Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Jay Bhatt

Jay Bhatt
Librarian for Engineering
Hours M-F: 9am-6pm
Hagerty Library, Room 132
bhattjj@drexel.edu
215-895-1873

Jay Bhatt's Facebook profile

New Items in the Catalog

Engineering

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering

  1. General Resources
  2. Finding Books
  3. Finding Articles
  4. Reference Books
  5. Building Codes
  6. Web Resources

General Resources

  • This page focuses on resources which have specific usefulness to the Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering communities. However, many general, interdisciplinary engineering resources are useful for all engineers, regardless of their specialty. For general engineering resources, please see our Fundamentals of Engineering Research guide.
  • Environmental Science Research Guide A guide to finding information relating to all aspects of environmental science
  • Architecture Research Guide A guide providing access to all aspects of architectural information.

Finding Books

  • Searching the catalog for books on Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering:
  • Try a keyword search:
  • architectural engineering groundwater modeling
  • Try a subject search:
  • Highway Engineering Rock Mechanics
  • Include the type of book you are looking for:
  • civil engineering AND handbook construction AND standards
  • Use truncation for more results:
  • geosynth* retrieves... geosynthetic, geosynthetics, geosynthesis, etc.
  • Searching for Ebooks:
  • ENGnetBASE -- ELECTRONIC CRC Engineering Handbooks Online; Full-text of over 1000 engineering handbooks.  Topics include: Civil Engineering, Earth Science, Engineering Management, Environmental Engineering, Hydrogeology, Structural Engineering, Geotechnical Engineering, and Ground & Surface Water.
  • CivilEngineeringnetBASE -- ELECTRONIC CRC publications in all aspects of civil engineering including engineering management and systems engineering.
  • Knovel -- ELECTRONIC Online engineering reference with interactive graphs and equations, tables, and other useful information. An excellent collection of electronic handbooks on all aspects of Civil Engineering.

Finding Articles

  • best resourceEngineering Village — ELECTRONIC
    The combined Ei Compendex® & Inspec® databases allow for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.
  • best resourceASCE Civil Engineering Database -- ELECTRONIC This database is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE (American Society for Civil Engineering) publications. It covers ASCE documents published since 1974. It provides access to all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters.
  • Environmental Engineering Abstracts -- ELECTRONIC Environmental Engineering Abstracts covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.  Sources include more than 500 primary journals thoroughly indexed and abstracted. Over 2,500 additional sources, including monographs and conference proceedings, are also monitored for relevant articles.
  • best resourceGeoRef -- ELECTRONIC The American Geological Institute, via OCLC's First Search service, provides access to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes more than 25,145 publications.
  • Earthquake Engineering Abstracts-- ELECTRONIC National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering covers the world literature in earthquake engineering. Contents include selected technical reports, conference papers, monographs, and journal articles.

Reference Books

  • ACI Manual of Concrete Practice -- PRINT Hagerty Reference TA439 .A4x 1997 pt.1-5 Hagerty 2nd Floor TA439 .A4x pt. 1-5 A major source of information on concrete & concrete technology. * Part 1 - Materials and General Properties of Concrete. * Part 2 - Construction Practices & Inspection Pavements. * Part 3 - Use of Concrete in Buildings. * Part 4 - Bridges, Substructures, Sanitary and other Special Structures. * Part 5 - Masonry, Precast Concrete, Special Processes.      
  • best resourceBuilding Construction Cost Data, 2006 -- PRINT Hagerty Reference TH435.M436 B86 2006 Unit costs for over 20,000 building components-carefully prepared from the actual experience of thousands of contractors and suppliers over the entire year.
  • Building Construction Handbook -- PRINT Hagerty 2nd Floor TH151 .C52 1998 This book summarizes all elements of the building process with the use of diagrams & brief explanations.
  • Civil Engineer's Reference Book -- ELECTRONIC & PRINT Hagerty 2nd Floor TA151 .C58 1994 see catalog This handbook covers recent technological advances that have occurred as well as the evolving needs of clients in almost all forms of construction, maintenance, and repair. Attention has also been given to the special problems relating to work overseas.
  • Concrete Construction Handbook -- PRINT Hagerty 2nd Floor TA681 .C745 4th ed. 1998 Details materials properties, proportioning mixes & testing, formwork & shoring, batching, transporting, placing, & finishing and curing. Also discusses special concretes & techniques, building construction systems, specialized practices, & precast, prestressed, and architectural concrete, as well as repair & grouting.
  • Construction Databook -- PRINT Hagerty Reference TH151 .L48 1998 A handbook that contains hundreds of tables, specifications, charts, diagrams, and illustrations. It covers all of the materials and components of construction most frequently utilized at a typical job site.
  • Highway Design and Traffic Safety Engineering Handbook -- ELECTRONIC & PRINT Hagerty 2nd Floor TE175 .L36 1999 see catalog This book presents a thoroughly scientific and practical approach to designing highways for maximum safety.
  • best resourceTime-Saver Standards for Architectural Design Data -- PRINT Hagerty 2nd Floor TH151 .T55 1997 A reference on architectural design and building construction fundamental and design data.

Building Codes

  • best resourceMAD CAD -- ELECTRONIC MAD CAD contains building codes, knowledge-based design solutions, and guidelines to meet the codes. MAD CAD will provide you access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA. MAD CAD gives access to comprehensive state and local codes to meet architectural, engineering and educational solutions.
  • Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) -- ELECTRONIC Accessibility guidelines for buildings and facilities, transportation facilities, transportation vehicles
  • The BOCA National Building Code -- PRINT Hagerty 2nd Floor KF5701.A73 B8 12th ed. 1993
  • The BOCA National Plumbing Code -- PRINT Hagerty Reference KF5709 .B8x 9th ed.; 1993
  • National Electrical Code Handbook -- ELECTRONIC & PRINT Hagerty Reference TK260 .N470 1999 see catalog
  • National Plumbing Codes Handbook -- PRINT Hagerty Reference TH6125 .W56 1998
  • Standard Building Code (SBCCI) -- PRINT Hagerty Reference TH420 .S73 1994
  • Uniform Building Code -- PRINT Hagerty 2nd Floor KF5701.A39 I5 1994 v.1-3 Vol. 1 - Administrative, fire and life-safety; field inspection provisions Vol. 2 - Structural engineering design provisions Vol. 3 - Material, testing and installation standards

Web Resources

  • best resourceiCivilEngineer -- WWW A knowledge portal specially designed for civil engineering professionals and students. It has two goals in mind: 1) collect and catalog valuable civil engineering relevant Internet resources so that people can find information fast; 2) explore how to take advantage of Internet technology to serve the civil engineering community.
  • Ultimate CE Directory -- WWW The site includes links to over 1,000 online resources of interest to civil engineers. Various categories such as Research/Education, Subject-Based Resources, Information Sources, Building Codes/Standards from 15 countries, Organizations/ Institutes, and Civil engineers biographies are included.
  • Geosynthetic Materials Association -- WWW The Geosynthetic Materials Association is directed by the needs of the North American geosynthetics industry. It serves as the central resource for information regarding geosynthetics and provides a forum for consistent and accurate information to increase the acceptance and to promote the correct use of geosynthetics. See the Technical Document Index.
  • Geosynthetica.net -- WWW Geosynthetica.net is being developed to provide comprehensive construction documents and technical support information for engineers, regulators, contractors, installers, and facility owners involved with civil and geotechnical works containing geosynthetics.
  • Geotechnical & Geoenvironmental Software Directory -- WWW The Geotechnical and Geoenvironmental Software Directory (GGSD) catalogs 1688 programs in the fields of Geotechnical Engineering, Soil Mechanics, Rock Mechanics, Engineering Geology, Foundation Engineering, Hydrogeology, Geoenvironmental Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Data Analysis and Data Visualization and lists 852 worldwide suppliers and publishers of these programs, including freeware.
  • best resourceNational Transportation Library -- WWW Charged with improving access to transportation focused materials needed by federal, state, and local decision-makers, the National Transportation Library's (NTL) mission is to facilitate and increase the availability of information that supports transportation policy, research, operations, and technology transfer activities.

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon