Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Chat requires JavaScript.

Grants and Proposal Writing

  1. Seeking Funding: Online Resources / Print Directories Nonprofit Organizations
  2. Proposal Writing & Strategies: Online Resources / Books Listservs
  3. Government Agencies & Resources

Seeking Funding: Online Resources

  • Community of Science (COS) -ELECTRONIC This online resource includes:  
    1. an extensive database of funding opportunities (both small & large)
    2. funded research directory
    3. tool for creating your own online resume and
    4. a searchable database of researchers' resumes & expertise nationwide
  • Drexel Office of Research - WWW Please note that all grants to Drexel Faculty, especially those from government sources, are handled through this office. Includes news helpful to University researchers.
  • Foundation Directory Online - WWW from Free Library of Philadelphia On-site access available for no charge at the Regional Foundation Center at the Philadelphia Free Library, 19th and Ben Franklin Parkway.
  • Grants.gov - WWW A central storehouse for information on over 1,000 grant programs and access to approximately $400 billion in annual awards. All 26 federal granting agencies are required to post opportunities here, and 20 out of 26 permit applying for grants via this website.
  • GrantsNet - WWW A searchable, continuously updated, database of funding opportunities in biomedical research and science education.
  • GrantsWeb - WWW Society of Research Administrators' award-winning portal site. Link to government and private funding resources, grant forms, policy information and regulations, and more.
  • National Organization of Research Development Professionals - WWW A comprehensive list of research grant mechanisms, types, and programs representing collaborative, cross-disciplinary (multi/inter/transdisciplinary) and team-based funding opportunities.
  • Regional Foundation Center/Free Library of Philadelphia - WWW Includes a recommended list of electronic databases and journals from the FLP’s Parkway Central Library. Also provided on the site: links to focused-topic Web Watches and a brief bibliography of key grant-related publications.

Seeking Funding: Print Directories

  • Annual Register of Grant Support: A Directory of Grant Support - BOOK Provides details of grant support from government agencies, public and private foundations, corporations, community trusts, unions, associations and special interest organizations. The "Education" section of this directory provides information about scholarships. Hagerty Reference LB 2338 .A5x 2004
  • Big Book of Library Grant Money - BOOK Grants specifically for libraries. Hagerty Reference Z683.2.U6 B54 2007
  • Directory of Pennsylvania Foundations - BOOK Exhaustive guide to Pennsylania foundations for grant-seekers. Can be searched geographically, major interest, and by several other indexes. (best if used in conjunction with the www.guidestar.org website mentioned below.) Hagerty Reference HV 98 .P4 K53x 1995
  • Foundation Grants Index - BOOK Provides an index to the actual grants awarded by foundations. See the Introduction "How to Use ..." and the informative "Introduction" for tips. Use with The Foundation Directory (see below). Hagerty 2nd Floor AS 911 .A2F66 1999
  • The Foundation Directory - BOOK Annual reference source for private and community grant-making foundations for the United States. HAHN Reference AS 911 .A2 FO771 28 2007
  • Guide to U.S. Foundations, Their Trustees, Officers, and Donors - BOOK The most comprehensive listing of active grant-making foundations. (Formerly The National Data Book of Foundations) Hagerty Reference HV 97 .A3 G84 1999 (2 vols.)
  • Peterson's Scholarships, Grants & Prizes - BOOK Describes more than 1.5 million awards and prizes useful for education. Hagerty Reference LB 2337.4 .P48 2009

Proposal Writing and Overall Strategies: Books

Books: Use the library's catalog to find books on the grant-writing process. Useful keyword searches may include proposal writing and fund raising. Here are a few available electronically that are recommended:


Government Agencies and Resources

  • Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) - WWW Database of all Federal programs available to State and local governments.
  • FedBizOpps - WWW FedBizOpps.gov is the single government point-of-entry (GPE) for Federal government procurement opportunities over $25,000
  • Grants.gov - WWW A central storehouse for information on over 1,000 grant programs and access to approximately $400 billion in annual awards. All 26 federal granting agencies are required to post opportunities here, and 20 out of 26 permit applying for grants via this website.
  • Institute of Museum and Library Services - WWW"Strengthens museums and libraries to benefit the public."
  • National Institutes of Health - WWW Leads to information about NIH grant and fellowship programs, applying for a grant or fellowship, policy changes, administrative responsibilities of awardees, the CRISP database, and the numbers and characteristics of awards made by the NIH. [Managed by the Office of Extramural Research (OER).]
  • National Endowment for the Arts - WWW Information on the NEA's programs and funding opportunities.
  • National Science Foundation - WWW Site includes a grants/funding component.
  • United States Department of Education - WWW Information on grant opportunities and application procedures.

Nonprofit Organizations

  • Better Business Bureau: Give.org Find reports on nonprofit organizations: mission, programs, executive officers, staff size, board size, financials.
  • Delaware Valley Grantmakers Regional association of grant makers. Site includes Common Grant Application and Common Report forms.
  • The Foundation Center Excellent site whose highlights include annotated links to grant makers -- private foundations, corporate foundations, and others. Free electronic newsletters and alerts as well.
  • The Grantsmanship Center Funding information for the nonprofit sector.
  • GuideStar Easy-to-search database of comprehensive reports describing the programs and finances of U.S. nonprofit organizations. Great for pulling up IRS reporting forms of nonprofits.
  • Regional Foundation Center/Free Library of Philadelphia A Cooperating Collection of the Foundation Center, this dedicated area within the Free Library’s Parkway Central Library houses Philadelphia’s largest publicly accessible collection of books, periodicals, and electronic resources on fundraising, nonprofit management, and general philanthropy. The Foundation Directory Online and many other databases may be accessed at no charge from RFC computers on-site. Throughout the year, the RFC offers workshops and other trainings on various aspects of grantsmanship and nonprofit organizations, and sends out RFC Inforum, a free e-newsletter with event announcements and key links.

Listservs

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon