Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Tim Siftar

Tim Siftar
Librarian for Information Sci & Tech, School of Education, and Goodwin College
Hours M-F: 9am-5pm
Hagerty Library, Room 134
siftar@drexel.edu
215-895-2762

 

New Items in the Catalog

Information Science & Education

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Teaching Content Areas - Other

  1. English
  2. Mathematics
  3. Social Studies

English

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on English Education:

Try a keyword search:

reading strategies literacy AND handbook

Try a subject search:

Minorities in Literature

Finding Articles

Suggested Databases

Literature Resource Center — ELECTRONIC Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

 

MLA Bibliography — ELECTRONIC The top resource for finding articles on literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics, including foreign languages.

 

Communication and Mass Media Complete — ELECTRONIC CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

 

Suggested Journals

best resourceEnglish Education is published by the National Council of Teachers of English, and serves as a forum for discussion of issues related to the nature of our English education, especially as it spans all levels of instruction, and the education and development of teachers of English at all levels.

best resourceEnglish Journal is a journal of ideas for English language arts teachers in junior and senior high schools and middle schools. EJ presents information on the teaching of writing and reading, literature, and language.

Journal of Adolescent & Adult Literacy is published by the International Reading Association and offers practical, classroom-tested ideas grounded in research and theory for teachers of older learners.

The Reading Teacher is published by the International Reading Association offers practical, classroom-tested ideas grounded in research and theory for teachers of younger learners.

Reference and Handbooks

Handbook of research on teaching the English language arts Sponsored by the International Reading Association and the National Council of Teachers of English. This thoroughly updated second edition assesses the significance of research, evaluates new developments, and examines current conflicts, controversies, and issues within the areas of language learning and instruction.

Professional Organizations

IRA International Reading Association

best resourceNCTE National Council of Teachers of English

LINCS The Literacy Information and Communication System

 

LRC Literacy Research Association

Online Collections

Center on English Learning and Achievement provides research findings and school reform suggestions through print and online resources to teachers, administrators, and parents so that they can put the Center’s findings to work in their classrooms, schools, and communities.

EDsitement is a showcase of K-12 teaching resources provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities.

best resourceNational Writing Project is a professional development network that serves teachers of writing at all grade levels, primary through university, and in all subjects. The website offers resources in reading and writing as well as access to specialized educator networks.

ReadWriteThink provides educators and students access to the highest quality practices and resources in reading and language arts instruction.

Web Resources

best resourceMeet the Author Provides direct access to authors who share their personal stories, offer their writing tips, and encourage students to “keep reading, keep writing, keep dreaming.”

The New York Times Learning Network provides lesson plans and other teacher resources including materials from the Newspaper in Education Program.

best resourceOnline Poetry Classroom from the Academy of American Poets provides resources, discussion forums and tips for educators.

Poetry 180 the Library of Congress highlights a poem a day for high school students.

Web English Teacher is a teacher-created website listing K-12 English and Language Arts resources.


Mathematics

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Math Education:

Try a keyword search:

interactive mathematics math* AND activities

Try a subject search:

Mathematics - Study and Teaching

Finding Articles

Suggested Database

best resourceMathSciNet — ELECTRONIC Access to fulltext of Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications (1940-present).

 

Suggested Journals

best resourceTeaching Children Mathematics is intended as a resource for elementary school students, teachers, and teacher educators.

best resourceMathematics Teaching in the Middle School is intended as a resource for middle school students, teachers, and teacher educators.

best resourceThe Mathematics Teacher is devoted to improving mathematics instruction from grade 8 through two-year and teacher-education colleges.

Professional Organizations

best resourceNCTM The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics

WME Women and Mathematics Education

AMS American Mathematical Society

Online Collections

The Center for Mathematics Education contains curricula, multimedia activities, and professional development for elementary and secondary mathematics educators.

TERC mathematics and science education resources include research, curriculum and technology development, and implementation support in the form of professional development and assistance to districts and schools.

best resourceMath Teaching and Learning Resources contains resources from federal agencies in the subjects of algebra, data analysis, geometry, numbers & operations, and measurement.

best resourceMath Forum is a leading center for mathematics and mathematics education on the Internet. The Math Forum's mission is to provide resources, materials, activities, person-to-person interactions, and educational products and services that enrich and support teaching and learning in an increasingly technological world.

Web Resources

MathNerds provides free, discovery-based, mathematical guidance via an international, volunteer network of mathematicians.

Math for America includes online resources for lesson plans, activities, and demonstrations that are consistent with the best practices in mathematics education.

best resourceCreate a Graph from the NCES Kid's Zone is an interactive graphing tutorial. Other resources on probability are available as well as math teasers and multimedia resources.

American Mathematics Competition is a national contest managed by The Mathematical Association of America.


Social Studies

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Social Studies Education:

Try a keyword search:

social studies teaching AND civics

Try a subject search:

History - Study and Teaching Geography - Study and Teaching

Finding Articles

Suggested Database

JStor — ELECTRONIC Searchable full text collection of journal articles on various subjects, including over thirty history journals.

 

Suggested Journals

best resourceThe History Teacher is devoted to the teaching of history in the secondary & higher education classroom.

best resourceThe Social Studies a peer-reviewed journal written by K-12 classroom teachers, teacher educators, and curriculum administrators.

best resourceSocial Education contains a balance of theoretical content and practical ideas for classroom use. This journal is published by the National Council for the Social Studies.

Professional Organizations

best resourceNCSS National Council for the Social Studies

NACE National Alliance for Civic Education

AHA American Historical Association

best resourceNCGE National Council for Geographic Education

NCEE National Council on Economic Education

Online Collections

APSA Teaching supports political science education and the professional development of its practitioners.

best resourceSmithsonian Education includes teaching materials, links to online resources, and access to the world's largest museum complex.

best resourceHistory & Social Studies Teaching and Learning Resources contains resources from federal agencies in the subjects of US History and World Studies.

best resourceLibrary of Congress for Teachers contains more than 10 million primary sources online.

National Geographic Education includes a variety of teacher resources, projects and education newsletters.

Web Resources

best resourceEconomics Pennsylvania promoting economic education in PA through student competitions, teacher resource, and professional development opportunities.

best resourcePennsylvania Educational Alliance for Citizenship includes resources and programmers to help educators meet all aspects of PA social studies standards.

United Nations Cyberschoolbus includes K-12 resources and an interactive database of world-wide demographic data.

The American Promise provides lessons in government, civics and history, with ideas that intrigue and inspire students.

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon