Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Jay Bhatt

Jay Bhatt
Librarian for Engineering
Hours M-F: 9am-6pm
Hagerty Library, Room 132
bhattjj@drexel.edu
215-895-1873

Jay Bhatt's Facebook profile

New Items in the Catalog

Engineering

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Drexel Smart House Resources

  1. Introduction
  2. Finding Books
  3. Statistical Resources
  4. Grant and Funding Opportunities
  5. Finding Articles
  6. Finding Patents
  7. Finding Engineering Standards
  8. More Information

Introduction

The Drexel Smart House is a unique multidisciplinary project working toward the goal of creating a building that functions like a home and serves as a laboratory to continually conduct research on innovations to the home experience. Through student-led (undergraduate and graduate from all colleges and majors) research and design, the Drexel Smart House will explore the areas of health and wellness, environmental interactions, efficiency, entertainment and communications. Ultimately, this research and design will be implemented into an urban home where involved students will live, thereby studying the effectiveness of the new ideas and proving the benefit of the Smart House. Drexel Smart House Blog Other useful resources: Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering Senior Seminar, Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering Senior Design Resources and CIVE 790/380 Life Cycle Assessment I and MATE 580 Eco Design.


Finding Books

Click on the links below to see what books are available in the Hagerty library at Drexel University in some key areas.

To find additional books, search in our online catalog using Advanced Keyword Searching and using appropriate research keywords.

Searching for Ebooks:

  • ENGnetBASE CRC Engineering Handbooks Online; Full-text of over 1000 engineering handbooks. Topics include: Civil Engineering, Earth Science, Engineering Management, Environmental Engineering, Hydrogeology, Structural Engineering, Geotechnical Engineering, and Ground & Surface Water.
  • CivilEngineeringnetBASE CRC publications in all aspects of civil engineering including engineering management and systems engineering.
  • ENVIROnetBASE A collection of almost 500 environmental science handbooks published by CRC Press.
  • Knovel Online engineering reference with interactive graphs and equations, tables, and other useful information. An excellent collection of electronic handbooks on all aspects of Civil Engineering.

Statistical Resources

Grant and Funding Opportunities

Finding Articles

  • best resourceEngineering Village Engineering Village is the premier tool for searching engineering literature. It provides a combined interface for searching Ei Compindex and Inspec databases.
  • BuildingGreen Suite - ELECTRONIC

    BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News, and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies. The information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED? credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources.

  • IEEE Xplore -- ELECTRONIC Provides full-text access to all IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards.
  • best resourceProquest Research Library -- ELECTRONIC Provides searching platform for a number of periodical databases covering Business, Science, Technology, Humanities and Social Sciences. While Proquest is not an engineering-specific database, its extensive holdings and convenient interface make it a very useful tool for engineering research.
  • Science Direct -- ELECTRONIC ScienceDirect is a search platform which provides access to more than 1000 full-text journals in a wide range of subject areas. Check out the Engineering subject area from their homepage.
  • Web of Science -- ELECTRONIC The Library's premier journal article database, covering more than 8,000 international journals in the sciences, social sciences, and the arts and humanities. It is unique in that it provides searching by locating articles that cite other articles or authors.
  • best resourceFor the full list of engineering-related databases subscribed to by Drexel University Libraries, please see our Databases/Article Indexes For Engineering.

Finding Patents

  • United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) -- WWW The USPTO offers web access to bibliographic and full-text patent databases. These databases provide full-text of patents from 1976 to the present and full page images from 1790 to the present.
  • Fresh Patents -- WWW Provides access to the latest published US patent applications each week BEFORE the USPTO decision to grant/deny.
  • best resourceGoogle Patent -- WWW Google's excellent patent search interface.
  • pat2pdf.org -- WWW Given a patent number, pat2pdf.org will return a free, pdf formated version of the patent. This is generally easier than using the USPTO patent viewer plug-in.
  • best resourceFor more extensive listings of resources, please see our Patents guide.

Finding Engineering Standards

  • MAD CAD -- ELECTRONIC MAD CAD contains building codes, knowledge-based design solutions, and guidelines to meet the codes. MAD CAD will provide you access to cross-referenced collections of building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes from BOCA, SBCCI, ICBO, ICC, and NFPA. MAD CAD gives access to comprehensive state and local codes to meet architectural, engineering and educational solutions.
  • ILI Standards Infobase -- ELECTRONIC The ILI standards database covers over 600,000 worldwide standards. Coverage extends across the industrialized world. List of Standards covered in ILI Standards Infobase Please contact Engineering Librarian for access to the standards available in ILI Standards Infobase.
  • Techstreet -- WWW ($) Techstreet offers individual, text-searchable standards from around the world. Downloadable PDF formated versions of the standards are available for purchase.
  • best resourceFor more extensive listings of resources, please see our Standards guide.

More Information

Urban Agriculture and Sustainability

  • National Urban and Community Forestry Advisory Council Part of the US Department of Agriculture Forest Service, this site contains great information about urban agriculture. Be sure to check out the Resources & Tools section, which includes grant information as well as further information about green infrastructure and other topics. American Community Gardening Association This site contains a number of useful resources and tips for creating community gardens, including funding opportunities and leadership training. Mayor's Office of Sustainability Information about Philadelphia Mayor Michael Nutter's various programs promoting sustainability and a greener Philadelphia. The resources page contains links to relevant local, state, and federal agencies, as well as more information about energy efficiency and other topics.

Green Roofs

  • EPA-Green Roofs This site from the Environmental Protection Agency contains useful background information about green roofs as well as links to information about heat island mitigation. Green Roofs Tree of Knowledge This database, from Green Roofs for Healthy Cities, allows you to search for research and policy papers about green roof infrastructure from around the world. Penn State Center for Green Roof Research Penn State's site includes information about current research and publications from the College of Agricultural Sciences. Michigan State University Green Roof Research Program Michigan State's site has information about current research and publications from the Department of Horticulture, as well as links to more information about green roofs.

Rainwater Recycling

  • Research at Drexel This poster is from the Drexel Smart House research team working on creating a lightweight green roof water retention system. University of Wisconsin Extension-Rain Gardens This pamphlet describes the importance of rain gardens and outlines steps towards creating one. Rain Gardens for Clean Streams This presentation by Mary Ellen Noonan of the Bucks County Conservation District discusses the science behind rain gardens and details for building them.

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon