Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Drexel University Health Sciences Libraries


Hahnemann Library
Center City Campus
1st and 2nd floors, New College Building
245 No. 15th Street

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Queen Lane Library College of Medicine Campus 1st floor
Drexel University
College of Medicine Campus
2900 Queen Lane

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Health Sciences Libraries Reference Librarians

Ask us a Question!

 

New Items in the Catalog

Medicine

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Nursing

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Public Health

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Music Therapy

Suggested DatabasesSelected Web Resources:
Electronic Journals
Electronic Texts and Theses
College of Nursing and Health Professions Music Therapy Program 

Suggested Databases

Alt-Health Watch (Dates vary) Full-text and image database covering the full spectrum of alternative medicine subject areas, Alt HealthWatch focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It draws from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed reports, conference proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters. In addition, Alt HealthWatch includes pamphlets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. CINAHL (1982-current) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas. Classical Music Library Large and continually growing collection of classical music recordings for listening, browsing and searching. ERIC (1966-current) Educational Resources Information Center: contains citations to education-related research and technical reports, and to journal articles. HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) (1985-current) Provides information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, etc.) for the health and psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science. MEDLINE (via PubMed and OVID) — MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine.

Music In Print (2001-current) Emusicquest provides the Music-In-Print Series databases for subscribers to search online: Sacred and Secular Choral, Classical Vocal, Organ, Orchestral, String, Classical Guitar, Woodwind, Piano, Chamber, Band, Brass, Handbell, Harp, Percussion, Recorder, Jazz, and Popular Music In Print.

Naxos Music Library A comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues of over 130,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. Whilst listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists in Naxos's extensive database. Oxford Music Online (formerly Grove Music Online) Oxford Music Online is comprised of the reference source formerly known as Grove Music Online, and now also includes other valuable Oxford Reference sources. Oxford Music Online is an extensive reference resource to information about music. PsycINFO ( 1806-current) Covers books, dissertations and journals in the psychological and behavioral sciences, including the creative arts therapies. Uses the OVID interface and the Thesaurus of Psychological Indexing Terms. Refworks allows users to format their citations and papers into a particular format, export or manually add references into RefWorks, and share their references or entire database. Users must create a RefWorks account. Write-N-Cite, an application that must be downloaded, enables users to insert in-text citations from their references into their papers. When using Write-N-Cite from off-campus, enter RWDrexelU as the Group Code, in addition to the RefWorks account login. The Group Code is case sensitive.


Electronic Journals

(Check catalog for print journals; for a comprehensive list, search "music therapy periodicals" as a Subject). Also see the alphabetic listings of Electronic Journals. Get It! Linking is provided from citations in databases such as CINAHL and MEDLINE to the Libraries’ journal collections; look for Get It! button.  Get It! window will display options for obtaining the full-text of an article, including fulltext choices, possible print volumes available in library, or use on Interlibrary Loan services.


Electronic Texts and Theses

Selected Psychology & Psychiatry e-books can be found in the list of Core Health Sciences E-books. (Check catalog for full listing of print and electronic resources; for a comprehensive list, search "music therapy" as a Subject).

Creative Arts in Therapy Theses collection at iDEA: Drexel E-Repository and Archives.
iDEA is a centralized virtual space to access unique digital resources produced by the Drexel community. The Creative Arts in Therapy Theses collection has a number of digitized theses by Drexel alumni in Music Therapy, Art Therapy, and Dance/Movement Therapy.

(Check catalog for full listing of print and electronic theses; for a comprehensive list, search "music therapy thesis" as a Keyword)


Selected Web Resources

Academic and Professional Associations

American Music Therapy Association (AMTA) Founded in 1998, AMTA's purpose is the development of therapeutic use of music in rehabilitation, special education, and community settings. Includes many helpful links and information.
Association of Professional Music Therapists (APMT) Established in 1976, this association is dedicated to maintaining a high standard of practice throughout the profession in the UK.  British Society for Music Therapy (BSMT) The BSMT was founded in 1958 and has played a major role in establishing Music Therapy and its professional status in the UK. Canadian Association for Music Therapy (CAMT) The CAMT became an official association in 1976. Its purpose is to establish methods of treatment and foster professional communication. Certification Board for Music Therapists (CBMT) Contains crucial information concerning certification in the field of Music Therapy. National Coalition of Arts Therapies Associations (NCATA) Founded in 1979, this coalition represents all of the professional organizations that utilize the arts as therapeutic modalities. World Federation of Music Therapy (WFMT) The WFMT is an international non-profit organization bringing together music therapy associations and individuals interested in developing and promoting music therapy globally through the exchange of information, collaboration among professionals and actions

 

Directories

Page maintained by Gary M. Childs, MS

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon