Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Tim Siftar

Tim Siftar
Librarian for Information Sci & Tech, School of Education, and Goodwin College
Hours M-F: 9am-5pm
Hagerty Library, Room 134
siftar@drexel.edu
215-895-2762

 

New Items in the Catalog

Information Science & Education

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Teaching Content Areas - Science

  1. General Science
  2. Biology
  3. Chemistry
  4. Earth & Space Science
  5. Physics & Physical Science
  6. Environmental Education

General Science

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Science Education:

Try a keyword search:

scientific method inquiry AND education

Try a subject search:

Science - Study and Teaching

Finding Articles

Suggested Databases

Access Science— ELECTRONIC A collection of Reference e-books in the sciences, including The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology 9th edition online.

Suggested Professional Publications

The Science Teacher features articles, interviews, mentoring, recent news notes, book reviews, and National Science Teachers Association news.

Science Scope features articles, news notes, and recent happenings for middle and junior high school science teachers. Published by the National Science Teachers Association

Suggested Journal of Scholarly Research

Journal of Research in Science Teaching The official journal of the National Association for Research in Science Teaching, publishes reports for science education researchers and practitioners on issues of science teaching and learning and science education policy.

Professional Organizations

AAAS American Association for the Advancement of Science

best resourceNSTA National Science Teachers Association

PSTA Pennsylvania Science Teachers Association

Online Collections

best resourceFREE Science contains science teaching and learning resources from federal agencies.

best resourceNational Science Resources Center The NSRC is an intermediary organization that bridges research on how children learn with best practices for the classroom.

Department of Energy - For Educators provide lesson plans and information on age-grade and subject matter resources for "energy" to help point students along the path of learning.

The Center for Innovation in Engineering and Science Education contains interdisciplinary projects that teachers throughout the world can use to enhance their curriculum including projects that utilize real time data available from the Internet, and collaborative projects that utilize the Internet's potential to reach peers and experts around the world.

best resourceThe National Science Digital Library contains K-12 teaching resources in a variety of science disciplines as well as professional development tools.

Web Resources

PBS Science & Technology Teacher Resources provides K-12 lesson plans and activities based on PBS programs including NOVA.

Science Learning Network includes inquiry-based resources from an international network of science museums.

best resourceDiscovery Education provides engaging digital resources to schools and homes with the goal of making educators more effective, increasing student achievement, and connecting classrooms and families to a world of learning.

Science NetLinks Providing a wealth of resources for K-12 science educators, Science NetLinks is your guide to meaningful standards-based Internet experiences for students.

best resourceScirus is a comprehensive science-specific internet search engine covering over 167 million science-specific web pages. This free tool is maintained by Elsevier, Inc.

Pennsylvania Science Olympiad provides useful information for participants, coaches, organizers, and followers of the state's Science Olympiad competition.


Biology

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Biology Education:

Try a keyword search:

Linnaeus evolution AND education

Try a subject search:

Biology - Study and Teaching

Finding Articles

Suggested Database

Biological Sciences — ELECTRONIC An interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Suggested Professional Publication

The American Biology Teacher contains articles, research, how-to-do-it and book reviews aimed at teachers of biology at every level.

Suggested Journals of Scholarly Research

Journal of Biological Education Refereed articles, papers, letters, short news items, and reviews on all aspects of biology published by the Institute of Biology, London.

CBE Life Sciences Education is an open access quarterly from The American Society for Cell Biology that publishes peer-reviewed articles on life science education at the K–12, undergraduate, and graduate levels.

Bioscience A peer-reviewed, heavily cited, monthly journal that presents readers with timely and authoritative overviews of current research in biology, accompanied by essays and discussion sections on education, public policy, history, and the conceptual underpinnings of the biological sciences.

Professional Organizations

ABLE Association for Biology Laboratory Education

best resourceNABT National Association of Biology Teachers

Online Collections

Access Excellence contains Health and Bioscience resources for teachers and learners from The National Health Museum.

Action Bioscience is an education resource from the American Institute of Biological Sciences.

best resourceBIODIDAC is a bank of digital resources and images for teaching biology.

BioInteractive contains free educational resources from the Howard Hughes Medical Institute including a variety of virtual labs.

best resourceBiotechnology Curriculum Framework is a collection of biotechnology lessons that incorporate science, technology and agriculture education objectives supported by the Pennsylvania Department of Education.

Enlivening Genetics Education is a collection of interactive Flash tutorials that investigate concepts including Mendelian genetics, protein synthesis, inheritance patterns and natural selection.

Web Resources

best resourceThe Biology Corner is a teacher-created site with a large amount of worksheets, activities, and lesson plans.

Classroom Resources from the Koshland Science Museum contain materials for virtual field trips and supplemental lessons that focus on infectious diseases and DNA.

Virtual Frog Dissection is a free, virtual dissection of a Grass Frog that highlights dissection technique and major organs.


Chemistry

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Chemistry Education:

Try a keyword search:

laboratory safety chemistry AND instruct*

Try a subject search:

Chemistry - Study and Teaching

Finding Articles

Suggested Database

ChemSpider — ELECTRONIC ChemSpider is a free access service providing a structure centric community for chemists. Providing access to millions of chemical structures and integration to a multitude of other online services ChemSpider is the richest single source of structure-based chemistry information.

Suggested Journals of Scholarly Research

Journal of Chemical Education published by the Division of Chemical Education at the American Chemical Society.

The Chemical Educator is a peer-reviewed journal containing reference to current topics, experiments, and teaching methodology - focused on undergraduate education.

Professional Organizations

CHF Chemical Heritage Foundation

best resourceACS American Chemical Society

Online Collections

The ChemCollective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, and concepts tests which can be incorporated into a variety of teaching approaches as pre-labs, alternatives to textbook homework, and in-class activities for individuals or teams.

best resourceChemEd DL The Chemical Education Digital Library consists of collections of digital materials intended for teaching and learning chemistry.

General Chemistry Online! contains resources for students and teachers of introductory chemistry including tutorials, glossaries, and simulations.

Web Resources

LabWrite is an interactive online guide that directs students through the entire laboratory experience – includes sections for lab instructors and professors.

best resourceChemBioFinder is a scientific database offering basic information, including physical property data and 2D chemical structures for several thousand most common chemical compounds.

WebElements is an interactive online periodic table including basic information and properties.

best resourceChemMatters magazine for high school chemistry includes Teacher’s guides, background information, follow-up activities, classroom demonstrations and other teaching resources.


Earth & Space Science

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Earth and Space Science Education:

Try a keyword search:

earth science activities climate AND modeling

Try a subject search:

Earth Sciences Astronomy - Study and Teaching

Finding Articles

Suggested Database

Columbia Earthscape — ELECTRONIC Columbia Earthscape is a comprehensive aggregation of resources in the Earth and Environmental Sciences.

Suggested Professional Publication

Astronomy Education Review is an open-source journal supported by the National Optical Astronomy Observatory and NASA and provides a meeting place for all who are engaged in astronomy and space science education, in either formal or informal settings.

Suggested Journal of Scholarly Research

Journal of Geoscience Education is a peer-reviewed publication for geoscience education research at the undergraduate and pre-college levels.

Professional Organizations

best resourceNAGT National Association of Geoscience Teachers

NESTA The National Earth Science Teachers Association

best resourceAAE Association for Astronomy Education

AAS American Astronomical Society

Online Collections

SEGway (Science Education Gateway) contains K-12 lessons designed by teachers and scientists in the areas of Space Science, Sun-Earth, and Solar System.

best resourceNASA For Educators contains learning and teaching resources for K-12 students and teachers in astronomy, physical sciences, technology and other areas.

NOAA Education contains resources for students and teachers in topics including weather, climate change, ocean and space science.

best resourceUSGS Education provides scientific information intended to help educate the public about natural resources, natural hazards, geospatial data, and issues that affect our quality of life. Discover selected online resources, including lessons, data, maps, and more, to support teaching, learning, education (K-12), and university-level inquiry and research.

best resourceEnduring Resources for Earth Science Education Promoting, creating and publishing of Enduring Resources for Earth Science Education in a collaboration between middle and high school teachers and Earth scientists.

Web Resources

best resourceGoogle Earth lets you fly anywhere on Earth to view satellite imagery, maps, terrain, 3D buildings and even explore galaxies in the Sky.

EarthNet is a virtual resource center for Earth Science Educators

best resourceSkyview Café is an interactive planetarium that allows users to explore astronomical information both graphically and numerically.

Windows to the Universe Windows to the Universe is an extensive astronomical learning system covering the Earth and Space sciences for elementary and secondary levels in English and Spanish.

best resourceEducational Resources from the Pennsylvania Geological Survey.


Physics & Physical Science

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Physics Education:

Try a keyword search:

Einstein physics and music*

Try a subject search:

Physics - Study and Teaching

Finding Articles

Suggested Database

INSPEC — ELECTRONIC Bibliographic database providing access to the world's scientific literature in engineering, electronics, physics, information technology, communications, computing, and manufacturing.

Suggested Professional Publication

Physics Education is an international journal published by the Institute of Physics. The articles are chosen to support secondary school teachers and those involved with courses up to introductory undergraduate level.

Suggested Journals of Scholarly Research

American Journal of Physics journal published for the American Association of Physics Teachers by the American Institute of Physics

Physical Review Special Topics - Physics Education Research is a peer reviewed electronic-only journal sponsored by The American Physical Society (APS), the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) and the APS Forum on Education (APS FEd). The journal covers the full range of experimental and theoretical research on the teaching and/or learning of physics.

Professional Organizations

best resourceAAPT American Association of Physics Teachers

APS American Physical Society

 

Online Collections

The comPADRE Collections is a free, web-based resource for Physics and Astronomy education.

NASA Office of Education contains learning and teaching resources for K-12 students and teachers in astronomy, physical sciences, technology and other areas.

best resourcePhysical Sciences Resource Center is a free, web-based database of teaching and learning resources for the K-20 physical sciences.

best resourceThe Physics Front is a web-based area for teachers of Conceptual, AP and Algebra-based physics as well as teachers of Physics First and Physical Science. The resources contained are meant to enrich the high school physics experience.

Web Resources

Fear of Physics is an interactive, visual, and easy-to-use site that shows some laws of physics in action.

best resourceThe Physics Classroom The Physics Classroom Tutorial is an online physics tutorial written for high school physics students. The tutorial was originally developed for physics students at Glenbrook South High School in Glenview, Illinois.

physicsclassroom

Hyperphysics contains online tutorials that cover a wide range of physics topics, including modern physics and astronomy. Material is organized through extensive concept maps.

best resourcePhysics Education Technology (PhET) is an ongoing project to develop simulations and lessons for teaching and learning physics and chemistry.

Physlets are Physics Applets that explain a wide variety of physics concepts.


Environmental Education

Finding Books

Searching the catalog for books on Environmental Education:

Try a keyword search:

biodiversity environmental and monitor*

Try a subject search:

Environmental Education

Finding Articles

Suggested Databases

GreenFILE — ELECTRONIC GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact.

Suggested Journal of Scholarly Research

Journal of Environmental Education contains peer reviewed coverage of environmental education topics, including case studies of relevant projects, evaluation of new research, and discussion of public policy and philosophy.

Suggested Professional Publication

Green Teacher Covers teaching methods, philosophy, resources in the areas of environmental and global education for elementary and secondary teachers.

Professional Organizations

best resourceNAAEE North American Association for Environmental Education

ESA Ecological Society of America

Online Collections

best resourceEPA for Students and Educators provides resources and services focused on lesson plans and activities, grants and awards, and student resource pages.

EELink includes resources for professional development, climate change, global warming, lesson plans, endangered species, national and international events as well as hosting a newsletter and job listings.

best resourcePennsylvania Center for Environmental Education contains resources that are searchable by grade level, PA region, and PA Environment and Ecology Standard.

best resourceThe Pennsylvania Environment and Ecology Education Website includes lesson plans and other teacher resources including program correlations for Project Wet and Project Wild.

Web Resources

Center for Environmental Education works with K-12 schools to address climate change issues and to cultivate healthy lifestyles.

best resourceEnvironmental Education and Training Partnership offers educators information, resources, and links for promoting academic achievement and environmental literacy.

Global Warming Activities selected by master teachers as follow-up activities to reinforce the concepts learned during a visit to the Koshland Science Museum or a Virtual Field Trip.

Pennsylvania Envirothon is the state-level of a national environmental competition; the site includes competition details, teacher resources and sample station questions.

best resourceCouncil for Environmental Education houses curricular materials for Project Wet, Project Wild, Flying Wild and Wet in the City programs.

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon