- Learning About Evidence-based Practice
- Guidelines and Searching Tools
- Centers for Evidence-based Practice Research
- (See also our Subject Guide to Evidence-based Medicine)
- Introduction to Evidence-based Medicine (Duke University and University of North Carolina) - This tutorial is for both the health care practitioner and student; excellent step-by-step guide to the principles and terminology of evidence-based practice.
- Quality Filtering and Evidence-based Medicine and Health - Module Five of the Introduction to Health Services tutorial.
- Finding and Using Health Statistics - This course describes the range of available health statistics, identifies their sources, and helps the user understand how to use information about their structure while searching (National Library of Medicine, National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology).
- How to Read a Paper (British Medical Journal) - a series of articles published in BMJ.
- National Guidelines Clearinghouse - The National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) is a comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents.
- TRIP (Turning Research into Practice) - Contains the TRIP Database, a directory of medical links to high-quality sources of medical information on the web. Links to hundreds of other medical databases on the Web through a search engine, including those sites listed above. Search tips are listed on the search page, and click on "For more extensive search tips click here" at the bottom of the page for more advanced techniques.
- Cochrane Library - A collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. In addition to Cochrane Reviews, The Cochrane Library provides other sources of reliable information: other systematic reviews abstracts, technology assessments, economic evaluations, and individual clinical trials all the current evidence in one single environment.
- Evidence Based filters for CINAHL (University of Rochester Medical Centers) - PDF document of evidence based filters for CINAHL.
- Academic Center for Evidence-based Practice (ACE) - One of the leading worldwide centers for evidence based medicine; contains articles about the philosophy and practice of EBM as well as some useful analytical tools.
- Centre for Evidence-based Medicine - One of the leading worldwide centers for evidence based medicine; contains articles about the philosophy and practice of EBM as well as some useful analytical tools.
- The Section for Evidence-based Health Care - This website from the New York Academy of Medicine has links to practice guidelines, reference, tutorials, and more.
- Joanna Briggs Institute - Partnership between Royal Adelaide Hospital and University of Adelaide on evidence-based research.
- McMaster University's Evidence-based Practice Center - Practice-oriented research activities to improve the effectiveness of nursing practice and health care outcomes.
- Netting the Evidence - Custom Google search on methodology of evidence-based practice
- Western Australia Centre for Evidence-based Nursing and Midwifery - Practice-oriented research activities to improve the effectiveness of nursing practice and health care outcomes.
Page maintained by Kathleen Turner email@example.com Updated: 4/2012
Content Editor: Kathleen Turner
Last Updated: 10/31/2012