Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Jay Bhatt

Jay Bhatt
Librarian for Engineering
Hours M-F: 9am-6pm
Hagerty Library, Room 132
bhattjj@drexel.edu
215-895-1873

Jay Bhatt's Facebook profile

New Items in the Catalog

Engineering

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Materials Science & Engineering

  1. General Resources
  2. Finding Books
  3. Finding Articles
  4. Reference Books
  5. Web Resources
  6. Material Property Resources

General Resources

  • This page focuses on resources which have specific usefulness to the Materials Science and Engineering community. However, many general, interdisciplinary engineering resources are useful for all engineers, regardless of their specialty. For general engineering resources, please see our Fundamentals of Engineering Research guide.
  • Chemistry Research Guide A guide to finding information relating to all aspects of chemical science.

Finding Books

  • Searching the catalog for books on Materials Science and Engineering:
  • Try a keyword search:
  • ceramics AND manufacturing polymers AND hazards
  • Try a subject search:
  • Manufacturing processes Microstructure -- Mathematical models
  • Include the type of book you are looking for:
  • materials AND handbook polymer AND encyclopedia
  • Try truncation for more results:
  • metal* retrieves... metal, metals, metallic, etc.
  • Searching for Ebooks:
  • ENGnetBASE -- ELECTRONIC Full-text of over 1000 engineering handbooks online; CRC engineering publications on a variety of topics.
  • MATERIALSnetBASE -- ELECTRONIC includes over 270 fully-searchable ebooks on the topics of Materials Science, Packaging, and all aspects of Materials Science and Engineering.
  • POLYMERSnetBASE -- ELECTRONIC CRC Handbooks covering Polymers as well as an interactive database of polymer properties
  • Knovel -- ELECTRONIC Online engineering reference with almost 2,000 reference materials, interactive graphs and equations, tables, and other useful information.
  • Referex Engineering -- ELECTRONIC A collection of over 300 engineering eBooks in 3 distinct collections, including Materials and Mechanics.

Finding Articles

  • best resourceEngineering Village — ELECTRONIC
    The combined Ei Compendex® & Inspec® databases allow for searching on a broad range of topics within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines.
  • Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts Comprehensive database for the ceramics industry, providing international coverage on the manufacture, processing, applications, properties and testing of traditional and advanced ceramics.
  • best resourceCSA Materials Research Database The CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance and recycling is covered in depth for all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites.
  • Materials Business File Industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries.

Reference Books


Web Resources

  • best resourceMaterials Science and Engineering Labratory -- WWW The materials science division of the National Institute of Standards and Technology offers extensive resources, including property data for ceramics, plastics, metals, nanomaterials, and more.
  • Where to find Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) on the Internet -- WWW Categorically organized sites where MSDS can be accessed freely
  • best resourceMaterial Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) -- WWW Vermont Safety Information Resources, Inc. Vermont SIRI (Safety Information Resources, Inc.)provides access to the MSDS Archive of information about chemicals, and links to many new MSDS archives provided by manufacturers concerned about the safe use of their products. Also includes searchable information about chemical toxicity.

Material Property Resources

  • Biomaterials Properties Database -- WWW These tables are provided as a service by the University of Michigan-NIDR Materials Science Research Center at the University of Michigan School of Dentistry.
  • best resourceMatWeb -- WWW MatWeb's searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
  • Materials Properties Locator Database -- WWW Use this database from the University of Buffalo Library to find out which Science & Engineering Library reference books contain properties data (mechanical, physical, electrical, thermal, etc.) for particular types of materials.
  • efunda: Engineering Materials -- WWW Physical, mechanical, thermal, electrical and acoustic properties are covered for common materials, and chosen alloys and polymers.
  • Fuel Properties Database -- WWW The database includes data on various physical, chemical, operational, and environmental, safety, and health properties.
  • INSC Material Property Database -- WWW Material properties that are to be included in the database are intended to meet the needs of analysts using computer codes and doing experiments for safety evaluation of the world's commercial nuclear reactors. The focus is on the materials used in light water reactors (LWRs) with initial emphasis on high-priority properties of materials unique to Soviet nuclear reactor designs and reactors in eastern-Europe and developing countries. A list of properties for each material and the phases to be considered are determined based on a needs assessment.
  • TPSX Materials Property Database -- WWW The goal of TPSX is to provide easy and immediate access to material data for analysts, engineers and designers in the aerospace field. This version of TPSX offers data on over 1500 materials, compiled by various NASA Centers and industry sources. Most of the materials are designed for aerospace applications.  REGISTRATION REQUIRED.
  • Cryogenics Material Properties -- WWW Material properties from NIST's Cryogenics Technologies Group.

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon