What is a Research Guide?
- Multdisciplinary Databases
- Reference Sources
- Research Methods
- Professional Associations
- Undergraduate Research
- Fellowships and Grant Funding
- Borrow From Other Libraries
When your research interest spans disciplines, try using a unified search engine (Summon, Google Scholar) or a multidisciplinary database. Here are a few good ones:
- Google Scholar - WWW Specialized search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Clicking on a source title listed in Google Scholar results will not lead you to free full text access to the source. Click the GetIt@Drexel link near the source record to access the full text through one of the Libraries' subscription resources. From off-campus, add Drexel University in the Library Links in Google Scholar Preferences.
- Search the DU Libraries Onlince catalog
- AccessScience — ELECTRONIC 7100+ articles, hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. Weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites
When designing a research proposal, you will need to identify your planned methods of inquiry.
- Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) - ELECTRONIC
SRMO is a powerful research methods tool, linking SAGE?s renowned research methods content with sophisticated search tools to help researcher answer their research methods questions like never before. The site contains 504 book titles, including the entire QASS (aka Little Green Book) series, 6 dictionaries, 4 encyclopedias and a Major Work containing journal articles. They also have a visual Methods Map tool and playlist functionality called SRMO Lists.
To find job postings, professional development opportuntiies, current research trends and issues in your field, you can look to professional associations - many of which publish trade (professional) journals.
- Encyclopedia of Associations Online - ELECTRONIC
Contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations.
- Gateway to Associations - WWW
Directory services provided by the American Society of Association Executives
- DU Libraries Career Guides - WWW
View a listing of professional associations in your field of interest.
Publish or Perish is a common phrase you will hear when discussing research and the academy. Get started as an undergraduate!
- Drexel University Office for Undergraduate Research: Presenting Research Webpage - WWW
Descriptions and dates of national undergraduate conferences and poster presentations
- Colonial Academic Alliance: Undergraduate Research Journal - WWW
- Journal of Young Investigators (JYI) - WWW
JYI is a student-led initiative to broaden the undergraduate scientific experience, allowing students to participate in the scientific review and publication processes of its peer-reviewed undergraduate journal. Incorporated as a non-profit, student-run corporation, JYI represents over 50 different academic institutions from over half a dozen countries.
- Undergraduate Resesrch Community (URC) - WWW
The URC Undergraduate Research Journal is an annual online national, reviewed journal dedicated to the publication of undergraduate student research. The twofold purpose of the journal is to foster and reward the scholarly efforts of undergraduate human sciences students as well as to provide a valuable learning experience.
Graduate school and research both require $ ...Where can you look?
- Community of Science (COS) Funding Opportunities - ELECTRONIC
COS Funding Opportunities is a compiled database of available opportunities for grants, fellowships, prizes and other type of funding. It is an extensive database with opportunities for recipients anywhere in the world, working in any discipline. Opportunity sponsors come from the public and private sector, including local, state and national governments, foundations and societies, and corporations.
- Grant Watch - ELECTRONIC
GrantWatch.com posts federal, state, city, local and foundation grants on one website, categorized by type and updated daily. All our grants are current and expired grants are archived daily. Members can sign up for free to receive a weekly email of new grants posted. Members can also tour our archives for free. To view complete details of new and current grants, including the complete application, there is a low subscription rate. All posts on GrantWatch.com include the important grant information, full applications, deadlines and contact person information.
- Books: If the Drexel Libraries does not own a book you want, borrow it from another library through E-Z Borrow. The service is fast, easy, and free.
- Articles: Use ILLiad for articles not owned by the Libraries, either electronically or in print (similar to EZ-Borrow for books). Requires a one-time registration setup. The service is fast, easy, and free.
Content Editor: Nancy Bellafante
Last Updated: 02/17/2014