Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Jay Bhatt

Jay Bhatt
Librarian for Engineering
Hours M-F: 9am-6pm
Hagerty Library, Room 132
bhattjj@drexel.edu
215-895-1873

Jay Bhatt's Facebook profile

New Items in the Catalog

Engineering

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Engineering Standards

  • Using This Guide

    NOTE - The full text of a standard may not be available online. The links in this guide will help you determine EXACTLY which standards you need. If the standard is not available online, you should check the library catalog to see if there is a print version of the standard in the collection.
  • Further Assistance or Feedback

    Jay Bhatt Librarian for Engineering PHONE: 215-895-1873 EMAIL: bhattjj@drexel.edu

Sections To This Guide

Choose a link to see more details about the engineering standards.

  1. Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute
  2. American National Standards Institute Online
  3. American Society for Testing and Materials
  4. American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers
  5. Codes and Code-Related Material
  6. Computer and Communication Standards
  7. CSSINFO
  8. Department of Energy (DOE) Technical Standards
  9. Department of Defense Single Stock Point for Military Specifications, Standards, and Related Publications
  10. IEEE Standards
  11. ISO Online
  12. National Information Standards Organization
  13. National Institute of Standards and Technology
  14. NSSN - A national Resource for Global Standards
  15. Society for Automotive Standards

Other Resources

  • Requesting Materials From Other Libraries We recommend using EZ Borrow to obtain books from other libraries. You may also use InterLibrary Loan to request standards, journals, articles, books and other materials from other libraries. Click Here
  • Using the Hagerty Library Catalog Click Here
  • Questions and Comments / Get More Help Click Here
 
 

Links

  • Air-Conditioning, Heating, and Refrigeration Institute AHRI develops and publishes technical standards for industry products. AHRI standards establish rating criteria and procedures for measuring and certifying product performance. In this way, products are rated on a uniform basis, so that buyers and users can properly make selections for specific applications. The more than 60 standards now published are mainly performance-rating standards, although some are application or terminology standards. Many AHRI standards are accepted as American National Standards.
  • American National Standards Institute Online The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private, nonprofit organization that facilitates the development of voluntary national consensus standards. ANSI promotes the use of U.S. standards internationally, advocates U.S. policy and technical positions in international and regional standards organizations, and encourages the adoption of international standards as national standards where these meet the needs of the user community. ANSI is the sole U.S. representative and dues-paying member of the two major non-treaty international standards organizations-the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), and, via the U.S. National Committee (USNC), the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC).
  • American Society for Testing and Materials ASTM is a not-for-profit organization that provides a forum for the development and publication of voluntary consensus standards for materials, products, systems and services. More than 32,000 members representing producers, users, ultimate consumers, and representatives of government and academia from over 100 countries develop documents that serve as a basis for manufacturing, procurement, and regulatory activities. ASTM develops standard test methods, specifications, practices, guides, classifications, and terminology in 130 areas covering subjects such as metals, paints, plastics, textiles, petroleum, construction, energy, the environment, consumer products, medical services and devices, computerized systems, electronics, and many others.
  • American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers ASHRAE standards and guidelines include uniform methods of testing for rating purposes, describe recommended practices in designing and installing equipment and provide other information to guide the industry. ASHRAE has some 87 active standards and guideline project committees, addressing broad areas such as indoor air quality, thermal comfort, energy conservation in buildings, reducing refrigerant emissions, and the designation and safety classification of refrigerants.
  • Codes and Code-Related Material This links to a list of codes and related materials (books and websites) provided by the University of Nevada Las Vegas.
  • Computer and Communication Standards The Computer and Communication pages provide "one stop" shopping for information about the developing global information infrastructure, currently represented by the Internet. It also provides a number of links to standard organizations including internet standards.
  • TechStreet TechStreet provides technical information, tools, and resources that fulfill critical needs of individuals and corporations in the industrial marketplace. TechStreet has over 6,000 industry standards available for download in individual PDF format for a fee. You can download them instantly right to your desktop, and you can do full text searches on the content. At present, standards from the following publishers are available for download as well as many others:
    1. 9000 series
    2. Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI)
    3. American Association of State and Highway Transportation Officials (AASHTO)
    4. American Bearing Manufacturers Association (ABMA)
    5. American Concrete Institute (ACI)
    6. American Gear Manufacturers Association (AGMA)
    7. Aerospace Industries Association (AIA)
    8. American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
    9. Acoustical Society of America (ASA)
    10. American Petroleum Institute (API)
    11. Air-Conditioning and Refrigeration Institute (ARI)
    12. American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE)
    13. American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE)
    14. American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
    15. American Society for Quality (ASQ)
    16. American Welding Society (AWS)
    17. American Water Works Association (AWWA)
    18. Builders Hardware Manufacturers Association (BHMA)
    19. Canadian Standards Association (CSA)
    20. Cooling Technology Institute (CTI)
    21. Electronic Industries Alliance (EIA)
    22. European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI)
    23. Fluid Controls Institute (FCI)
    24. Hydraulic Institute (HI)
    25. Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
    26. Illuminating Engineering Society (IES)
    27. Association Connecting Electronics Industries (IPC)
    28. The Instrumentation, Systems and Automation Society (ISA)
    29. International Organization for Standardization (ISO)
    30. Manufacturers Standardization Society (MSS)
    31. National Association of Corrosion Engineers (NACE)
    32. National Aerospace Standard (NAS)
    33. National Information Standards Organization (NISO)
    34. NSF International
    35. Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)
    36. Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)
    37. Accredited Standards Committee X9 Incorporated (X9)
    38. Selected U.S. Military and Federal Standards and Specifications (MIL & FED)
  • Department of Energy (DOE) Technical Standards The Department of Energy's Technical Standards Web site contains a great range of handbooks designed to bring a consensus of standards, to develop needed technical standards that are not readily available, and to communicate these standards to those who use them. A search function allows users to sift through the large amount of information here to access the sections most useful to them. The approved and draft DOE technical standards are provided in one or both of the following formats: browse-able HTML versions that can be viewed through your World Wide Web browser or PDF files that can be viewed and printed through Acrobat Reader. The mission is to enhance DOE's transition to a standards-based culture by providing information, coordinating activities, and promoting the use of consensus standards, and when needed, the development of DOE technical standards.
  • Department of Defense Single Stock Point for Military Specifications, Standards, and Related Publications This site provides ordering access to the DoDSSP's extensive collection of Standardization Documents and related publications. The Department of Defense Single Stock Point was created to centralize the control, distribution, and access to the extensive collection of Military Specifications, Standards, and related standardization documents either prepared or adopted by the DoD.
  • IEEE Standards IEEE Standards On-Line are the IEEE's latest service offering. It is an international membership organization serving today's industries with a complete portfolio of standards programs. Topics covered include: Aerospace Electronics, Antennas & Propagation, Circuits & Systems, Communications, Electrical Insulation, Electricity Metering, Electromagnetics, Electron Devices, Information Technology, Software Engineering, Intelligent Transportation Systems, Instrumentation & Measurement, Magnetics, Medical Device Communications, National Electrical Code (R), National Electrical Safety Code (R), Nuclear Engineering, Power Electronics, Power & Energy, Telecommunications, Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control, and more.
  • ISO Online The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) is a non-governmental organization established in 1947. The mission of ISO is to promote the development of standardization and related activities in the world with a view to facilitating the international exchange of goods and services, and to developing cooperation in the spheres of intellectual, scientific, technological and economic activity. ISO maintains a searchable online catalogue of international standards. First time users may want to read the tutorial on how to use the catalogue.
  • National Information Standards Organization (NISO) The National Information Standards Organization (NISO) develops and promotes technical standards used in a wide variety of information services. NISO is a nonprofit association accredited as a standards developer by the American National Standards Institute, the national clearinghouse for voluntary standards development in the U.S. All NISO standards and technical reports can now be downloaded as PDF files for no charge from the NISO website. Landmark technical standards that are the basis for library systems and services, such as Z38.50 (Information Retrieval), Z39.2 (the basis for the MARC record), and the standard for paper permanence (Z39.48) are just a few of the NISO publications you can now access for free- anytime, anywhere. Click on the NISO Press icon, and then click on Standards, Books and Software. You can search for the title you want or review a list of all the approved and published NISO standards and technical reports.
  • National Institute of Standards and Technology An agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce's Technology Administration, NIST strengthens the U.S. economy and improves the quality of life by working with industry to develop and apply technology, measurements, and standards. It carries out its mission through a portfolio of four major programs: Measurement and Standards Laboratories, the Advanced Technology Program, a grassroots Manufacturing Extension Partnership, and a highly visible quality outreach program associated with the Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award that recognizes business performance excellence and quality achievement by U.S. manufacturers, service companies, education organizations, and health care providers.
  • NSSN - A national Resource for Global Standards NSSN is setting the pace worldwide in promulgating standards information to a broad constituency. Whether it is searching for a specific standard, tracking the status of a new development project, or identifying a contact person who can interpret a standard, NSSN serves as a "one stop" information repository. Building on the strength of strong partnerships, NSSN: A National Resource for Global Standards (www.nssn.org) is becoming the World Wide Web's most comprehensive data network on developing an approved national, foreign, regional, and international standards and regulatory document.
  • Society of Automotive Standards SAE publishes many new, revised, and reaffirmed standards each year in three categories: Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports), Aerospace Standards, and Aerospace Material Specifications (AMS). Access to this up-to-date information is a key component of efficient product design, testing, and operation. Because standards are an agreement on form, fit and function, they enable industries, engineering disciplines, and entire countries to talk to each other in a common language.

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon