What is a Research Guide?
A list of recommended tools used to discover information on a topic. Examples of these "discovery tools" are databases, books, journals, websites, and catalogs. Research guides also contain brief tips for how to effectively use discovery tools. Liaison librarians create research guides for their assigned University programs. Most guides identify resources for a specialized topic; however, some are created for specific courses.
This research guide will help you find information for your Composition 2 project. When you conduct research, keep in mind that local problems oftentimes connect to broader issues, so you may need both local sources of information as well as regional, national, or international sources.
- Library research skills
- Current trends and viewpoints
- Research and scholarship
- Statistical reports
- Public opinion
- Local information resources
- Research Skills 101 Tutorials
- CQ Researcher - Interactive Guide
- Finding Review Articles - Interactive Guide
- Using Summon (Articles & More) - Video Demonstration
- Browse or search in-depth reports written by seasoned journalists on current major and controversial issues of the day. Reports include summaries, pro/con arguments, maps and charts, bibliographies, timelines and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center - ELECTRONIC
An online library of current event topics: the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center's unique features include Viewpoint articles and access to statistics and government data placed in context.
General News Sources
- Provides extensive coverage of US and world newspapers, professional/trade publications, tv and radio broadcast news transcripts and blogs
News Sources: Higher Education
- Chronicle of Higher Education Online - ELECTRONIC
In addition to weekly issues and job listings, contains daily updates on a variety of topics of interest in higher education. The site license offers unlimited user seats for the Drexel University Community.
- Inside Higher Ed - WWW
Online source for news, opinion and jobs for issues in higher education
Video Tutorial | Search Guide
- Google Scholar - WWW
Specialized search engine for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Clicking on a source title listed in Google Scholar results will not lead you to free full text access to the source. Click the GetIt@Drexel link near the source record to access the full text through one of the Libraries' subscription resources. From off-campus, add Drexel University in the Library Links in Google Scholar Preferences.
- DU Libraries: Databases by Subject - WWW
For more focused searches, identify the area(s) of research for your issue, and search for sources using a subject database. For example, if you are researching an issue in higher education, select Education from the database subject list.
- Search.gov - WWW
Government agenices collect and analyze data on a variety of societal issues. This specialized search engine is for government websites. When searching for government sites, this search tool is better than Google. E.g. Philadelphia AND crime
- National Center for Education Statistics Education - WWW
Primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations.
- DU Libraries: Statistical Resources Research Guide - WWW
A more complete list of resources for finding local, federal, and international datasets and statistics on health, economics, demographics, and more.
Google Search Tip: In addition to government agencies, many non-profit organizations also release statistical reports. When using Google to search for non-profit websites, restrict the domain name for sites listed in results by adding site:.org after your search terms. E.g. health statistics site:.org -wikipedia To remove Wikipedia pages from the search results list, add -wikipedia to the search string.
Learn more Google search tips
- Roper Center iPoll - ELECTRONIC
iPOLL is and up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion polls. It is full-text retrieval system organized at the question-level, and includes nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935. The data is updated daily.
- Gallup - WWW
Gallup News reports empirical evidence about the world's 7 billion citizens based on Gallup's continuous polling in 160 countries
- Pew Research Center - WWW
Online portal for datsets, poll results, and reports from a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research.
- City of Philadelphia: Official website - WWW
- Philadelphia Research Initiative - WWW
Funded by Pew Charitable Trusts, provides timely, impartial research and analysis on key issues facing the city of Philadelphia. Visit the Reports and Briefs section of the PRI Website.
- Philadelphia Inquirer - ELECTRONIC
Complete full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
- The Triangle - WWW
Drexel University's independent student newspaper published weekly; covers campus and Philadelphia news, sports and entertainment as it affects the Drexel community. Each issue also contains commentaries.
- For a more complete list of Philadelphia resources, visit the following online research guides developed by neighboring university libraries:
Content Editor: Nancy Bellafante
Last Updated: 02/05/2013