Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Drexel University Health Sciences Libraries


Hahnemann Library
Center City Campus
1st and 2nd floors, New College Building
245 No. 15th Street

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Queen Lane Library College of Medicine Campus 1st floor
Drexel University
College of Medicine Campus
2900 Queen Lane

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Health Sciences Libraries Reference Librarians

Ask us a Question!

 

New Items in the Catalog

Medicine

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Nursing

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Public Health

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Hand Therapy

  1. Suggested Databases
  2. Electronic Journals
  3. Electronic Texts and References
  4. Selected Web Resources:
    1. Academic and Professional Associations
    2. Other Resources
    3. College of Nursing and Health Professions Programs in Rehabilitation Sciences & Physical Therapy

Suggested Databases

  • CINAHL (1982 - present) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas. Covers the key Physical Therapy professional journals. 
  • MEDLINE (via PubMed and OVID) — MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 12 million records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine.
  • PEDro: the Physiotherapy Evidence Database (1929-present) Created by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney; Contents include systematic reviews, controlled trials, and evidence based clinical practice guidelines. Updated monthly.

Electronic Journals

Check catalog for print journals. Also see the listing of Electronic Journals for all subject areas.


Electronic Texts and Reference Resources


Selected Web Resources  

Academic and Professional Associations

  • American Association for Hand Surgery (AAHS) The AAHS formed in 1970 and has grown to over 1100 members. Membership is based upon training, board certification, scientific and professional accomplishment, and the degree of active interest and experience in the disciplines related to hand surgery. Includes a hand care provider search, newsletter, and public education section.
  • American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) APTA, is the nationally recognized professional association of approximately 35,000 occupational therapists, occupational therapy assistants, and students of occupational therapy. Includes career information and patient education.
  • American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) APTA, a national professional organization representing more than 63,000 members, is a major public policy advocate for physical therapy professionals with links to government information, research, education, publications, jobs, and state and local chapters. Members have access to Physical Therapy. Includes links to individual state physical therapy associations.
  • American Society for Hand Therapists (ASHT) ASHT is a professional organization comprised of licensed occupational and physical therapists who specialize in the treatment and rehabilitation of the upper extremity (hands, shoulders, arms, and elbows). ASHT offers a wide range of membership levels, including “Active Members” who have completed the requirements for the advanced designation of Certified Hand Therapist (CHT)
  • American Society for Surgery of the Hand(ASSH) Founded in 1946, the American Society for Surgery of the Hand is the oldest medical specialty society in the United States devoted entirely to continuing medical education related to hand surgery. The ASSH began as a select group of only 35 founding members and now includes over 2000 members from around the world. Includes a hand care provider search, newsletter, and public education section.
  • Hand Rebabilitation Foundation - Philadelphia The Hand Rehabilitation Foundation, established in 1975, is a non-profit corporation formed to promote research and education, and disseminate information to physicians and therapists who work with children and adults with hand disorders caused by injury, disease, or present at birth.
  • European Federation of Societies for Hand Therapy (EFSHT) The European Federation of Societies for Hand Therapy is a non profit organization representing 1800 therapists all over Europe. The federation was founded in 1989 in Paris.
  • International Federation of Societies for Hand Therapy (IFSHT) The International Federation of Societies for Hand Therapy represents over 5000 therapists all over the world. The main purposes of the IFSHT is to coordinate the activities of the various societies for Hand Therapy and to increase and enhance the exchange of knowledge of Hand Therapy.

Other Resources


For more information about the Programs for Hand and Upper Quarter Rehabilitation please contact Jane Fedorcyzk, PT, PhD, CHT, ATC  

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon