Library associations offer essential professional development and networking opportunities, and usually provide job listings. Please see the Library Associations Research Guide for a list of the major library associations.
- The iSchool at Drexel University: Job Postings-- WWW Find both professional and pre-professional (internship) positions on this website, maintained by the iSchool's Career Services office. Both domestic and international jobs are represented.
- LibGig-- WWW LibGig bills itself as a "new professional networking website" for information professionals. Their website features a great job board, blogs, news and career articles, newsletters, and more!
- Libjobs.com-- WWW Libjobs is another library job board. It doesn't have quite as many listings as some other websites, but check it out nonetheless.
- Library Job Postings on the Internet-- WWW This website is a guide to finding internet library job postings and is a great compilation of job boards, both by geographical location and by type of position (academic, federal, etc).
- I Need a Library Job-- WWW I Need a Library Job, or INALJ, features job listings of their by state, internationally and remotely. Their listings usually include traditional and non-traditional library positions. They also feature tons of advice on search strategies and getting started in librarianship. Chances are if a job has been posted that is even remotely related to library science, you will find it here.
- SLA-Philadelphia Chapter: Job Postings--WWW Most comprehensive list of library jobs in the greater Philadelphia area. Covers professional and paraprofessional jobs in special, law, corporate, school and academic libraries.
- Career Q&A with the Library Career People-- WWW Two librarians write for this advice column (in a blog format). Their archive of questions past goes back to 2003 (awesome), and best of all, you can submit a question about your career concerns yourself!
- Hiring Librarians-- WWW Fantastic site with tons of information on job searching and intervewing provided by actual professional librarians. One of the best aspects of this site is the tremendous spreadsheet of interview questions that librarians have been asked on recent interviews. Definitely a must-use!
- LIBJOBS mailing list-- WWW The International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA) offers information on how to subscribe to various mailing lists. If you're interested in job postings, make sure you subscribe to the LIBJOBS mailing list, and you'll receive job listings directly to your inbox.
- Rethinking Information Careers-- WWW If you want to try and think outside the box for your job search, check out this monthly column, which delves into exploring unusual or emerging LIS paths, and exploring LIS career paths and roles in general.
- Open Cover Letters-- WWW Browse through cover letters from librarians and archivists who used them to get hired. Provides a number of good examples no matter what aspect of librarianship you are in.
- The Ins and Outs of Job Hunting for Library Positions- An Insider's Perspective (Presented at ALA Midwinter 2014)-- Though a little long and focused mainly on large academic libraries, this presentation touches on aspects of the job search you normally don't think about, such as what the search committee is looking for and how to approach the different steps in the recruitment process. Very much worth it to scroll through and use the links.
- The Interview Trump Card: The Cover Letter (Presented at ALA Midwinter 2014)-- Covering some of the material in the above presentation, this presentation focuses on how write effective cover letters specific for libraries. Very helpful as it emphasizes different strategies specific to a library job search that may not be used in other industries.
Use one of our company directories or library databases such as D&B Million Dollar Database to generate a list of potential employers. Specify your location criteria and your industry criteria. Try one of the suggested industry codes below to specify your industry of choice. You can also search for additional SIC and NAICS codes.
|SIC Codes||NAICS Codes|
|School and Academic Libraries|
|General and Corporate Libraries and Archives|
|Management Information Systems, Operations|
- ALA-APA Librarian Salary Database – ELECTRONIC Salary survey results by state, region and national averages for professional (MLS) and non-degreed librarians in several work settings and job titles.
- ACRL Trends and Statistics - ELECTRONIC Has budgets for most major academic libraries – much more than just salary information. Best when targeting a single institution.
- SLA Salary Survey – ELECTRONIC Results of annual survey of special librarians listing salaries by region, industry, type of position and experience level for mostly corporate libraries.
Relevant Books in the Careers Collection:
- Careers in Focus: Library & Information Science – PRINT
- Jump Start your Career in Library and Information Science – PRINT
- The Information Professional's Guide to Career Development Online – PRINT
- Straight from the Stacks: A Firsthand Guide to Careers in Library and Information Science – PRINT
- What's the Alternative? : A Career Options for Librarians and Information Professionals – PRINT
Be sure to also check out the many library careers books elsewhere in Hagerty Library's collection.
Content Editor: Brendan Johnson
Last Updated: 03/14/2014