- Country Information
- Visa and Work Authorization
- Job Listings
- Work Placement Programs
- Housing
- Company Directories
Country Information
- CIA World Factbook: Singapore– WWW
A great resource to find basic information on countries around the world.
- Global Road Warrior: Singapore — WWW
Global Road Warrior is a comprehensive business travel, telecommunications, and business culture reference that features over 175 different countries. It provides information such business culture, being a businesswoman, essential terms to know, and much much more!
- Going Global — ELECTRONIC
Country profiles with information on job resources, top companies, resumes/CV’s, cultural advice, and more.
- Singapore: Guide for Expats- WWW
Fantastic site that contains information on anything and everything you want to know about Singapore. Whether you are looking for jobs, housing, health care or food & leisure information, you can bet that you can find it here.
- Living in Singapore: Resources for Expatriates– WWW
Articles, links, resources and more, brought to you by Transitions Abroad.com.
- Work Singapore — WWW
Excellent resource for those interested in looking for employment in Singapore. The site provides very good information on living conditions and costs, recreation and industry information, though the job listings they provide are limited.
- Contact Singapore – WWW
Provides a ton of great information for students on a variety of topics including employment, housing and the life and culture of Singapore.
Visa and Work Authorization
Job Listings
- Craigslist: Singapore– WWW
- Indeed.com– WWW
One of my favorite job search engines for the US also has an Singapore equivalent!
- Idealist.org– WWW
The best website to find job and internship listings from the nonprofit world. Check out their jobs, internships, and volunteer positions in Singapore. However, be aware that listings may be posted by placement programs.
- Riley Guide: International Job Opportunities in Singapore– WWW
The Riley Guide highlights the major job search websites for Singapore.
- JobsDB.Org – WWW
Narrow your search by Job Function, Industry, Career Level and Employment Type. You can also upload your resume for recruiters to view as well.
- Job-Q.com – WWW
Job-Q’s coolest feature allows you to search for positions that are open to foreign applicants. Just be careful to read the date of each posting since many expired posts and filled positions still show up in your search.
- ST701.com – WWW
Search by job function, experience and type of employment in one of the largest Job Search sites in Singapore.
- JobStreet-Singapore – WWW
One of the most popular Job Search sites in Singapore, search by Career level or fill out a job search profile and have jobs that match your skills emailed to you every week.
Work Placement Programs
- Work Holiday Programme – WWW
The government of Singapore offers students from around the world the opportunity to work in Singapore for up to 6 months in any industry they choose, though there is no minimum guaranteed salary. Participation in the Programme includes visa clearances but does not include housing. For more information, you can check out Contact Singapore’s detailed description of the program.
- AIESEC– WWW
AISEC is a nonprofit dedicated to promoting cultural understanding and international cooperation, and offers hundreds of management, technical, education, and development internships abroad. You must join AISEC before you can apply for the internship program. The AISEC Penn chapter serves the entire Philadelphia region; you can contact Jill Portnoy, the VP of Talent Management, at jill@sas.upenn.edu to learn more about the recruitment process.
- IASTE- International Association for the Exchange of Students for Technical Experience– WWW
IAESTE offers paid internships in over 30 countries in technical fields such as engineering, computer science, mathematics, natural/physical sciences, architecture, and agricultural science, for a program fee. Application deadline is January 10th.
- International Cooperative Education– WWW
ICE places students on paid international summer internships, for a fee of about $1150. They also place students on semester-long internships. They recommend applying by mid-March.
- US Department of State- WWW
Offers unpaid student internships, about half of which are located abroad in US embassies.
Housing
- Student Accommodation – WWW
Great resource created by the Education Department in Singapore that discusses the various housing options available for students in Singapore as well as touching on other important topics.
- Share-accommodation – WWW
If you’re tight on money, you can search here to find available Home Shares and Sublets in Singapore.
- Singapore Expats – WWW
This site, built specifically for Expats, allows you to search by city district and distance to public transportation.
- Property Guru – WWW
Search for different types of properties by a variety of criteria including whether they are furnished or not.
- iProperty – WWW
Search for different types of properties from upscale public housing to stand-alone apartments and condos.
- Remember to look on the websites of local colleges and universities as well!
Company Directories
D&B Million Dollar Database — ELECTRONIC
Million Dollar is a fantastic database that allows you to compile lists of companies based on many different criteria including industry, country, region or city. You can export your results to Excel so you can save your company lists and their contact information.
- Business & Company Resource Center– ELECTRONIC
To generate a list of international companies, select ‘Advanced Search.’ Under ‘Content Area’ select ‘Company Profiles/Products.’ To specify location, select ‘State/Country’ from the drop-down menu. To specify industry, select ‘Industry Description,’ ‘SIC code,’ or ‘Keyword’ from the drop-down menu.
- Uniworld– ELECTRONIC
Use this electronic company directory to create lists of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries and Foreign Firms Operating in the U.S. It’s easy to use and searchable by country, industry and much more!
Content Editor: Brendan Johnson
Last Updated: 10/31/2012