Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Drexel University Health Sciences Libraries


Hahnemann Library
Center City Campus
1st and 2nd floors, New College Building
245 No. 15th Street

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Queen Lane Library College of Medicine Campus 1st floor
Drexel University
College of Medicine Campus
2900 Queen Lane

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Health Sciences Libraries Reference Librarians

Ask us a Question!

 

New Items in the Catalog

Medicine

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Nursing

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Public Health

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM)

  1. Suggested Databases
  2. Journals
  3. Electronic Texts and Reference Resources
  4. College of Nursing and Health Professionals-Certificate of Advanced Study in Complementary and Integrative Therapies
  5. Selected Web Resources
    1. Academic and Professional Associations
    2. Resources for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
    3. Other Resources
    4. Directories

Suggested Databases

  • AGRICOLA (1979-present) AGRICultural OnLine Access Provides access to the agricultural literature of the world and is the most comprehensive source of U.S. agricultural and life sciences information. AGRICOLA serves as the document locator and bibliographic control system for the National Agricultural Library (NAL) collection. It contains over 3.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
  • Alt-Health Watch (dates vary) Full-text and image database covering the full spectrum of alternative medicine subject areas, Alt HealthWatch focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It draws from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed reports, conference proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt HealthWatch includes pamphlets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
  • CINAHL (1982-present) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas
  • ClinicalTrials.gov (current) Provides current information about clinical research studies. Searchable by disease, location, treatment, sponser, etc. or browsable by condition or sponser.
  • Cochrane Library - A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane Reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information: other systematic reviews abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials all the current evidence in one single environment. Complementary Medicine is one of the Cochrane specialty fields.
  • MEDLINE via Ovid (1950-present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.
  • MEDLINE via PubMed (1950-present) NLM's search service to access MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases. Patrons can limit their searches to a CAM subset on PubMed which has over 220,000 journal citations.
  • Natural Standard (current) An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Provides objective, reliable information that aids clinicians, patients, and healthcare institutions to make more informed and safer therapeutic decisions.
  • PDQ (Physician's Data Query) (current) An NCI database that contains the latest information about cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, supportive care, and complementary and alternative medicine, plus clinical trials.
  • PsycARTICLES From the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 163,000 articles from more than 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal.
  • PsycBOOKS From the American Psychological Association (APA), includes over 38,000 chapters in PDF from over 2,500 books, published by the APA and other distinguished publishers, and includes digitized content of historical significance from the Archives of the History of American Psychology (AHAP) collection . It also contains over 1,600 classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology dating from the 1600s, and the exclusive electronic release of more than 1,500 authored entries from APA/Oxford University Press Encyclopedia of Psychology.
  • PsycCRITIQUES Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of full-text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. It also publishes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books, and includes approximately 40,000 reviews dating back to 1956.
  • PsycINFO ( 1872-current) Covers books, dissertations and journals in the psychological and behavioral sciences, including the creative arts therapies. Uses the OVID interface and the Thesaurus of Psychological Indexing Terms.
  • PsycTESTS Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), serves as a repository for a growing selection of psychological tests and measures, including thousands of actual test instruments and test items that are available for immediate download and use in research and teaching. While focused on contemporary instances of test use, coverage spans more than a century.
  • RefWorks RefWorks allows users to format their citations and papers into a particular format, export or manually add references into RefWorks, and share their references or entire database. Users must create a RefWorks account. Write-N-Cite, an application that must be downloaded, enables users to insert in text citations from their references into their papers. When using Write-N-Cite from off-campus, enter RWDrexelU as the Group Code, in addition to the RefWorks account login.
  • Acubriefs (dates vary) This acupuncture database grew out of a bibliography formed for the 1997 NIH Consensus Conference on Acupuncture. Includes citations from MEDLINE, Cochrane Library, non-indexed journals, and Chinese publications with English abstracts. Updated weekly.
  • HerbMed (current) Interactive herbal database provided by the Alternative Medicine Foundation. Access to forty herbs. Enhanced version of this database is available for a fee.
  • Index to Chiropractic Literature (ICL) (1985-present) Contains abstracts of articles in peer reviewed chiropractice journals. Indexed by members of the Chiropractic Library Consortium (CLIBCON) which consists of health sciences librarians from chiropractic colleges throughout the world. Uses both CHIROSH (Chiropractic Subject Headings) and MeSH (Medical Subject Headings).
  • International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) (1986-present) Free goverment database that offers over 730,000 abstracts and citations on the topic of dietary supplements from four major database sources: biomedical-related articles from MEDLINE, botanical and agricultural science from AGRICOLA, worldwide agricultural literature through AGRIS, and selected nutrition journals from CAB Abstracts and CAB Health. Updated quarterly.
  • Native American Ethnobiology (current) This database contains information on "foods, drugs, dyes, and fibers of Native American Peoples, derived from plants." Based at the University of Michigan.
  • Plant Information Online (1982-present) This free database from the University of Minnesota Libraries can be searched for information on almost a thousand North American nurseries or over a hundred thousand plants.

Electronic Journals

Check catalog for electronic and print journals; for a comprehensive list, search "complementary therapies-periodicals" as a Subject. Also see the alphabetic listings of Electronic Journals.


Electronic Texts and Reference Resources

Also see the listing of selected health sciences electronic books.


Selected Web Resources

Academic and Professional Associations

Alternative Medicine Foundation
Since 1998, the Alternative Medcine Foundation has been a resource for consumers and professionals looking for evidence-based information on CAM.
American Academy of Medical Acupuncture (AAMA)
The AAMA website has information on licensure, workshops, and finding an acupuncturist.
American Academy Of Orthopaedic Manual Physical Therapy
This organization's website has information on manuel therapy for students, professionals, and for consumers.
American Academy of Pain Management
The AAPM is "an inclusive, interdisciplinary organization serving clinicians who treat people with pain through education, setting standards of care, and advocacy." The website has links for locating a pain professional or an academy accredited clinic, and a CME learning center. There is also a monthly e-newsletter, Currents, which features breaking news, abstracts, clinical practice guidelines, and advocacy information.
American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine
Founded in 1898, this association supports and provides "assistance to the nation's osteopathic medical schools, and serves as a unifying voice for osteopathic medical education." The website includes information on osteopathic medicine and fast facts about osteopathic medical education.
American Association of Naturopathic Physicians
Naturopathic physicians (N.D.) get a similiar education to an M.D. but also study "holistic and nontoxic approaches to therapy" which may include acupuncture, botanical medicine, and homeopathic medicine.
American Association of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (AAAOM)
The AAAOM website has five major components: its mission, action statement, and public purpose, general information, legislative and public policy activities, partnerships, and public awareness and outreach.
American Botanical Council
The American Botanical Council is a source for reliable herbal medicine information. There is a herbal library and related links. There is also a consumer-oriented database, Healthy Ingredients, which has sample profiles to the public.
American Chiropractic Association (ACA)
The ACA is the largest professional organization in the world which represents chiropracters.
American Herbalists Guild
Founded in 1989, this organziation represents herbalists specializing in the medicinal use of plants.
American Holistic Medical Association (AHMA)
AHMA serves "as an advocate for Holistic Medicine and helping physicians and other healthcare practitioners practice a broader form of healthcare than what is taught in conventional/allopathic medical schools." The website has a doctor finder for holistic physicians and associated health professionals, information for the public, and a career center.
American Holistic Nursing Association
The AHNA serves more than thirty five hundred nurses and other holistic associations. It has links on integrated healthcare, stress management, and research guidelines.
American Institute of Homeopathy
"Established April 10, 1844, the year after the death of homeopathy's German-born founder, Dr. C. F. Samuel Hahnemann, the AIH is the oldest, extant, national professional medical organization in the United States."
American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA)
AMTA has links on finding a massage therapist, a job bank, and the Massage Therapy Foundation, a charitable database.
Association of Accredited Naturopathic Medical Colleges
This association is made up of six colleges. It has information on accrediation, naturopathic resources, and how to become a naturopathic physician.
Association of American Indian Physicians
AAIP was founded in 1971. It provides educational programs, services, and activities for American Indian and Alaskan Native students interested in medicine. It also hosts forums on modern medicine combining with traditional healing.
Botanical Society of America
"The BSA is one of the world's largest societies devoted to the study of plants and allied organism." The website has an online student resource and a plant image collection.
Herb Society of America
This society educates "its members and the public on the cultivation of herbs and the study of their history and uses, both past and present." It offers resource lists and a links directory of herb related resources.
International Chiropractic Association
ICA is the world's oldest international chiropractic professional organization representing nearly eight thousand practitioners, students, and others affilidated with profession.
National Center for Homeopathy
The NCH offers resources on finding a homeopath, homeopathic resources such as chat room transcripts, education, and treatment of epidemics and trauma. There is also a Homeopathy in the News database which grades how homeopathy is being reported.
National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork
This board has certified over ninety thousand massage therapists and bodyworkers since 1992. The website includes information on certification and recertification information, a career center, and distance education blog.
National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine
Since 1982, the "NCCAOM has issued more than 19,000 certificates in Acupuncture, Oriental Medicine, Chinese Herbology, and Asian Bodywork Therapy."
National Indian Health Board
This board's website has information on health policy, health topics, and health resources pertaining to American Indians/Alaska Natives.
North American Society of Homeopaths
This society's mission is "to set standards of competency and to certify individuals in the practice of classical homeopathy in order to inform and protect health care consumers in search of homeopathic treatment."
Qigong Association of America
"Qigong comes from two Chinese words: Qi (chi) means energy and gong (kung) means a skill or a practice. Qigong therefore means a skill or practice of cultivating energy." This association's website includes articles, a message board, and Breathe Deep, the association's newsletter.

Resources for Complementary and Alternative Medicine

Acupuncture.com
Includes information on the basics of Chinese Medicine, herbal remedies, and a newsletter called Points.  Separate sections geared towards patients, professionals, and students.
Bandolier-Complementary and Alternative Therapies
Section on the evidence based journal's website dedicated to gathering information on various therapies.  Abstracts of reviews done on various remedies.
Cochrane Complementary Medicine Field
Member of the Cochrane collaboration, prepares and publishes systematic reviews of randomized clinical trials that are featured in the Cochrane Library. Abstracts for the reviews are available.
Dr. Weil.com
Website by integrative medicine physician offers information on healthy eating.  Offers information on everyday living.  Registration required for some sections of the website like subscription to E-bulletin.
Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)
Section of the National Agricultural Library.  Provides educational materials, government eports and  resource lists for topics such as food safety and supplements.
Homeopathy Home
Offers directories to schools and organizations.  Covers the history of homeopathy and provides links to websites in various languages.
Mayo Clinic Complementary and Alternative Medicine Center
Sections on the basics of CAM, information on arious therapies, and dietary supplements.
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center-Herbs, Botanicals, and Other Products
This website has a section a section for searching for evidence-based information about herbs, botanicals, supplements, and more.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Organization under the auspices of the National Institute of Health, its site includes health information, finding clinical trials on CAM, the latest news, and the NCCAM Newsletter.
National Center for Homeopathy
Non-profit organization that promotes homeopathy.  Features include a chatroom, calendar of homeopathic events, and locating a homeopath.
NaturalHerbsGuide
This non-commerical company offers a comprehensive guide to natural herbal remedies, herbal medicine, and herbal supplements.
Office of Cancer Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Branch of the National Cancer Institute.  Contains information on research, CAM clinical trials, and FDA alerts.
Office of Dietary Supplements
Government resource that provides information geared towards the professional and the onsumer. Includes links to government databases, factsheets on specific supplements, sections on consumer safety and nutrient recommendations.
Rosenthal Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Based at Columbia University's College of Physicians & Surgeons, its site provides a comprehensive selection of links to various CAM topics. The Cancer Education Intitiative page includes a directory of databases pertaining to CAM, and information on medical education and training programs.

Other Resources

American Council on Science and Health
Founded in 1978, the ACSH has over three hundred and fifty members.  It is a "consumer education consortium concerned with issues related to food, nutrition, chemicals, pharmaceuticals, lifestyle, the environment and health. "   There is a health issues section, news center, and a facts and fears blog.
Bastyr University AIDS Research Center
Established in 1994, the Bastyr University AIDS Research Center screens and evaluates therapies for the NCCAM. The website provides information on current and completed studies.
National Council Against Health Fraud
Includes information on the basics of Chinese Medicine, herbal remedies, and a newsletter called Points.  Separate sections geared towards patients, professionals, and students.
National Fraud Information Center
Includes a counterfeit drug section with tips and facts on protecting consumers from fraud.
National Patient Safety Foundation
"The National Patient Safety Foundation is the indispensable resource for individuals and organizations committed to improving the safety of patients." The website includes a patient and family resource guide, a listserv, and a link to Ask Me 3, a website that encourages partnerships for clear health communication.
Natural Healers School Directory
This directory provides information about massage therapy, acupuncture, and natural health degree schools, chiropractic colleges, and personal training certification.
QuackWatch
One of 19 websites operated by Dr. Stephen Barrett, M.D., Vice President of the National Council Against Health Fraud.  Sections include information on questionable roducts and advertisements, non-recommended sources of ealth advice, and consumer-oriented information.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA's vision is a life in the community for everyone.  Its website offers statistics programs and campaigns, and information on grants.
White House Commission on Complementary and Alternative Medicine Policy
This White House commission was established in 2000.  This government report addressed topics such as education and training, providing useful and accurate information on CAM, and coordination of research to increase knowledge about CAM products.

Directories

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon