Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Tim Siftar

Tim Siftar
Librarian for Information Sci & Tech, School of Education, and Goodwin College
Hours M-F: 9am-5pm
Hagerty Library, Room 134
siftar@drexel.edu
215-895-2762

 

New Items in the Catalog

Information Science & Education

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Education

  1. Finding Books
  2. Finding Articles
  3. Reference Books
  4. Curriculum and Class Material
  5. Assessment & Testing Instruments
  6. Dissertations
  7. Selected Web Resources

Finding Books

Search the library catalog for books on education using the keyword, subject or title options. If you do not find the book you need, ask a librarian or check for the title in E-ZBorrow, our self-service interlibrary loan system. Try a keyword search:instructional design teach* AND method* Try a subject search: Teaching Constructivism (Education)


Finding Articles

 

Scholarly & Trade Literature -

  • best resource The easiest place to get started is under the "Articles & More" tab on the front page of the library website, using the discovery tool product called Summon that searches across all of our literature databases. It has an advanced search page as well.  Use just a few key words, or one short phrase of two or three words surrounded by quotes. Then apply "Refine your search" filters to your results. Most importantly, see the "Subject terms" - "more" link to open the small window of indexing terms drawn from your search results. Choose sparingly - just one or two terms - using the checkboxes in order to narrow your topic.
  • best resource The public ERIC.ed.gov website is my second favorite search tool. The newly revised search interface is remarkable for the Google-like experience and filtering of search results using the left-hand options, similar to Summon. Of special note are the excellent Thesaurus search and browse options. This is great for getting contextual clues as to how your topic may be categorized in contrast to other closely related topics. To get full text of journal articles found here, copy and paste titles into Summon back on the Drexel Libraries webpage. For self-published ERIC documents where no PDF is offered on their site, you may have to request the full-text using their contact form.
  • The identical ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) from the US Department of Education is also availble on the following two platforms if you prefer: EBSCO and Proquest but lacks some of the ease of use of the native platform.
  • Education Research Complete - on the EBSCOHost platform, provides full-text literature. But this same content is searchable by way of the more user-friendly Summon interface found under the "Articles and More" tab on the library front page.

Professional & Trade Focused Literature - (overlaps with Education Research Complete)

  • Teacher Reference Center -- ELECTRONIC For K-12 Teachers & Librarians with 260 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals and books.

Reference Books

These are a great place to start your research for basic definitions - and core bibliographies. You can find Drexel's specialized education-related encyclopedias and handbooks by doing a keyword search in the library catalog such as "encyclopedia AND education" or "handbook AND learning." Here are some of the best education-related reference book:

Cambridge Handbook of the Learning Sciences --- ELECTRONIC & PRINT Hagerty Reference LB1060 .C35 2006

best resourceEncyclopedia of Education -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT Hagerty Reference LB15 .E47 2003 v. 1-8

Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology -- ELECTRONIC Encyclopedia of Distance Learning -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT Hagerty Reference LC5211 .E516 2005 v. 1-4

Encyclopedia of School Psychology -- ELECTRONIC Handbook of Contemporary Learning Theories -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT Hagerty 2nd Floor LB1060 .H3457 2001

Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education -- PRINT Hagerty Reference LC1099.3 .H35 2004

best resourceInternational Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences --ELECTRONIC & PRINT (See link for "Search this Title" on left - not the search box up above.) Hagerty Reference H41 .I58 2001 Volume 1-26


Assessment & Testing Instruments

See separate guide here.


Dissertations

Digital Dissertations -- ELECTRONIC For electronic versions of all dissertations, full-text is available online since 1997. This includes both Drexel-affiliated and non-Drexel authors for most cases  (this is *new* since winter '12). For those minority of Non-Drexel theses not available full-text, they can be requested via our Inter-Library Loan service ILLiad. Great for graduate students to see samples. Also, fyi, the Drexel Archives electronically publishes most Drexel Theses and Dissertations via our institutional repository. This is also how they end up getting listed in Google Scholar.


Selected Web Resources

best resourceEducator's Reference Desk --- WWW Excellent links to over 3000 resources on a variety of educational issues. This collection includes Internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups.

What Works Clearinghouse - Evidence-based reviews and a curated collection of research on the different programs, products, practices, and policies in education that tries to answer the question “What works in education?” Their goal is to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions..

best resourceNational Center For Educational Statistics --- WWW NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the United States and other nations.  Includes School District Demographics with school district-level demographics from the 1990 and 2000 census. A project of the United States. Department of Education

 best resourceFederal Resources for Educational Excellence --- WWW FREE is a collection of teaching and learning resources from Federal Agencies. Resources are grouped into the following subjects: Arts & Music, Health & Physical Education, History & Social Studies, Language Arts, Math and Science. A project of the United States. Department of Education


Curriculum & Classroom Materials

best resourceKraus Curriculum Development Library Online (KCDL Online) -- ELECTRONIC Provides curriculum information on a variety of subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education. Access to over 5,000 curriculas, searchable by subject, keywords, forms of educational content, grades covered and geographic location.

best resourceAccunet / Associated Press Multimedia Archive (1826-tomorrow) -- ELECTRONIC An International photo archive and graphics database with graphics, maps, illustrations and logos, and an AP Audio Database which contains searchable audio clips dating back to the 1920s. It's the same platform used by the news media to select the top photos for tomorrow's front page story! Photos, Images & Graphics * Images for Presentations & Instruction -- (another Drexel Library research guide)

best resourceMultimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching -- ELECTRONIC (FREE) MERLOT is a leading edge, user-centered, searchable collection of peer reviewed and selected higher education, online learning materials, catalogued by registered members and a set of faculty development support services. MERLOT's vision is to be a premiere online community where faculty, staff, and students from around the world share their learning materials and pedagogy.

Selected Websites --- WWW * Thinkfinity - This free digital learning platform is built upon the merger of two programs: Verizon MarcoPolo and the Thinkfinity Literacy Network. * TeacherSource - PBS site; more than 3,500 lesson plans and activities. * Curriki - the online education community, is building the first website to offer free, open-source instructional materials for K-12.

 

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon