Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Tim Siftar

Tim Siftar
Librarian for Information Sci & Tech, School of Education, and Goodwin College
Hours M-F: 9am-5pm
Hagerty Library, Room 134
siftar@drexel.edu
215-895-2762

 

New Items in the Catalog

Information Science & Education

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Higher Education

  1. Finding Books
  2. Finding Articles
  3. Reference
  4. News
  5. Dissertations
  6. Special Concentrations
  7. EDHE 510 governance background on LexisNexis Academic
  8. Statistics

Finding Books

Searching the Drexel Library catalog for books on higher education. FYI: This is an extensive list of options due to the in depth nature of research projects in this degree program.

Try a keyword search:

"higher education" and governance

Try browsing by subject:

Educational Leadership orUniversities and colleges -- United States -- History -- 20th century.

Search just Drexel's e-books:

Advanced Catalog Search (set location = "DU Electronic Books") or this link works too for browsing.

Or search full-text of e-books we have from e-book vendors:

eBrary (has good education collection)  or NetLibrary

No luck? Try the following steps:

1.) Identify good books searching all US libraries via: THIS IS BEST FIRST STEP TO IDENTIFY ESOTERIC BOOKS ON THE HISTORY OF HIGHER EDUCATION IN A PARTICULAR STATE. Step two is then to request the book through inter-library loan (may take a while).

WorldCat

2.) Or search fulltext on:

GoogleBooks

3.) Then order books you have identified through Drexel's self-service inter-library-loan:

EZBorrow

4.) Or, if the book you want is not in our EZBorrow network, request it via our Inter-Library-Loan system, ILLiad (requires initial quick registration)

ILLiad

QUESTION: How do distance education students borrow books from the Drexel collection?

ANSWER: Request books in the Drexel Library catalog via ILLiad, same as you would an out-of-network book. Be sure to indicate in your profile and request your are a distance ed student. It will be shipped to you via UPS with a return-mail label included. You may renew it two times if no one else has requested it. You are then responsible for the cost of mailing it back to Drexel. Books borrowed from other libraries through EZBorrow or ILLiad will be mailed to you the same way, but you may only renew them once.


Finding Articles

QUESTION: What if I just want to browse a few good peer-reviewed or scholarly journals that are all about higher education ?

ANSWER: Aside from the Chronicle (which is not peer-reviewed, though it has relevant insights on higher ed news) what you really want are journals such as the following:


Reference

best resourcePostsecondary Governance Structures Database -- ELECTRONIC  EDHE 510 Students - Don't miss this !!!!!!!!!! This database is a revised version of the 1997 State Postsecondary Structures Sourcebook, which has been transformed into a user-friendly interactive database with information about the postsecondary governance structures in each state. From this database, you can generate profiles of individual state postsecondary governance structures, comparisons of states' postsecondary governance structures and predetermined reports on state postsecondary governance structures.

best resourceEncyclopedia of Higher Education --  PRINT and selected ELECTRONIC entries Hagerty Reference LB15 .E49 1992 v.1-4 Selected entries on the topic of "university governance" have been scanned and stored at the following link in the Library's E-Reserves system HERE. EMAIL SIFTAR@drexel.edu if you'd like a scan of the entry for your state. Not all are very extensive.

World education encyclopedia: a survey of educational systems worldwide -- ELECTRONIC & PRINT  Hagerty Reference LB15 .W87 2002 v. 1 -3 CQ Global Researcher -- ELECTRONIC Look to this resource for an international perspective on educational conditions around the world.

News

best resourceSelected Core News Sources - ELECTRONIC

- or look in the Library's e-journal directory for individual titles that come up with the words "higher education"

Factiva or Lexis Nexis Academic Universe Comprehensive news sources for elusive or late-breaking stories. Factiva is what most corporate PR officers use. Power searching via their elegant  interface can take some getting used to. Call Ref Desk for help: toll free # 1-888-278-8825


Dissertations

Digital Dissertations -- ELECTRONIC Recent Masters theses and PhD dissertations are hit or miss on your topic. But if you get a direct hit, can be good for deep treatments of very narrow topics, as well as review of literature. View full-text of almost all theses back to 1996, from both Drexel and non-Drexel authors (this is *new* as of fall 2012). Request any you can't find through ILLiad.


Special Concentrations within Higher Education

Associations: Associations offer unique insider perspectives on the world of their membership with industry reports and member surveys you will not find elsewhere. As always, when searching for elusive factoids or statistics, ask yourself "who cares?" That is to say - who would have reason enough to care about my particular factoid to gather information about it, or require that it gets reported? Certain data you can count on the government to want (vital statistics or anything regulated by law.) But other data, you'll ONLY find through associations. Here are a few for higher education worth considering:

Still stumped? Other associations can be found from the Inside Higher Education weblinks page, or the National Forum for Teaching and Learning weblinks page, or in the Library's database Encyclopedia of Associations or the Leadership Library (this one includes corporate and political info as well).

Business & Economics Proquest -- ELECTRONIC For a broad business and interdisciplinary perspective, always give Proquest a try. Includes the Wall Street Journal and many education journals for well rounded coverage on higher education issues. Especially good for issues that occur at the intersection of management, organization behavior, policy and education. A very intuitive interface. 

For example: Drexel University AND innovat*

As you look through the articles you've pulled up in your initial searches, look at the hyperlinked subject headings which are in the first part of the article citation. If you click on the subject headings, you will be able to see all articles related to that subject. Business Source Premier offers another comprehensive option for business articles (includes Harvard Business Review). Factiva (from Dow Jones & Reuters) is the up-to-the-minute corporate news lifeline, with good higher education sources such as: AS&U, American School & University, Corporate University Review, University Business and for what it's worth U-Wire (University Wire). You can search a single publication by selecting it under the "source" menu. Their interface has a learning curve, but is well worth mastering. See all the business options under the Business Research Guides.

History Hunting for historical higher education factoids? Try these Drexel Library databases:

Another option, though it may involve some fishing and maybe a phone call, is the state library for your state. They are typically the official archive for your state, or can direct you to it. Many offer instant message services where you can ask a librarian your question via online chat. For a more complete list of history resources see the Drexel Research Guide for History

Public Policy and Legal CQ Researcher -- ELECTRONIC Excellent short briefing papers compiled for US Congress on high-profile (mostly domestic) topics involving legislation. CQ Public Affairs Collection -- ELECTRONIC In-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analysis, historic documents and primary source materials. Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- ELECTRONIC Coverage of international and global issues.

EDHE 510 Governance Paper Tip

  • Lexis Nexis Academic Universe -- ELECTRONIC Great for searching the legal statutes, especially for the EDHE510 assignment on each state's "higher education governance." To search Lexis Nexis Academic for state specific "higher education governance" follow this sequence of screen options.
    (Please note - this is the LexisNexis Academic version - not plain LexisNexis that only law students get.)
  • First print these instructions or open a second browser window to refer back to them. 
    1.) First print these instructions or open a second browser window to refer back to them, before clicking on Lexis Nexis Academic link. (databases can also be found by name on the list of databases)
    2.) Second, select the option for "US Legal" from left,
    3.) Then, click link for "State Statutes Codes & Regulations"
    4.) Select your desired state from the "State:" picklist. (Note: the default state is Alaska - just change that).
    5.) See the "Select Source(s):" box below your state selection. Click second checkbox for "Statutory Code" and then hit the highlighted link just to its right to "Browse" (Note: this link is easy to overlook.)
    6.) Browse list for sections indicating "Higher Education" and click the "+" sign to expand the listings.
    7.) Browse that next list for sections indicating "higher education commission" or "coordinating board" or similar language.
    8.) Expand those sections using the "+" sign to expand the full text content.
    9.) Alternately you may view several sections at once by clicking the checkboxes next to all of the relevant sub-parts, then click the blue "View Tagged" button in the upper right to see full text of your selections.
    10.) To save to your hard drive, click the floppy disk icon in the upper right.
    11.) On the next screen for "Download Documents" be sure to select "All Documents" or else it defaults to saving just the first page of what you have tagged. Click the "Download" button.
    12.) See the "Ready to Download" page with the highlighted document name. Right click on that and save to your desktop.
    NOTE: If you spend more than 30 minutes on this routine without results, feel free to contact your Education Librarian for help. If I'm not available immediately, feel free to contact the main Reference Desk. Not sure if this is worth your time? Check out this picture for a better idea of what these steps will yield:

Or see sample scanned examples from the NJ or PA state code that I put on course reserves: PA & NJ Higher Education Commissions Postsecondary Governance Structures Database - (see description in previous section)


Statistics

  • best resourceChronicle of Higher Education  -- ELECTRONIC Excellent short annual summary on a statewide level of the nation, institutions, faculty & staff, students, financial resources, and recap of key events and indicators for each of the fifty states. Find it under the "Special Issues and Data" menu option.
  • TableBase -- ELECTRONIC This unique resource indexes just the charts & data-tables from a very wide array of full-text sources. Hit or miss, but if your issue has been in the news, you are likely to find supporting data here.
  • If you have tried the obvious places, such as the National Center for Education Statistics, and don't find what you need, you can seek local help from the State Data Center for your state - they often have an inside scoop on what data is available at the state level. A full listing of options for statistics can be found on the Drexel Research Guide for Statistics and Demographics.  Still having trouble? Get on the phone and call the State Library of the state in which you are interested for more info!

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon