org– WWW
The best website to find job and internship listings from the nonprofit world. Check out their jobs, internships, and volunteer positions in Italy. However, be aware that listings may be posted by placement programs.
- iHipo International Careers: Italy– WWW
iHipo features international job and internship listings from around the world. This links to their Italy listings.
- Indeed.com– WWW and SimplyHired.it– WWW
Two of my favorite job search engines for the US have Italian counterparts!
- Riley Guide: International Job Opportunities in Italy– WWW
The Riley Guide highlights the best job search websites for Italy.
Find more programs by using one of our directories.
- AISEC– WWW
AISEC is a nonprofit dedicated to promoting cultural understanding and international cooperation, and offers hundreds of management, technical, education, and development internships abroad. You must join AISEC before you can apply for the internship program. The AISEC Penn chapter serves the entire Philadelphia region; you can contact Jill Portnoy, the VP of Talent Management, at firstname.lastname@example.org to learn more about the recruitment process.
- Experiential Learning International– WWW
ELI has an Internship in Italy program for an Art Gallery Assistant. The program fee is $500 and includes placement, pre-departure advising, student visa information, an Italian language course, and housing assistance. Students are responsible for the cost of their housing, flight, and cost of living.
- IASTE- International Association for the Exchange of Students for Technical Experience– WWW
IAESTE offers paid internships in over 30 countries in technical fields such as engineering, computer science, mathematics, natural/physical sciences, architecture, and agricultural science, for a program fee. Application deadline is January 10th.
- International Cooperative Education– WWW
ICE places students on paid international summer internships, for a fee of about $1150. They also place students on semester-long internships. They recommend applying by mid-March.
- U.S. Department of State– WWW
Offers unpaid student internships, about half of which are located abroad in US embassies.
Most work placement programs offer accommodation assistance, but in case you need to find housing for yourself, here are some places you may want to look:
- Craigslist Italy– WWW
Craigslist operates in over ten cities in Italy, including Venice and Rome.
- Expatriates.com: Italy Housing Available– WWW
Expatriates lauds itself as the “online community for expatriates.” It functions like a classifieds for countries around the world.
- Rome Apartments– WWW
From Only-apartments.com, this is a good place to look for short-term rentals of apartments.
- Student Accommodation in Italy– WWW
A search engine for student accommodation, student houses, student flats, and larger private accommodation in Italy.
Use these database to generate lists of companies in Italy.
- D&B Million Dollar Database — ELECTRONIC
Million Dollar is a fantastic database that allows you to compile lists of companies based on many different criteria including industry, country, region or city. You can export your results to Excel so you can save your company lists and their contact information.
- Business & Company Resource Center– ELECTRONIC
To generate a list of international companies, select ‘Advanced Search.’ Under ‘Content Area’ select ‘Company Profiles/Products.’ To specify location, select ‘State/Country’ from the drop-down menu. To specify industry, select ‘Industry Description,’ ‘SIC code,’ or ‘Keyword’ from the drop-down menu.
- Uniworld– ELECTRONIC
Use this electronic company directory to create lists of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countires and Foreign Firms Operating in the U.S. It’s easy to use and searchable by country, industry and much more!
Content Editor: Brendan Johnson
Last Updated: 10/31/2012