- Finding Individuals
- Finding Corporations
- Finding Foundations
- News Sources
- Listservs
- Additional Information
Finding Individuals
Marquis Who's Who -- ELECTRONIC (Also see links to alternate format) This is an excellent database for researching individuals. Use the advanced to search by such factors as religion, occupation keyword, geographic location, and college/university. Note: only one user can be in this database at a time. Please be sure to log out when you are finished.
Leadership Library on the Internet - a database comprising the full content of the thirteen "Yellow Books" that are each a phone-book sized directory on the following sectors: Congressional, Federal, State, Municipal, Judicial, Corporate, Financial, News Media, Associations, Law Firms, Government Affairs, Foreign Representatives, Nonprofit Sector.- Google PhoneBook -- WWW Google has a handy search feature which supplies not only the addresses and phone numbers of individuals, but also gives detailed maps to their residences. Just type in the name and city of the individual in the regular Google search box such as Robert Smith Philadelphia PA. Confused? Check out Google's help page.
- Martindale-Hubbell -- WWW Use this Website to look up information on a law firm or lawyer. Pithy records contains individuals' names, education, and law firm.
LexisNexis Academic Universe -- ELECTRONIC You can use LexisNexis Academic to view Securities and Exchange Commission filing documents, which interesting information on corporation executives. To look for SEC documents, click on "Business" on the left side of the screen. Under "company information" you will see "SEC filings and reports."
CQ Money Line -- WWW Use the "donor lookup" on the left side of the screen to search for political contributions by individuals.
Finding Corporations
The Researching a Company Research Guide -- WWW Available through the Drexel University Libraries Website, this Guide offers thorough guidance for obtaining company information.
Finding Foundations
The Foundation Center -- WWW The Foundation Center offers comprehensive information on foundations. Use the "Finding Funders" link to search for information on specific foundations.
GuideStar -- WWW This terrific Website allows users to search for foundations by name, location, income range, and/or keyword. Along with foundation overviews, you can also use this site to look at Form PF990.
Regional Foundation Center Library at the Free Library of Philadelphia -- WWW Please do not overlook this impressive collection housed at the main branch of the Free Library of Philadelphia. This Foundation Center cooperating library collects the best and most recent resources for foundation and grant research, with special emphasis on foundations located in Pennsylvania.
News Sources
LexisNexis Academic Universe -- ELECTRONIC LexisNexis offers an extensive collection of newspapers, magazines, and wire services from around the world. Search major newspapers (including the New York Times) or area news sources by state or by region.
Philadelphia Inquirer -- ELECTRONIC and PRINT Philadelphia Inquirer can be searched online from 1981 to the present. The latest 2 months are kept in print in the Reserve Room of Hagerty Library.- Hagerty Library keeps current print copies of the following newspapers: Philadelphia Inquirer, Wall Street Journal, and New York Times. It's important to keep up with local and national news while looking for prospects.
Listservs
GRANTS LISTSERV@Philanthropy-Review.com To subscribe to this listserv about grants and related topics, send an email message to Listserv@Philanthropy-Review.com with the following information in the body of the email: SUBSCRIBE GRANTS yourfirstname yourlastname
PRSPCT-L This is a Yahoo! groups discussion list for prospect researchers
Additional Information
You will also want to look at the library's Research Guide for Grants, which offers extensive sources for grants research including databases, books, journals, listservs, and Web sites.
The library also has a Research Guide on Philadelphia - Area Companies, which provides more specific help on searching for information pertaining to Philadelphia resources.
Content Editor: Larry Milliken
Last Updated: 10/31/2012







