Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About Drexel University

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Drexel University Health Sciences Libraries


Hahnemann Library
Center City Campus
1st and 2nd floors, New College Building
245 No. 15th Street

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Queen Lane Library College of Medicine Campus 1st floor
Drexel University
College of Medicine Campus
2900 Queen Lane

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Health Sciences Libraries Reference Librarians

Ask us a Question!

 

New Items in the Catalog

Medicine

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Nursing

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Public Health

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Physical Therapy

  1. Suggested Databases
  2. Electronic Journals
  3. Electronic Texts and References
  4. Academic and Professional Associations
  5. State Boards and Associations
  6. Other Resources
  7. College of Nursing and Health Professions Programs in Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences

Suggested Databases

  • CINAHL (1982 - present) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas. Covers the key Physical Therapy professional journals.
  • Dissertations & Theses (1861-current) With more than 1.5 million entries, ProQuest's Dissertations & Theses is the one central, authoritative source for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
  • HAPI (Health and Psychosocial Instruments) (1985-present) Provides information on measurement instruments (questionnaires, etc.) for the health and psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
  • MEDLINE via Ovid (1950 - present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, and Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.
  • MEDLINE via PubMed (1966-present) NLM's search service to access MEDLINE and Pre-MEDLINE (with links to participating on-line journals), and other related databases.
  • PEDro: the Physiotherapy Evidence Database (1929-present) Created by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney; Contents include systematic reviews, controlled trials, and evidence based clinical practice guidelines. Updated monthly.
  • Primal Pictures (Current) Includes Interactive Functional Anatomy and Complete Human Anatomy -- both are 3D interactive human models. Enable pop-ups for optimal viewing.
  • Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source (1982-current) Covers a wide range of topics, including nursing, allied health, alternative therapies, biomedicine, consumer health and health administration.
  • RefWorks allows users to format their citations and papers into a particular format, export or manually add references into RefWorks, and share their references or entire database. Users must create a RefWorks account. Write-N-Cite, an application that must be downloaded, enables users to insert in text citations from their references into their papers. When using Write-N-Cite from off-campus, enter RWDrexelU as the Group Code, in addition to the RefWorks account login. The Group Code is case sensitive.
  • REHABDATA (1956-present) Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC), REHABDATA is a free disability and rehabilitation database. It describes more than 65,000 documents, covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities. Over thirteen hundred free, full text documents are available.
  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text (1800-present) Full text of journals covering sport, physical fitness, sports medicine, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, recreation, leisure studies, tourism, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. Four concurrent users maximum.

Journals

Check catalog for electronic and print journals; for a comprehensive list, search "Physical Therapy Techniques Periodicals" or "Rehabilitation Periodicals" as a Subject. Also see the alphabetic listings of Electronic Journals.

Electronic Texts and Reference Resources

Also see the listing of selected Health Sciences electronic books.

Academic and Professional Associations

  • American Academy of Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation - Representing 67,000 practicing PM&R physicians in the United States, this organization offers members opportunities in continuing education, practice knowledge, leadership skills, and research information. The society has annual meetings with presentations sponsored by its various committees and is a public policy advocate for PM&R. Members have access to physiatrist job listings and to Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.
  • American College of Sports Medicine -This organization's web site offers news updates, workshops, professional continuing education courses, a directory of graduate programs in sports medicine, grant information, and access to certification exam dates.
  • American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA) - AOTA promotes and educates occupational therapists, students, and consumers about occupational therapy. The website includes links to education, ethics, and a link to Wilma L. West Library. It also includes a consumer health section with fact sheets on occupational therapy's role in various situations and a student section.
  • American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM) - The AOSSM is a national organization of orthopedic surgeons specializing in sports medicine and publishes the American Journal of Sports Medicine; offers fellowships, continuing education, meetings, and a media room with the latest international press releases.
  • American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) - APTA, a national professional organization representing more than 63,000 members, is a major public policy advocate for physical therapy professionals with links to government information, research, education, publications, jobs, and state and local chapters. Members have access to Physical Therapy. Includes links to individual state physical therapy associations.
  • Association of Academic Physiatrists - The national organization of physiatrists who are affiliated with medical schools promotes the advancement of teaching and research in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. During its annual meeting, AAP offers courses on issues pertinent to academic physiatry in research, education and administration. This web site has a good history of the profession.
  • Australian Physiotherapy Association (APA) - APA, a national organization for physiotherapy with over 10,000 professional members, is the Australian equivalent of APTA with similar offerings on its web site.
  • Canadian Physiotherapy Association (CPA) - CPA sees itself as an influential participant in the debate and development of health standards and services across Canada. This web site has a Public Resources section with links to faqs, recommended products, news, and professional education.
  • Chartered Society of Physiotherapy - Not only a professional and educational society, Great Britain's CSP is also the trade union for physiotherapists. It sees itself as partly a "campaigning organization", speaking on behalf of individuals and the profession as a whole.
  • Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy - The Federation administers the NPTE and promotes standards and ethics in the profession of physical therapy. The organization has Boards (directory provided) in all fifty states, Puerto Rico, and three affiliated Canadian groups. Resources include a practice exam, registration forms, professional standards, and international licensing boards and credentialing commissions.
  • National Athletic Trainers' Association - The National Athletic Trainers' Association was founded in 1950 and includes members in schools, professional sports, hospitals and clinics, and industry worldwide. This organization sees its mission as covering all people involved in physical activity, for which it provides a definition.
  • National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research - NCMRR was established within the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in 1990 to foster research in improving the health, productivity, independence, and quality of life of persons with disabilities. The Center attempts to link scientists across disciplines, and to projects and funding. Other information includes funding opportunities, grants, workshops, conferences, and innovations in research.
  • World Confederation for Physical Therapy - The World Confederation for Physical Therapy (WCPT) is a non-profit organization founded in 1951, supported by subscriptions from its 82 Member Organizations. The confederation represents over 225,000 physical therapists worldwide, excepting North America and Australia. A world meeting is held every four years.

State Boards and Associations

Other Resources

  • Evaluating Internet Health Information: A Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine - The tutorial can either be viewed with a Flash plug-in or can be downloaded onto a computer.
  • Physiatry.com - Includes links to associations, journals, consumer information and news, in addition a guide to pronunciation of "Physiatrist".
  • Physical Therapist - This site covers job vacancies, clinics, schools, courses, and news with services for the professional, such as message boards and discussion groups.
  • Physical Therapy Corner - The Nicholas Institute of Sports Medicine and Athletic Trauma (NISMAT at Lenox Hill Hospital affiliated with NYU Medical Center) web site has links to specific body area trauma on the front page, as well as to broader topics, such as nutrition, orthopedics and 'hot topics'.
  • Physiotherapy Global Net - Considering itself a "one-stop shop for PT", this New Zealand site has links to journal abstracts, product information, associations, and education - free membership.
  • Rehab Edge - Sponsored by TX:Team, a rehabilitation company, it is noteworthy for its open forums.
  • SCI-Pilot - Quadraplegics describe their rehab experiences from their own points of view.

Page maintained by Kathleen Turner khturner@drexel.edu Updated 1/8/2010

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon