Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Chat requires JavaScript.

New Items in the Catalog

Reference
Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Public Health

  1. Suggested Databases
  2. NLM Resources for Public Health
  3. Finding Journals
  4. Finding Books
  5. Bibliographic Tools
  6. School of Public Health Homepage

Government Resources:

 


Suggested Databases

  • HealthSTAR - (1975 - present)  Contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research,  including: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.
  • LexisNexis Academic Universe Large database covering federal and state court opinions, statutes, and regulations. Also has extensive coverage of news publications, news transcripts, and company information.
  • MEDLINE - (1947 - present)  U.S. National Library of Medicine's® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains over 18 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine.
    • MEDLINE via PubMed (free, direct access from National Library of Medicine
    • MEDLINE via OVID (proprietary search interface)
  • PAIS International (1972-current) Covers articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, hearings and statistical directories about public affairs, including public policy and social issues.
  • Population Index (1986-2000 ) Population Index is the primary reference tool to access the world's population literature. It presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.
  • POPLINE (1827-current)  focuses on particular developing-country issues including demography, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and child health, primary health care communication, and population and environment.
  • Simply Map A web-based mapping application that lets users create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using United States demographic, business, and marketing data. Data sources include the U.S. Census and Census projections. (5 concurrent users maximum. Free personal registration is required for access.)
  • Urban Studies & Planning - Urban Studies & Planning: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full text of 12 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 37 years, and encompasses over 2,500 articles.
  • Web of Knowledge - Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index, as well as Current Contents and Journal Citation Reports.  

National Library of Medicine Resources for Public Health

For public health professionals:

  • Environmental Health and Toxicology (specialized information resource)
  • WISER -- DOWNLOADABLE  app for mobile devices designed to assist first-responders in hazardous materials incidents.  Use WebWISER for PC/web access.
  • Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce -- a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet. Includes sections on Grants and Funding, Education, Legislation and Policy, Conferences as well as an excellent guide to finding and using the literature of Public Health.
  • HSRProj -- Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects

For consumers:

  • Toxtown -- Interactive guide to potentially toxic substances and environmental health issues in everyday places
  • Household Products Database -- potential health effects of chemicals for common household products 

Finding Journals

Finding Books

Bibliographic Tools

We recommend that students in the Public Health programs take advantage of the University's license for EndNote. This is a sophisticated bibliographic management software program for building, maintaining and sharing reference libraries and creating bibliographies. It includes a web component that syncs to the EndNote desktop to allow "cloud" access to your EndNote library.

  • Get it: download and install EndNote from software.drexel.edu. Be sure to download both the application (.msi) file and the license (.dat) file.
  • Learn to use it: look for tutorials from the Libraries, or from EndNote.
  • Customize it: configure EndNote to pull fulltext journal articles from Drexel Libraries' e-journal collections.
  1. From the Edit menu, select Preferences
  2. In the Preferences window, select Find Full Text
  3. Cut and paste the following text:

 

Government Resources

Philadelphia City of Philadelphia Government

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Homepage Departments:

California State of California Homepage Departments:

    United States Government Agencies and Resources U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Bureau of the Census Department of Housing and Urban Development Environmental Protection Agency FedStats portal for statistics from Federal agencies

National Library of Medicine Resources for Public Health

For public health professionals:

  • Environmental Health and Toxicology (specialized information resource)
  • WISER -- DOWNLOADABLE  app for mobile devices designed to assist first-responders in hazardous materials incidents.  Use WebWISER for PC/web access.
  • Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce -- a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries which provides timely, convenient access to selected public health resources on the Internet. Includes sections on Grants and Funding, Education, Legislation and Policy, Conferences as well as an excellent guide to finding and using the literature of Public Health.
  • HSRProj -- Information about ongoing health services research and public health projects

For consumers:

  • Toxtown -- Interactive guide to potentially toxic substances and environmental health issues in everyday places
  • Household Products Database -- potential health effects of chemicals for common household products

Academic Programs and Professional Associations:

Schools:


Page maintained by Kathleen Turner khturner@drexel.edu Updated 8/19/2010

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon