Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Drexel University Health Sciences Libraries


Hahnemann Library
Center City Campus
1st and 2nd floors, New College Building
245 No. 15th Street

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Queen Lane Library College of Medicine Campus 1st floor
Drexel University
College of Medicine Campus
2900 Queen Lane

For Reference Assistance:

215-762-7184


Health Sciences Libraries Reference Librarians

Ask us a Question!

 

New Items in the Catalog

Medicine

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Nursing

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...
Public Health

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Radiology

  1. Suggested Databases
  2. Electronic Journals
  3. Electronic Texts and Reference Resources
  4. College of Medicine Department of Radiology
  5. Selected Web Resources:
    1. Academic and Professional Associations
    2. Boards
    3. Other Resources
    4. Directories

Suggested Databases

  • MEDLINE — MEDLINE is the premier database of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It contains over 20 million records of journal articles in all areas of the life sciences, with particular emphasis on biomedicine.
  • Primal Pictures Includes Interactive Functional Anatomy and Complete Human Anatomy — both are 3D interactive human models. Enable pop-ups for optimal viewing.
  • Web of Science Provides access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.  The interface allows users to also search the Citation databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, and Social Science Citation Index.

Electronic Journals

Check catalog for print journals; for a comprehensive list, "Radiology Periodicals", "Radiography Periodicals", or "Magnetic Resonance Imaging Periodicals", etc. as a Subject. Also see the alphabetic listings of Electronic Journals.

Get It! Linking is provided from citations in databases such as CINAHL and MEDLINE to the Libraries’ journal collections; look for Get It! button.  Get It! window will display options for obtaining the full-text of an article, including fulltext choices, possible print volumes available in library, or use on Interlibrary Loan services.


Electronic Texts and Reference Resources

Check catalog for electronic and print materials. For a comprehensive list perform a MeSH search for Radiology, Radiography, Magnetic Resonance Imaging, etc.


Selected Web Resources

Academic and Professional Associations

  • Academy of Radiology Research The Academy of Radiology Research is the successor to the Conjoint Committee on Diagnostic Radiology. The mission of the Academy is identification of sources of support for radiology research and the use of that research to improve the knowledge base, educational programs, and patient care activities of radiology.
  • American Association for Women Radiologists The association was founded in 1981 to: provide a forum for issues unique to women in radiology, radiation oncology and related professions; sponsor programs that promote opportunities for women; and facilitate networking among members and other professionals.
  • American College of Radiology The 30,000 members of the American College of Radiology include radiologists, radiation oncologists, medical physicists, interventional radiologists and nuclear medicine physicians. For over three quarters of a century, the ACR has devoted its resources to making imaging safe, effective and accessible to those who need it.
  • American Healthcare Radiology Administrators AHRA is aimed towards leaders in radiology, serving administrators and technologists alike. Members enjoy benefits that include an extensive slate of conferences and seminars, an online database of all AHRA members, mentoring exchange programs, publications, and a ListServ.
  • American Roentgen Ray Society (ARRS) The American Roentgen Ray Society, founded in 1900, is the first and oldest radiology society in the United States. The society has been a forum for progress in radiology since shortly after the discovery of the X-ray and is dedicated to the goal of the advancement of medicine through the science of radiology and its allied sciences.
  • American Society of Emergency Radiology (ASER) The mission of the American Society of Emergency Radiology is to advance the quality of diagnosis and treatment of acutely ill or injured patients by means of medical imaging and to enhance teaching and research in Emergency Radiology.
  • American Society of Head and Neck Radiology (ASHNR) ASHNR was founded to stimulate interest and advance knowledge in the field of Head and Neck Radiology; to foster continuing development of head and neck radiology as an art and a science; to improve methods of teaching radiological diagnosis of disease of the head and neck; to provide meetings for presentation and discussion of papers; and to promote the dissemination of knowledge in head and neck radiology.
  • American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR)The American Society of Neuroradiology (ASNR) is a professional membership society comprised of 3,000 physicians specializing in the field of neuroradiology.
  • American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) The ASRT provides its members with educational opportunities, promotes radiologic technology as a career and monitors state and federal legislation that affects the profession. The Society's Board of Directors, 234-member House of Delegates, volunteer committee members and staff are responsible for establishing standards of practice, educational curricula and entry-level standards for the profession.
  • Association of Educators in Radiological Sciences, Inc (AERS) AERS is one of the largest organizations for radiologic science educators, representing educators from the United States and other countries. AERS supports a wide range of regional faculty excellence seminars (often in collaboration with other organizations), an annual meeting, rapidly growing publishing initiatives, international networking, a series of grant programs (including research awards, proffered papers funds, and international travel-scholarships).
  • Association for University Radiologists (AUR) The Association of University Radiologists consists of over 3,000 staff radiologists, residents, and fellows. The purpose of the Association of University Radiologists is to encourage excellence in radiological laboratory and clinical investigation, teaching and clinical practice; to stimulate an interest in academic radiology as a medical career; to advance radiology as a medical science; and to represent academic radiology at a national level.
  • Clinical Magnetic Resonance Society (CMRS) The purpose of the Clinical Magnetic Resonance Society is to promote and develop the highest standards of clinical excellence in the field of magnetic resonance (MR). Society initiatives focus on education, clinical practice, clinical research, safety and equipment use and development. The Society strives to educate its members utilizing those formats deemed most appropriate. The society supports and assists in the development of experience-based credentialing in clinical magnetic resonance fostering excellence in clinical practice and patient care.
  • Fleischner Society The Fleischner society was founded to stimulate the recognition and development of chest roentgenology as a clinical specialty and foster continuing improvement of chest radiology as an art and science.
  • Health Physics Society The Health Physics Society is a nonprofit scientific professional organization whose mission is to promote the practice of radiation safety.Society activities include encouraging research in radiation science, developing standards, and disseminating radiation safety information. Society members are involved in understanding, evaluating, and controlling the potential risks from radiation relative to the benefits.
  • International Society of Radiology (ISR) The ISR is the world organization of diagnostic radiology. The principal function of the society is to support education efforts for radiologists, physicists, technologists and other radiation workers.
  • North American Society of Cardiac Imaging Established in 1973, the North American Society for Cardiac Imaging is an International non-profit professional association dedicated to the advancement of cardiovascular imaging. Its members are radiologists, cardiologists, medical physicists and others active in the application of imaging methods to the study of the heart and vascular diseases in both the experimental laboratory and clinical settings.
  • Radiological Society of North America The main Web site of the Radiological Society of North America, a nonprofit medical society with more than 33,000 members. It is used by physicians and other health care professionals, journalists, educators, librarians, and others.
  • Society for the Advancement of Women's Imaging (SAWI) The Society for the Advancement of Women's Imaging was founded in 1993 as a forum to promote a sub-specialty within diagnostic radiology devoted to the diagnostics and treatment of diseases and conditions unique to women.
  • Society for Pediatric Radiology The Society for Pediatric Radiology is a professional medical organization interested in advancing pediatric health care through medical imaging and image-related therapy.
  • Society of Breast Imaging An organization created to improve the quality of practice, knowledge, and education concerning breast imaging.
  • Society of Gastrointestinal Radiologists The purpose of The Society of Gastrointestinal Radiologists shall be to furnish leadership and to foster advances in diagnostic, interventional, gastrointestinal and abdominal radiology; to afford a forum for the exchange of knowledge pertaining to research, practice and education in gastrointestinal and abdominal radiology; to stimulate investigation and teaching in the methods of preventing and treating diseases; to enhance the study and practice of gastrointestinal and abdominal radiology.
  • Society of Nuclear Medicine (SNM) The Society of Nuclear Medicine is an international scientific and professional organization founded in 1954 to promote the science, technology and practical application of nuclear medicine. Its 16,000 members are physicians, technologists and scientists specializing in the research and practice of nuclear medicine. In addition to publishing journals, newsletters and books, the Society also sponsors international meetings and workshops designed to increase the competencies of nuclear medicine practitioners and to promote new advances in the science of nuclear medicine.
  • Society of Skeletal Radiology (SSR) The Society of Skeletal Radiology (SSR) is dedicated to the goal of encouraging and supporting the development of expertise in the subspecialty of musculoskeletal radiology. Society of Skeletal Radiology's CME efforts shall be to provide continuing medical education for practicing musculoskeletal radiologists via an annual scientific meeting.
  • Society of Thoracic RadiologyThe Society of Thoracic Radiology was founded to develop an inclusive organization or radiologists interested in and dedicated to cardiopulmonary radiology.

Boards

Other Resources

  • American College of Radiology: Case in Point Provides a daily radiological case study for examination. A rather extensive archive is included along with an electronic delivery service.
  • American College of Radiology: Practice Guidelines & Technical Standards Each practice guideline and technical standard, representing a policy statement by the College, has undergone a thorough consensus process in which it has been subjected to extensive review, requiring the approval of the Commission on Quality and Safety as well as the ACR Board of Chancellors, the ACR Council Steering Committee, and the ACR Council. The practice guidelines and technical standards recognize that the safe and effective use of diagnostic and therapeutic radiology requires specific training, skills, and techniques, as described in each document. Reproduction or modification of the published practice guidelines and technical standards by those entities not providing these services is not authorized. (Scroll down page to find linked categories)
  • ARRS Goldminer This resource provides radiological images from peer reviewed journals.  The "advanced search" feature allows users to filter their results by modality and other useful limits.
  • Atlas of Brain Profusion SPECT This atlas, as part of the BrighamRAD project, is under development by the Decision Systems Group and the Division of Nuclear Medicine at the Department of Radiology, Brigham & Women's Hospital. Most of these cases are presented with relevant case history, clinical information and pertinent SPECT images along with co-registered scans (SPECT merged with CT or MRI). Temporal studies have also been included when indicated.
  • Atlas of Mycardial Perfusion SPECTThis atlas, as part of the BrighamRAD project, is under development by the Decision Systems Group and the Division of Nuclear Medicine at the Department of Radiology, Brigham & Women's Hospital. The teaching cases are presented with relevant clinical information such as case history, imaging/study data, and myocardial perfusion SPECT images. The "findings" section provides annotated images and text explanations of the images. Different options are provided to navigate across various categories and within individual cases.
  • Aunt Minnie - Radiology News AuntMinnie.com provides a comprehensive community Internet site for radiologists and related professionals in the medical imaging industry featuring the latest news and information about medical imaging. It includes a forum for radiologists, business managers, technologists, members of organized medicine, and industry to meet, transact, research, and collaborate on topics within the field of radiology.
  • Basics of MRI - An Online Textbook An online MRI textbook by Joseph P. Hornak, Ph.D. a Professor of Chemistry and Imaging Science at the Rochester Institute of Technology.
  • CHORUS: Collaborative Hypertext of Radiology CHORUS is a "quick reference" hypertext for physicians and medical students. It was developed using a "peer review" process that allowed Web-based submission and anonymous review of documents.
  • LearningRadiology.com A site containing PowerPoint lectures, handouts, images, and flashcards in the areas of chest, GI, cardiac, GU, neuro, and bone radiology.
  • Nuclear Medicine Imaging and Functional Studies of the Gastrointestinal System This work has been designed as a student-centered learning opportunity to provide guidance in learning the required knowledge and skills related to Nuclear Medicine studies of the gastrointestinal system.
  • Whole Brain Atlas A brain atlas by Keith A. Johnson and J. Alex Becker of Harvard University

Directories

Page maintained by Gary M. Childs, MS

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon