Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Drexel University Health Sciences Libraries


Hahnemann Library
Center City Campus
1st and 2nd floors, New College Building
245 No. 15th Street

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Queen Lane Library College of Medicine Campus 1st floor
Drexel University
College of Medicine Campus
2900 Queen Lane

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Health Sciences Libraries Reference Librarians

Ask us a Question!

 

New Items in the Catalog

Medicine

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Nursing

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Public Health

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Mobile Devices: Health Care Resources

The use of mobile devices goes well beyond basic calendaring. Health care professionals are using these devices in educational and clinical settings to track patient information, download web content, access databases, and utilize helper tools along with a myriad of other software. The following are selected links to mobile device resources.

General Resources:

Subject Specialties


Drexel-Licensed Mobile Device Resources

  • AccessMedicine Access Medicine is a  medical education resource consisting of a large variety of current established textbooks; allows searching across multiple AccessMedicine publications. AccessMedicine allows users to create a personal login that will permit them to download information to their mobile device.
  • ClinicalKey ClinicalKey provides access to Elsevier's current medical and surgical content including: First Consult; Top journals; Best-selling medical and surgical books; Thousands of medical videos, millions of images, and much more content across 12 distinct content types.
  • Dynamed Dynamed is a clinical reference tool created for use primarily at the point-of-care, providing clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic evidence review databases directly and indirectly by using many journal review services.  Please see Dynamed for Mobile Devices for more information.
  • RefMobile RefWorks can be used on a mobile device via RefMobile.   Use a mobile device to search within a RefWorks account, view references and attached files (if supported by the device), and add comments or notes to a reference.  A SmartAdd feature locates references on the web when  an ISBN, DOI, PubMed ID (PMID), first author and pub year, or partial title  is entered and enters them in your RefWorks database.
  • Stat!Ref Mobile This is a searchable electronic library of full-text medical textbooks, dictionaries, drug information, etc. for health care professionals.  For more information, please see the FAQ.

General Health Sciences Resources

  • Adobe Reader Mobile This tool allows users to view PDF documents on smaller screens.
  • Archimedes This is a specialty calculator that provides pre-programmed formulas in cardiology, pharmacology, hematology, pediatrics, and pulmonary and renal function.
  • Diagnosaurus This resource is a differential diagnosis tool, derived from the latest edition of Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment.
  • Drug Trials This application provides information related to current drug trials, including eligibility criteria and an email export feature. (iPhone &iPod Touch only)
  • HandyRef A general reference resource for medical professionals, this product provides a wealth of handy information, including narcotic dose equivalencies, insulin sliding scales, the Mini-Mental Status Exam, the Glasgow Coma Scale, and antibiotics selection. (Pocket PC only)
  • ICD Browser This browser searches the ICD codes World Health Organization. It will either display the codes together into a treebox or separate them into chapters, sections, and subsections.
  • MedCalc This is a medical calculator for mobile devices. It is designed for rapid calculation of common equations used in clinical medicine (including anesthesiology, pediatrics, emergency, intensive care, and internal medicine).
  • Medical Dictionary This site provides clear explanations of 5,100 medical terms. (Pocket PC only)
  • Medical Mnemonics This is an interesting, searchable database of medical mnemonics that are useful in remembering important details.
  • Medscape Mobile This tool provides a drug and clinical reference guide along with medical news and CME information. (iPhone &iPod Touch only)
  • NCBI Handheld Bookshelf NCBI presents a small collection of full-text books available in mobile format.
  • PDR.Net This download from the PDR website has drug information and interaction tools, medical calculators, a disease database, and more. Users must register first with the PDR website before they can access the free download.
  • PubMed for Handhelds From the National Library of Medicine, this is a website for searching MEDLINE with the web browser on any mobile device.
  • TRIP Database TRIP is a searchable directory of  links to high-quality sources of medical information on the web.  This resource has been designed to function when viewed with a browser on a mobile device.

Health News

  • Medical Radio This service allows users to listen to content from Reach MD's satellite radio feed, clinical guidelines, and medical talks.
  • MedPage Today Mobile This resource provides access to breaking medical news and information from MedPage Today.  CME/CE credit can be earned through this application in a manner similar to MedPage Today's standard website. (iPhone &iPod Touch only)
  • MedStream This application delivers breaking medical and drug news and information from the CDC, FDA, NLM, and other sources directly to a mobile device.
  • Snac Snac is a free mobile content service for smartphones, this product allows synchronization of mobile versions of favorite websites. It offers channels from the leading brands in news, weather, sports and more.

Subject Specialties:

Anesthesiology

  • InfusiCalc A drug calculator that can assist with single does and infusions, using patient weight, solution concentrations and mixtures to calculate doses.

Cardiology

  • PalmEKG This tool is an arrhythmia field guide designed for mobile devices. (Palm only)
  • STAT Framingham Heart Age This resource calculates general cardiovascular risk, based on the Framingham Heart Study. (iPhone &iPod Touch only)
  • STAT Cardiac Clearance This application guides clinicians through the algorithms established by the American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association Task Force on Practice Guidelines and the American College of Physicians for evaluating patients prior to noncardiac surgery. (iPhone &iPod Touch only)
  • STAT Reynolds Risk Score This tool offers risk prediction models  associated with future cardiovascular events. (iPhone &iPod Touch only)

Complementary and Alternative Medicine

  • Alticopeia? Herbal Medicine Database Alticopeia? is a database of herbal medicine and dietary supplements. It includes data such as herb/supplement name, other names, scientific/Latin name, uses, scientific information, findings of the German Commission E (a panel which reviewed many of the herbs), cautions, usual daily doses, and references.

Consumer Health

  • 4T Medical This provides a database application for tracking personal medical information. Entries allow inclusion of name, category (personal or family), and vital information, including date of birth and disease, surgical, and family history, etc.
  • BloodPressMgr This application tracks blood pressure readings graphically, and shows average statistics and weekly distributions. (Palm only)
  • GlucoControl This tool aims to make the managing of diabetes easier and more accurate. (Palm only)
  • Nutricalc Nutricalc is a  tool for people who want to eat healthily, this provides nutritional values, calculations, and a way for keeping a running total of consumption. (Pocket PC only)
  • ProfileMD Classic This site aids in the construction of a personal health record available on a mobile device, providing instant access to one's medical history and that of one's family.
  • Quit Smoking: Consumer Interactive Tool A tool that helps consumers prepare to quit smoking. Included is a 5-day countdown to a quit date that can be inserted into a calendar, as well as other helpful resources.

Emergency Medicine

  • 911 This resource incorporates content from Outlines in Clinical Medicine/Medical Emergencies (OCM/911), The Medical Letter, and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to provide medical professionals with the latest information on SARS and other potentially rapidly-spreading diseases, including bio-terrorism agents. (Pocket PC only)
  • Glasgow Coma Scale The Glasgow Coma Scale, which evaluates brain injuries, is provided here. (iPhone/iTouch only)
  • NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards The NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (NPG) is a source for general industrial hygiene information on several hundred chemicals/classes, for workers, employers, and occupational health professionals.  (Palm only)
  • Wireless Information Sheets for Emergency Responders (WISER) WISER is a system designed to assist first responders in hazardous material incidents. It provides information on hazardous substances, including substance idenfication support, physical characteristics, human health information, and containment and suppression advice.

Endocrinology/Metabolism


Infectious Disease

  • AIDSinfo Guidelines From the AIDSinfo service, this site presents guidelines for the management of HIV infection and issues surrounding HIV infection. CDC STD Treatment Guidelines This site provides the CDC Sexually Transmitted Diseases Treatment Guidelines, with bookmarks and hyperlinks to facilitate browsing (Palm only)
  • Treatment of Tuberculosis Guidelines From the CDC, this site offeris a practical point-of-care tool on the treatment of tuberculosis for download. (Palm only)

Medicine

  • American Diabetes Association Clinical Practice Recommendations Developed by the American Diabetes Association, this tool is now available as a mobile file.
  • AsthmaMeister A comprehensive guide to the diagnosis and management of asthma, this e-book contains more than 170 pages of information woven together with hyperlinks. (Palm only)
  • ATP III Cholesterol Management Implementation Tool This interactive guideline tool can assist clinicians in implementing the ATP III Cholesterol Guidelines at the point of care. (Palm only)
  • Electronic Preventive Services Selector This mobile application and online guide identifies clinical preventive services for screening, counseling, and preventive medication based on the patient's age, sex, and pregnancy status. Based on recommendations of the U.S. Preventive Services Task Force, it can be used as a clinical tool for delivering appropriate services.
  • HIPAA On Hand HIPAA on HAND contains the Regulation Text Only of the HIPAA Regulations & Standards, transcribed from: The Office for Civil Rights website on Medical Privacy - National Standards to Protect the Privacy of Personal Health Information.
  • InfusiCalc A drug calculator that can assist with single does and infusions, using patient weight, solution concentrations and mixtures to calculate doses.
  • Joint National Committee Report on Prevention, Detection, Evaluation, and Treatment of High Blood Pressure (JN7) This interactive guideline tool can assist clinicians in implementing the JNC 7 High Blood Pressure Guidelines at the point of care.
  • MedFormulas This application comes with a number of standard formulas that are ready for use, as well as allows for the creation of customized formulas.
  • Medical Eponyms This site presents a list of 1,580 common and obscure medical eponyms (e.g., Rovsing's sign, Virchow's node) with descriptions. (Palm only)
  • MedMath This tool permits calculation of common formulas in adult internal medicine; formulas are sorted by category, with selectable units and an onscreen numeric keypad. (Palm only)
  • National Guideline Clearinghouse Summaries All National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) Guideline Summaries are available in a downloadable format downloadable. (Palm only)
  • Obesity Education Initiative (OEI) Treatment Guidelines Implementation Tool This tool's interactive design allows users to generate individualized and evidence-based assessment and treatment recommendations for treating overweight and obesity, according to Clinical Guidelines on Overweight and Obesity in Adults.
  • Pneumonia Severity Index Calculator This is an interactive tool to assist clinicians in determining the most appropriate care for newly diagnosed cases of community-acquired pneumonia) at the point of care.
  • Shots 2011 From the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), etc., this is a quick reference guide to the 2010 Childhood Immunization Schedule. Details on each vaccine are available by clicking on the vaccine names.
  • STAT SHAPE Guideline The Screening for Heart Attack Prevention and Education (SHAPE) Task Force presents a new practice guideline for cardiovascular screening in the asymptomatic at-risk population. (iPhone &iPod Touch only)
  • STAT Adult Immunization This resource provides information dealing with vaccination schedules that are appropriate for adults. (iPhone &iPod Touch only)

Neurology/Neurosurgery

  • NeuroMind This resource provides anatomical images, differential diagnosis, score and grading scales, and WHO surgery checklists.
  • CCT Neuro This application assists in the identification of neurological injury and presents treatment recommendations suggested by Covenant Medical Center's neurosurgical division. (Palm only)

Obstetrics and Gynecology

  • My OB Wheel My OB Wheel is a pregnancy wheel, allowing the user to calculate gestational age, due date, etc. (Palm only)
  • PregCalcPro (demo) This tool allows the clinician to chart pregnancies with a variety of available date and measurement calculations. (Palm only)

Oncology

  • BreastCA BreastCA is a breast cancer risk prediction tool that implements two commonly-used models of breast cancer risk prediction: the Gail and Claus models. (Palm only)
  • C Tools Here is a mobile tool that offers quick access to the most recent cancer information from the American Cancer Society.

Patient Management

  • Handy Patients This tool allows users to record medical information about patients. (Pocket PC only)
  • My Procedures This software allows medical professionals to keep track of procedures which can be emailed or printed. (Pocket PC only)
  • Stat E&M Lite This interactive template simplifies and enables Evaluation & Management (E&M) coding. (iPhone &iPod Touch only)
  • Stat ICD 9 Lite This tool includes 1500+ ICD diagnosis codes. (iPhone &iPod Touch only)

Pediatrics

  • PALS 2006 PALS is a Pediatric Advanced Life Support algorithm. Its features include a section on toxins and seizure treatment, and calculates medical dosages. (Pocket PC only)
  • Peds Omnibus This tool calculates pediatric medication doses, NICU daily values, etc.; it also tracks patients, lists developmental milestones, and provides growth charts and immunization schedules. (Palm only)
  • PICU Tools This tool is a collection of databases and calculators for use in the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit. (Palm only)
  • Shots 2011 From the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP), the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), and the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP), etc., this is a quick reference guide to the 2010 Childhood Immunization Schedule. Details on each vaccine are available by clicking on the vaccine names. Also includes information from the 2005-2006 Adult Immunization Schedule.
  • Stat Growth Charts Lite Calculate accurate growth percentiles and Z scores using the latest CDC Growth Charts for the United States; also included are Body Mass Index-for-Age charts. (iPhone &iPod Touch only)

Pharmacology

  • Johns Hopkins ABX Guide (demo) The Johns Hopkins POC-IT (Point of Care Information Technology) Antibiotic (ABX) Guide is a handheld-ready adaptation of the online ABX Guide. It is optimized for use at the point of care.

Public Health

  • Bioterrorism Fact Sheets From the Institute for Biosecurity, St. Louis University School of Public Health, this site presents a number of fact sheets on bioterrorism topics- e.g., anthrax, botulism. (Palm only)
  • EpiTool From the Johns Hopkins Hospital Department of Healthcare Epidemiology and Infection Control, EpiTool assists in performing basic statistical analysis of exposure and outcomes. *No Longer Updated*(Palm only)

Radiology

  • iRadiology This tool provides over 500 radiological cases and images that can be used to improve film, CT, and MRI reading skills. (iPhone &iPod Touch only)
  • MSK Radiology Teaching File Lite This resource provides 10 cases and common pathologies that would be useful as an introductory to this topic.

Toxicology

  • NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards The NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazards (NPG) is a source for general industrial hygiene information on several hundred chemicals/classes, for workers, employers, and occupational health professionals. 

Page maintained by Gary M. Childs, MS

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon