- Finding and evaluating health information on the Web
- Philadelphia and other Pennsylvania health resources
- Comprehensive health websites
- Patient Education Handouts
- Multicultural health resources including information in multiple languages
- Global Health Resources
- Reference tools: dictionaries, encyclopedias, drug information, directories, health check tools, compare hospitals
- Environmental and Occupational Heatlh
- A User’s Guide to Finding and Evaluating Health Information on the Web This Medical Library Association (MLA) guide provides advice on how to get started searching for quality health-related websites and how to evaluate the content of the websites found. Also included here is a tool to help decipher medical terminology, along with lists of Medical Library Association-recommended consumer health websites.
- MedlinePlus: Evaluating Health Information MedlinePlus is a consumer health service provided by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Find links to web resources from authoritative organizations that also offer tips on evaluating medical information on the web. Be sure to see the NLM tutorial, “Evaluating Internet Health Information.”
- Medical Information on the Internet: Guide for Health Reporters and Consumers This tutorial from the Medical Library Association includes segments on how to find information about clinical trials, health statistics, doctors and hospitals, drugs, genetics, and the history of medicine.
- How to Evaluate Health Information on the Internet: Questions and Answers The National Cancer Institute answers twelve questions to help in deciding whether the health information found on the Internet is likely to be reliable.
- Health On the Net Foundation The Health On the Net Foundation Code of Conduct (HonCode) is an effort to assess the reliability and credibility of health information on the Web. The HonCode offers a voluntary set of rules to hold website developers to basic ethical standards in the presentation of medical information and to help ensure that readers of a website know the source and purpose of the information they are reading. Look for the HonCode symbol on designated websites. The foundation also provides a portal to medical information on the web to help in identifying trustworthy websites that adhere to HonCode principles.
- Quackwatch Quackwatch is a non-profit corporation whose mission is to “combat health-related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies, and misconduct.”
Philadelphia and Other Pennsylvania Health Resources
- PhillyHealthInfo PhillyHealthInfo is a service of the Philadelphia College of Physicians providing access to trustworthy consumer health information and local resources in the Delaware Valley, including Philadelphia County, Bucks County, Chester County, Delaware County, and Montgomery County. Browse a large selection of medical topics, local health services organized by county, and a calendar of local health events.
- Pennsylvania Department of Health Use the tab near the top of the page to search “You and Your Family’s Health” for health topics, statistics, emergency preparedness, and other resources relevant to families in Pennsylvania.
- Pennsylvania Department of State: Search for a License Use this website to search for license information on individuals and facilities regulated by the Pennsylvania Bureau of Professional and Occupational Affairs. For example, verify the licenses of physicians, surgeons, and nurses, as well as nursing homes, pharmacies, and professional corporations.
- Kaiser Family Foundation State Health Facts Online: Pennsylvania at a Glance Find extensive health related statistics for Pennsylvania and see how Pennsylvania compares to the rest of the country.
- City of Philadelphia Health Department Search under "Ambulatory Health" to find a Philadelphia Health Care Center where all Philadelphia residents can access medical and dental care. This website also describes a wide variety of other health-related resources and information for Philadelphia residents.
- AIDS Library of Philadelphia The AIDS Library offers comprehensive HIV/AIDS information through a variety of media including books, journals, videos, and the Internet. Professional librarians are available in the library to help patrons search for information about HIV in a comfortable and private setting. Free Internet access and computer instruction is available.
- Pennsylvania Health Law Project (PHLP) The PHLP provides free legal services, information, and advocacy to Pennsylvania residents having trouble accessing publicly funded health care coverage or services.
- HealthyNJ Content for HealthyNJ is provided by librarians from the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey. In addition to covering comprehensive health topics, this website targets information of particular interest to residents of New Jersey including health care facilities and health insurance.
Comprehensive Health Websites
- MedlinePlus MedlinePlus is a consumer health service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. Providing patients with authoritative and up to date information to help answer health questions, MedlinePlus includes links to hundreds of topics on medical conditions, diseases, wellness, drugs, herbs, and supplements. In addition to a medical encyclopedia and dictionary, current health news, and extensive directories to find healthcare practitioners and hospitals, MedlinePlus provides a collection of interactive healthcare related tutorials. Much of the information in MedlinePlus is also available in Spanish.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) The CDC is a federal agency in the Department of Health and Human Services. Their web site provides individuals with authoritative information on diseases and conditions, environmental and workplace health, emergency preparedness and response, and healthy living. The CDC also provides access to extensive health-related statistics. Be sure to see the Top 10 list for information on health topics in the news.
- FamilyDoctor.org Operated by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), information on this website is written and reviewed by physicians and patient education professionals at the AAFP. Health information for men, women, seniors, teens, and children is available in English and Spanish. Find information on drugs, including over-the-counter drugs, and chose from a collection of videos on various health topics.
- MayoClinic.com This website from the Mayo Clinic provides information about diseases & conditions, drugs & supplements, assorted medical calculators and self-assessment tools, as well as slide shows and videos on a variety of health and fitness topics. The website includes a first-aid guide, a tool to help manage select medical conditions, and “Ask a Specialist,” where Mayo Clinic specialists answer questions posted by readers.
- Healthfinder.gov From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this website offers an encyclopedia of over 1600 health topics from reliable resources, numerous personal health tools such as health quizzes to assess disease risk, links to health services and organizations, as well as current health news headlines. This nicely organized website is available in English and Spanish.
- NOAH (New York Online Access to Health) This comprehensive portal to health and wellness information is available in English and Spanish. Content development is by qualified librarians and specialists in medical information. The website has a simple design and is well organized.
- National Cancer Institute With content available in English and Spanish, this U.S. government website has information for consumers and health professionals. Covering various cancer topics, content includes an A-Z list of cancers, clinical trial information, cancer statistics, recent news releases, a dictionary of cancer terms, and a cancer drug dictionary.
- Top 100 List: Health Websites You Can Trust CAPHIS, the consumer and patient health information section of the Medical Library Association, offers this list of high quality web sites which have been reviewed applying strict criteria.
- MedlinePlus Medical Dictionary
- Dictionary of Cancer Terms from the National Cancer Institute
- Dictionary of Common Medical Terms from Familydoctor.org
- A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia
- Merck Manual Online Medical Library/Home Edition
- MayoClinic.com First Aid Guide
- Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
- Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery
- Rx List from WebMD (includes pill identifier)
- Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
- Drugs, supplements, and herbal information from MedlinePlus
- American Medical Association DoctorFinder
- American Dental Association Find a Dentist
- Comprehensive directory of health professionals, services, and facilities
- SAMHSA Substance Abuse treatment facility locator
- Organizations by health topic
Health Check Tools
- Comprehensive list of calculators, self-assessment, and decision support tools
- Calculate your health risk: Harvard School of Public Health
- Compute your body mass index
- Compute your 10-year risk of coronary heart disease
- Breast cancer risk assessment
- Lab Tests Online
Compare Hospitals and Nursing Homes
- Hospital Compare: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
- Nursing Home Compare: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Multicultural Health Resources (including information in multiple languages)
- Population Groups from MedlinePlus
- Consumer Health Information in Many Languages from the National Network of Libraries of Medicine
- Health Information in Multiple Languages from MedlinePlus
- MD Consult (large Spanish language patient education section)
- Merck Manual Home Edition in Spanish
- MedlinePlus in Spanish
- Health Information Translations
- Point-to-Talk Booklets from Massachusetts General Hospital
- MD Consult
- Nursing Consult
- JAMA Patient Pages: Follow the instructions to find patient information on hundreds of medical topics from the Journal of the American Medical Association. News releases and videos that describe original research articles and editorials published in JAMA written in lay persons' terms are also available on the website.
- UpToDate for Patients
- Tox Town Produced by the National Library of Medicine, Tox Town is intended for students above elementary school level, educators, and the general public. "Tox Town uses color, graphics, sound and animation to add interest to learning about connections between chemicals, the environment, and the public's health."
- Tox Map From the National Library of Medicine, Tox Map uses maps of the United States to aid in visual exploration of data from the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regarding the release of chemicals into the air, water, and ground. Create local, regional, or national maps to show where chemicals are released and the names of the releasing facilities. Maps also identify the locations of Superfund sites.
- Household Products Database "This database links over 8,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients."
- Environmental Health and Toxicology From the National Library of Medicine, this website provides "selected links to Internet resources on toxicology and environmental health issues of recent special interest."
- Haz Map Haz Map "is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the health effects of exposure to chemicals and biologicals at work. Haz Map links jobs and hazardous tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms."
Maintained by Steven Bogel firstname.lastname@example.org
Last updated 05/20/2011
Content Editor: Steve Bogel
Last Updated: 10/31/2012