Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Drexel University Health Sciences Libraries


Hahnemann Library
Center City Campus
1st and 2nd floors, New College Building
245 No. 15th Street

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Queen Lane Library College of Medicine Campus 1st floor
Drexel University
College of Medicine Campus
2900 Queen Lane

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Health Sciences Libraries Reference Librarians

Ask us a Question!

 

New Items in the Catalog

Medicine

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Nursing

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Public Health

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Behavioral Health Counseling

  1. Suggested Databases
  2. Electronic Journals
  3. Electronic Books
  4. College of Nursing & Health Professions Behavioral Health Counseling Program
  5. Selected Web Resources
    1. Academic and Professional Associations
    2. U.S. Government Resources
    3. Pennsylvania/Philadelphia Resources
    4. Other Resources
    5. Directories

Suggested Databases

CINAHL (1982-present) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas.

ERIC (1966-present) Educational Resources Information Center: contains citations to education-related research and technical reports, and to journal articles.

MEDLINE/PUBMED (late 1940s-present) MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 23 million records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine.

Mental Measurements Yearbook — Mental Measurements Yearbook is a major resource for descriptive information about and critical reviews of standardized tests- educational, personality, aptitude, neuropsychological, achievement and intelligence.

PsycINFO (1967-present) Covers books, dissertations and journals in the psychological and behavioral sciences. Uses the EBSCO interface and the Thesaurus of Psychological Indexing Terms.

PsycTESTS  — Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), PsycTESTS serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.

Web of Science (1980-present) A multidisciplinary database covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanitites.  This interface provides access to the ISI Citation databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Science Citation Index.

Wilson OmniFile (1983-present) Covers English-language periodicals in the social sciences, humanities, science, and business.


Electronic Journals

Check catalog for print and electronic journals; for a comprehensive list, search "alcoholism periodicals," "substance related disorders periodicals." Also see the alphabetic listings of Electronic Journals.

Get It! Linking is provided from citations in databases such as MEDLINE and PyscINFO to the Libraries’ journal collections; look for Get It! button.  Get It! window will display options for obtaining the full-text of an article, including fulltext choices, possible print volumes available in library, or use on Interlibrary Loan services.


Electronic Books

Many textbooks and reference books such as dictionaries and drug guides, as well as other books relevant to Anesthesiology are available electronically through the library catalog.  Search by title, keyword or subject heading selecting “All Electronic Resources” to focus on electronic books.


Selected Web Resources

Academic and Professional Associations

American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry AAAP is an international professional membership organization founded in 1985 with approximately 1,000 members. Membership consists of psychiatrists working with addiction, faculty at various academic institutions, medical students, residents and fellows, and related health professionals making a contribution to the field of addiction psychiatry.

American Academy of Health Care Providers in the Addictive Disorders The AAHCPAD mission is to advance certification of treatment providers in the addictive disorders.

American Society of Addiction Medicine The ASAM mission is to increase access to and improve the quality of addiction treatment; to educate physicians (including medical and osteopathic students), other health care providers and the public; to support research and prevention; to promote the appropriate role of the physician in the care of patients with addiction; and to establish addiction medicine as a specialty recognized by professional organizations, governments, physicians, purchasers and consumers of health care services, and the general public.

Association for Medical Education and Research in Substance Abuse AMERSA, founded in 1976, is a multidisciplinary organization of health care professionals dedicated to improving education in the care of individuals with substance abuse problems.

International Coalition for Addiction Studies Education INCASE, founded in 1990, is a professional association of prefessor, teachers, professionals, and programs specializing in addiction studies, including the use and abuse of alcohol and other drugs, other addictions, counselor preparation, preventi0n and treatment research, and public policy.

International Certification & Reciprocity Consortium The IC&RC is the largest credentialing organization in the world.  This organization establishes, monitors, and advances competency standards for seven reciprocal credentials.

National Association for Addiction Professionals NAADAC, the Association for Addiction Professionals, is the largest membership organization serving addiction counselors, educators and other addiction-focused health care professionals, who specialize in addiction prevention, treatment, recovery support and education. The NAADAC's network of addiction services professionals spans the United States and the world. NAADAC's members work to create healthier individuals, families and communities through prevention, intervention, quality treatment and recovery support.

Society for the Advancement of Sexual Health SASH is dedicated to fostering scientific inquiry that helps advance our knowledge, understanding and practice in the area of sexual addiction.  This society offers valuable resources to behavioral health counselors and consumers seeking information about sexual addiction.

United States Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association In 1975, the U.S. Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association (USPRA) and its members developed and defined the practice of psychosocial/ psychiatric rehabilitation, establishing these services as integral to community-based treatment and leading the recovery movement. The USPRA primary concern is advancing the practice of psychiatric rehabilitation and recovery.


U.S. Government Resources

National Guideline Clearinghouse The NGC mission is to provide physicians, nurses, and other health professionals, health care providers, health plans, integrated delivery systems, purchasers and others an accessible mechanism for obtaining objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines and to further their dissemination, implementation and use.

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is one of 27 components of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the Federal government's principal biomedical and behavioral research agency. NIH is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration Official site of the United States Department of Health and Human Services.  Includes a wide array of information including statistics and grant opportunities.


Pennsylvania/Philadelphia Resources

Network of Care and Supports for Behavioral Health and Mental Retardation Services The organizations listed provide assistance, support, information and advocacy to behavioral health and mental retardation individuals, families and service providers.  This site also features a nation-wide database of support services.

Philadelphia’s Department of Behavioral Health & Intellectual DisAbilities Services  (DBHIDS) The City of Philadelphia has integrated its behavioral health care and intellectual disability services into one comprehensive system. DBHIDS components provide services through a network of agencies while collaborating with the Philadelphia School District, child welfare and judicial systems, and other stakeholders.

Pennsylvania Public Health and Addictions Information Clearinghouse The Pennsylvania Department of Health Public Health Information Clearinghouse (PADOHPHIC) operates as the information clearinghouse and referral center for the Pennsylvania Department of Health. In a statewide effort to promote healthy lifestyles for all Pennsylvanians, PADOHPHIC's mission is to serve as a resource center and provide a wide range of health-related information.

State Board of Social Workers, Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors The Board's functions include promulgating rules and regulations, requiring applicants to pass examinations relating to their qualifications as a prerequisite to the issuance of a license and examining for, denying, approving, issuing, revoking, suspending or renewing such licenses.

Temple University Collaborative on Community Integration The Temple Collaborative on Community Integration, is a national program funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR), this five-year project is the first of its kind to focus on community integration as it applies to people with psychiatric disabilities. The Collaborative will target obstacles that prevent people from being full members of their communities, develop supports to enhance community integration, and expand the range of opportunities for people who have mental illnesses to participate in their communities as active, equal members.


Other Resources

Addiction Treatment Forum Addiction Treatment Forum has reported on substance abuse and addiction therapies, research, news, and events of interest to both healthcare professionals and patients. Although many treatment options and healthcare topics of concern are regularly discussed, an important focus is on methadone maintenance for opioid-addiction treatment.

Alcohol Medical Scholars Program The mission of the Alcohol Medical Scholars Program (AMSP) is to promote optimal education in medical schools regarding the identification and care of people with alcohol use disorders and other substance-related problems.  Outlines, survey data, links, and meeting minutes are provided.

Behavior Online A gathering place for Mental Health and Applied Behavioral Science Professionals.  This site includes a various array of discussion groups to allow users to communicate with colleagues from around the world.

Institute Of Alcohol Studies The aims of the Institute are to increase the understanding of alcohol and of public policies necessary to reduce the problems associated with its use (located in the U.K.).   Includes fact sheets and published papers.

Internet Mental Health Internet Mental Health is a free encyclopedia of mental health information created by a Canadian psychiatrist, Dr. Phillip Long.  Internet Mental Health is for anyone who has an interest in mental health.

Mental Health Matters Mental Health Matters was founded to supply information to mental health consumers, professionals, students, and supporters.

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation seeks to improve the health and health care of all Americans.  This important resource contains quality information and grant opportunities.

Treatment Advocacy Center The Treatment Advocacy Center is a national nonprofit organization working to eliminate barriers to timely treatment of severe mental illness.  This site contains relevant information from across the entire U.S.

Directories

Columbia Psychotherapy Associate's Favorite Links Page

refdesk.com: Mental Health

Yahoo.com: Mental Health Organizations Directory

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon