Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Drexel University Health Sciences Libraries


Hahnemann Library
Center City Campus
1st and 2nd floors, New College Building
245 No. 15th Street

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Queen Lane Library College of Medicine Campus 1st floor
Drexel University
College of Medicine Campus
2900 Queen Lane

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Health Sciences Libraries Reference Librarians

Ask us a Question!

 

New Items in the Catalog

Medicine

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Nursing

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Public Health

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Forensic Science

Research Tools:

  1. Suggested Databases
  2. Journals
  3. Electronic Texts and Reference Resources

Selected Web Sites:

  1. Instructional Resources
  2. Academic and Professional Associations
  3. State Associations and Boards
  4. Other Web Resources
  5. College of Medicine Master of Forensic Science Program

Suggested Databases

  • Computer Forensics Tool Testing (CFTT) Project Website (current) The CFTT is designed to provide a measure of assurance in the results of investigations based on automated tools used in computer forensics examinations. Provides several links to testing reports and projects underway in the field.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) Law Ebooks (2003-present) Selected encyclopedias and other reference sources covering forensics and law.
  • Hein Online (1789-present) Full text access to law reviews and journals, including an extensive retrospective collection.
  • Index to Legal Periodicals & Books: Wilson Omnifile (1982-current) Offers coverage of legal journals, newspapers, and text. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracting begins 1984, and full text begins in 1994.
  • Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective (1908-1981) A bibliographic database that cumulates citations from print editions of Index to Legal Periodicals published between 1908 and 1981.
  • LegalTrac (1980-present) Indexing and selected full-text for all major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty law publications, bar association journals and thousands of law-related articles from general interest publications.
  • LexisNexis Academic Universe (Dates vary) Large database covering federal and state court opinions, statutes, and regulations. Also has extensive coverage of news publications, news transcripts, and company information.
  • MEDLINE via OVID (1950-present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.
  • MEDLINE via PubMed (1950-present) NLM's search service to access MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases.
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database (NCJRS) (1970-current) Contains summaries of more than 160,000 publications on criminal justice, including federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research.
  • Primal Pictures Includes Interactive Functional Anatomy and Complete Human Anatomy -- both are 3D interactive human models. Enable pop-ups for optimal viewing.
  • PsycBooks (1806-present) A full-text database of over 1100 books and chapters in the American Psychological Associations array of electronic ebooks.
  • PsycINFO (Psychological Abstracts) (1872-present) Covers books, dissertations and journals in the psychological and behavioral sciences, including the creative arts therapies. Uses the OVID interface and the Thesaurus of Psychological Indexing Terms.
  • Toxline (1872-current) Bibliographic database covering the biochemical, pharmacological, physiological and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.

Journals

Check catalog for electronic and print journals; for a comprehensive list, search "forensic medicine periodicals" as a Subject. Also see the alphabetic listings of Electronic Journals for Forensic Science.

Electronic Texts and Reference Resources

Also see the listing of selected health sciences electronic books.

Instructional Resources

  • Bloodstain Pattern Analysis Tutorial-This tutorial includes pictures and explanations of different tyes of bloodstains and a glossary of International Association of Bloodstain Pattern Analysts terminology.
  • Bureau of Justice Statistics-This resource presents statistics on crime, victims, and the justice system. This website also includes a link to the Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics.
  • Dolan DNA Learning Center-Created by the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, this website provides tutorials about DNA. Modules explain the use of forensic analysis for determining human identification and lineage.
  • FirearmsID.com-Created by a firearm and tool marks examiner, this website offers information on topics such as the fundamentals of identifying firearms, bullet indentification, distance determinations, and the history of firearms identification. Users must register with the website to use the resources section.
  • Firearms Tutorial-This tutorial, created by the Florida State University College of Medicine, covers the anatomy of firearms, ballistics, and terminology.
  • Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Electronic Reading Room-This website contains historical FBI documents pertaining to famous people, gangsters, and violent crime.
  • Identifont-This directory contains information about fonts from 368 publishers and 118 vendors. Fonts can be located by appearance, name, and by designer and publisher.
  • President's DNA Initiative-Started in 2003, the inititiative seeks to increase the use of DNA in the criminal justice system. Includes online courses, grant funding information, and explains the uses of forensic DNA.
  • Virtual Autopsy-This tutorial presents eighteen cases which feature interactive cadavers. The cadavers' case histories are presented by clicking on parts of the body to determine the cause of death.
  • Visible Proofs: forensic views of the body-This online exhibit, created by the National Library of Medicine, presents the history of forensic medicine, galleries of significant cases and people in the development of forensic medicine, and an educational section.

Academic and Professional Associations

  • American Academy of Forensic Psychology (AAFP) The AAFB is the "education and training arm of the American Board of Forensic Psychology (ABFP)." The website includes a directory to locate board-certified forensice expert. The website has brochures as Adobe files, information on prescribing issues, and continuing education accrediation information.
  • American Academy of Forensic Sciences (AAFS) Founded in 1948, the AAFS has over six thousand members. The website has links to resources, including undergraduate and graduate education opportunities. In addition to employment links, there is also a Young Forensic Scientists Forum.
  • American Academy of Psychiatry and the Law Founded in 1969, the AAPL has over fifteen hundred members from around the world. The website has links to position statements, forensic resources, and links.
  • American Board of Criminalistics This organization is "composed of regional and national organizations which represent forensic scientists." The website has information on certification and a list of events that are offered.
  • American Board of Forensic Document Examiners The ABFDE "provides a program of certification in forensic document examination with the dual purpose of serving the public interest and promoting the advancement of forensic science."
  • American Board of Forensic Odontology The ABFO was founded in 1976. The websie includes guidelines on topics such as bitemarks and human identification.
  • American Board of Forensic Toxicology The ABFT establishes and "enhances voluntary standards for the practice of forensic toxicology and for the examination and recognition of scientists and laboratories providing forensic toxicology services."
  • American Board of Medicolegal Death Investigators In 2005, this organization became one of four professional boards in the nation to be accredited by the Forensic Specialties Accreditation Board. The website has links to death investigation guidelines, continuing education links, and training opportunities.
  • American Board of Pathology The ABP is a member board of the American Board of Medical Specialties. In addition to examination dates and application forms, the website has a link to a virtual microscopy practice examination.
  • American College of Legal Medicine "Founded in 1960, ACLM is the official organization for professionals who focus on the important issues where law and medicine converge." The website includes guidelines for expert witnesses, links to related websites, and a discussion list, LEGALMEDNET.
  • American Society of Clinical Pathologists The ASCP is a comprehensive resource for pathologists, residents, and students. The website has information on advocacy, outreach, education, and a chat service.
  • American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors"(ASCLD) is a nonprofit professional society of crime laboratory directors and forensic science managers dedicated to providing excellence in forensic science through leadership and innovation." The organization has a yearly symposium on leadership and training issues.
  • Armed Forces Institute of Pathology (AFIP) AFIP's website has links to research, consultation requests, and education.
  • Association for Crime Scene Reconstruction The ACSR is a growing organization of over five hundred members with links and training opportunities.
  • Association of Firearm and Tool Mark Examiners The AFTE website has links to exam resources like a Trigger Pull Database, forums, and forensic links.
  • Bureau of Legal Dentistry (BOLD) Located in British Columbia, BOLD is the "first and only laboratory in North America that is dedicated to full-time forensic dentistry research, casework, and graduate teaching."
  • Canadian Society of Forensic Science CSFS is a non-profit professional organization incorporated to maintain professional standards, and to promote the study and enhance the stature of forensic science. The website includes links to careers, job postings, and discussion forums.
  • FBI With over thirty thousand employees, the FBI's mission is "protect and defend the United States against terrorist and foreign intelligence threats, to uphold and enforce the criminal laws of the United States, and to provide leadership and criminal justice services to federal, state, municipal, and international agencies and partners." The FBI website has links to its reports and publications, history of the FBI, contact information for various departments, and RSS news feeds.
  • Forensic Science Society (UK) Founded in 1959, this association is one of the oldest forensic science socieites in the world. The website has information on competitions, jobs, and information on various conferences.
  • Forensic Sciences Foundation The Forensic Sciences Foundation is affiliated with the American Academy of Forensic Sciences. Its mission to create and conduct forensic science training programs, develop new ways to improve forensic sciences, promote public education about forensic sciences, and support research related to forensic science.
  • International Association for Identification The IAI is the largest and oldest forensic organization in the world. Founded in 1915, the website offers training programs, certification programs, job listings, and links to its divisions.
  • International Association of Arson Investigators This organization offers a training calendar, a code of ethics, and a link to CFI Trainer. net, an online resource for training fire investigators.
  • International Association of Bloodstain Pattern Analysts The IABPA website has links to training opportunities, employment opportunities, and the IABPA Newsletter.
  • International Association of Bomb Technicians and Investigators"The IABTI is the leading international, non-profit, professional organization committed to countering and defeating the threat that bombs and other weapons of mass destruction present. " The website includes links to its seven geographical regions and conferences.
  • National Association of Medical Examiners "NAME is the national professional organization of physician medical examiners, medical death investigators and death investigation system administrators who perform the official duties of the medicolegal investigation of deaths of public interest in the United States." The website has links to death completion certificates, downloads, and tutorials.
  • National Center for Biotechnology Information NCBI is a division of the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). It offers a science primer, human genome resources, databases and tools, and outreach and education.
  • National Center for Forensic Science NCFS is a program of the National Institute of Justice hosted by the University of Central Florida. It has links to two databases: Ignitable Liquids Reference Collection and Fire and Arson Mapping. The website also offers research and publication information on digital, physical, and biological evidence.
  • National Forensic Science Technology Center This organization provides "programs that build individual competency and quality systems for the forensic science community in the United States."
  • National Institute of Justice >NIJ is the research, development, and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice. The website has information on publications, issues and initiatives, and training.
  • Society of Forensic Toxicologists, Inc. (SOFT) This organization is interested in developing and promoting forensic toxicology. It has an extensive list of links called Toxilinks.

State Associations and Board

Other Web Resources

  • Alan Barbour's Forensic Toxicology Page- Created by a fellow of the American College of Forensic Examiners, this resource includes links to forensic toxicology laboratories, directories of forensic expert witnesses, and forensic sciences information.
  • Dr. Formenti's Links: Anthropology- This website contains an extensive list of anthropology and related links, including directories, journals, discussion lists, and societies.
  • Crime Scene Investigation.net- Its contents include crime scene response and evidence collection guidelines, crime scene and evidence photography, and a monthly newsletter.
  • Footwear & Tire Track Investigation- This is a website of references and links created by the Chesapeake Area Shoeprint and Tire Track (C.A.S.T), a consortium of footwear and tire track investigators.
  • Forensic Entomology- This resource serves as an introduction to forensic entomology. It includes information on the life cycles of specific insects, death scene procedures involving insects, and related literature.
  • Reddy's Forensic Page- Here, a New York City Police Department forensic scientist presents an extensive page of links.
  • Zeno's Forensic Site- Created by a forensic scientist at the Netherlands Forensic Institute, this comprehensive listing of websites includes associations and societies, conferences, and job opportunities.

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon