Suggested Databases
- CINAHL (1982 - present) Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature: indexes books, journals and dissertations in nursing, physical therapy, medical technology and allied health areas.
- MEDLINE (1950 - present) Includes Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, & Index to Dental Literature. Covers over 3500 journals in medicine, clinical science and allied health. Includes Health Sciences Libraries journal holdings information and links to full-text articles available through Journals@OVID.
- HealthSTAR (1975 - January 2002; contents included in Medline after this date) contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration and research. In addition to journal article citations and abstracts, HealthSTAR includes citations to meeting abstracts, technical reports and monographs.
- PsycINFO (1806 - present) Covers books, dissertations and journals in the psychological and behavioral sciences, including the creative arts therapies. Uses the OVID interface and the Thesaurus of Psychological Indexing Terms.
Electronic Texts and Reference Resources
- Comprehensive Gynecology, (Katz) 5th ed. (MD Consult)
- Current Obstetric & Gynecologic Diagnosis and Treatment, 10th ed. (AccessMedicine)
- Danforth's Obstetrics and Gynecology, 9th ed. (OVID)
- Obstetrics - Normal and Problem Pregnancies, (Gabbe) 5th ed. (MD Consult)
- The Breast: comprehensive management of benign and malignant disorders, 3rd ed. (MD Consult)
- Williams Gynecology. (AccessMedicine)
- Williams Obstetrics, 22nd ed. (Stat!Ref)
- Women's Health and Mortality Chartbook
Selected Web Resources
Instructional Resources
- Apgar Scoring for Newborns - Explanation of, and table for, the Apgar score.
- Basic Embryology Review Program - Presents human embryology in illustrative form.
- Benign Breast Disease and Breast Cancer Tutorial - Provides information on breast anatomy, physiology, examination, and pathology.
- Colposcopy Atlas - An atlas to assist beginning colposcopists in understanding and performing the procedure.
- Cultural Competency in Women's Health - Consists of training sessions to teach faculty about providing culturally competent care for minority and underserved women.
- Med Links: Obstetrics and Gynecology - A selection of Ob-Gyn cases on selected topics.
- Obstetric Ultrasound: A Comprehensive Guide, by Joseph Woo - Presents basic information concerning the use of ultrasound in obstetrics. Includes section of FAQs.
- Oncolink: Breast Cancer Section - From the University of Pennsylvania, this resource contains a great deal of information about all aspects of breast cancer.
- Oncolink: Gynecologic Cancer Section - Another section of Penn's Oncolink, this presents a wealth of information about specific gynecologic cancers, including drugs and treatments, screening and prevention, etc.
- Placental Pathology Index - Courtesy of WebPath, University of Utah, this resource presents 52 placental pathology images.
- Visible Embryo - Teaches the first four weeks of human development, from fertilization to somite development.
Academic and Professional Associations
- American Association of Gynecologic Laparoscopists (AAGL) - Presents information about the Association's events, meetings, etc.
- American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology - Founded in 1927, the Board is the third oldest specialty board in the U.S. Information about the Board, FAQ, and schedules of events of the Board (exams, deadlines, etc.) are available here.
- American College of Nurse-Midwives - Founded in 1955, the ACNM provides for research, accredits nurse-midwifery education programs, administers and promotes continuing education programs, establishes clinical practice standards, and creates liaisons with government agencies and the U.S. Congress.
- American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) - The College is the leading group of professionals providing health care for women, with membership of over 46,000 ob/gyns. Its primary aim is to maintain the best standards of health care for women.
- American Medical Women's Association (AMWA) - Contains information about this organization of over thirteen thousand women physicians and medical students, dedicated to the care of women patients. Includes information about the organization and its projects.
- American Society for Reproductive Medicine - Established in 1944, this Society is devoted to advancing knowledge and expertise in medicine and biology. Contains information about the Society and about reproductive medicine.
- ARHP: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals - In existence since 1963, this Association is an interdisciplinary medical professional association composed of obstetrician/gynecologists and other physicians, advanced practice clinicians, researchers, educators and other professionals in reproductive health.
- Center for Reproductive Rights - "The Center for Reproductive Rights uses the law to advance reproductive freedom as a fundamental human right that all governments are legally obligated to protect, respect, and fulfill."
- Endometriosis Association - Conveys information about endometriosis, from etiology to therapy, as well as information about this self-help organization of women with endometriosis and others interested in exchanging information about endometriosis.
- Global Fund for Women - Consists of information about the GFW, a non-profit international grantmaking organization which was established in 1987.
- Hygeia Foundation and Institute for Perinatal Loss and Bereavement - Among other functions, provides an exchange of stories and thoughts among those who have experienced grieving due to a failed pregnancy, fetal demise, stillborn infant, perinatal, neonatal and early childhood loss, genetic abnormality leading to pregnancy termination, etc.
- International Planned Parenthood Federation - The site of this organization, a pioneer in providing reproductive health and family planning services, contains a wide variety of information about reproductive issues. I
- International Society for Gynecologic Endoscopy - The home page of this Society, including educational information about gynecologic endoscopy.
- International Society of Psychosomatic Obstetrics and Gynecology - Presents information about this Society, which publishes the Journal of Psychosomatic Obstetrics and Gynecology.
- La Leche League - Contains information about the League, which is dedicated to providing education, information, support and encouragement to women who want to breastfeed.
- Mesothelioma Center - The website of this organization which is committed to providing up-to-date information about the dangers of asbestos exposure; statistics show that women are approximately 50% more likely to develop mesothelioma than men when exposed to asbestos.
- National Breast Cancer Coalition - Provides information about this group, a grassroots advocacy effort in the fight against breast cancer.
- National Osteoporosis Foundation - The site of the NOF is a leading resource for information on the causes, prevention, detection and treatment of osteoporosis.
- North American Menopause Society - A link to this group, providing information about menopause, as well as about the Society's publications, FAQs, etc.
- Planned Parenthood Southeastern Pennsylvania - Presents information about the organization as well as links to other sources of information about reproductive health.
- Resolve - Provides information about this national organization and its services, dedicated to assistance in resolving fertility issues.
- Society for Women's Health Research - The Society's aim is to improve the health of all women through research, education and advocacy; it is especially interested in the study of sex differences between men and women that affect the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of disease.
- Society of Gynecologic Oncologists - The website of this organization, which is composed of obstetricians and gynecologists specializing in gynecologic oncology.
- VP (Vulvar Pain) Foundation - The website of this foundation, established in 1992 as a non-profit organization to provide information to sufferers, advance the standard of medical practice in treating vulvar pain and promote research.
Other Resources
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Women's Health Highlights - From the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ), a report on research projects concerning conditions especially important to women.
- American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists Medical Guidelines for Clinical Practice for the Prevention and Management of Postmenopausal Osteoporosis - Contains guidelines developed by the American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists.
- American Cancer Society's Cancer Reference Information: Breast Cancer - A helpful resource for breast cancer patients, it includes an overview of breast cancer, a treatment decision tool and news.
- American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists Vaginal Birth After Cesarean Guidelines - Presents the guidelines for VBAC.
- BreastCancer.net - Offers news on breast cancer treatment and research, and links to articles.
- CalciumInfo.com - From GlaxoSmithKline, this site is intended for consumers and professionals and presents information about calcium; included is a "calcium calculator."
- Canadian Women's Health Network - From a network of individuals, groups, organizations and institutions concerned with women's health, health information and advocacy resources.
- Care of Women in U.S. Hospitals, 2000 - From the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), a Fact Book that answers questions about hospital care for women.
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Women's Health - Presents information on an array of topics relating to women's health.
- Cesarean Section Homepage - Contains information about cesarean sections, VBAC, etc.
- Childbirth.Org - Contains a wide variety of information, much of it appropriate for a general audience.
- Doctor's Guide: Menopause - A guide to menopause-related information and resources likely to be of interest to medical professionals and/or patients.
- Estronaut: A Forum for Women's Health - Information about current issues in women's health.
- E-WomensHealth.net - A great deal of information about women's health topics, including gynecologic anatomy/physiology, hormones, breast issues, uterine problems, etc.
- Femina - A comprehensive WWW directory and information resource of information exclusively for and about women and girls online. A searchable index of political, social, literary, cultural and health items of interest to women.
- Free Publications for Women and Their Families - From the U.S. Food and Drug Administrations's Office of Women's Health, this website provides links to fact sheets, brochures and guides about women's health topics.
- Group B Streptococcal Disease (GBS) - Presents information from the CDC relative to GBS and pregnant women, and newborns.
- Health Care for Minority Women - From the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality (AHRQ), a report on minority women in terms of health status, rates of disability, mortality, etc
- Infertility Resources for Consumers - Offers information at IVF, infertility clinics, donor egg and surrocacy services, etc.
- InteliHealth: Women's Health - Provides health information and commentaries, featuring input from Harvard Medical School.
- InterNational Council on Infertility Information Dissemination - (INCIID) Presents news, articles and information on infertility.
- Maternal Child Health Statistics - A section of "Public Health Data I-Z," that provides links to statistical materials on women's health.
- Mayo Clinic: Pregnancy Week by Week - From the Mayo Clinic, a presentation of pregnancy week by week, plus additional information about healthy pregnancy.
- MedlinePlus: Women's Health - The National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health provide news and information about prevention/screening, treatment, clinical trials, etc. in the field of women's health.
- Medscape: Ob/Gyn and Women's Health - Contains continually updated content from medical journals, with emphasis on news.
- Merck Manuals: Women's Health Issues - Extensive coverage of women's health issues.
- Minority Women's Health - From the National Women's Health Information Center, coverage of women's health problems of minority women- including African American, Hispanic American/Latina, Asian American/Pacific Islander and Native Hawaiian,and American Indian/Alaska native.
- NIH Osteoporosis and Related Bone Diseases-National Research Center - An NIH-sponsored site that provides information about osteoporosis and related diseases.
- National Cervical Cancer Coalition (NCCC) - Offers information for patients, health professionals and caregivers.
- National Human Genome Research Institute: Learning About Breast Cancer - Presents Information about heredity and breast cancer.
- National Ovarian Cancer Coalition (NOCC) - Offers information for patients, health professionals and caregivers.
- National Report Card on Women's Health - From the National Women's Law Center, this report assesses the overall health of women at the national and state level.
- National Women's Health Resource Center: healthywomen.org - A multi-featured site with numerous women's health resources.
- OBGYN.net - Offers information for medical professionals, women and the "medical industry."
- Office on Women's Health: Quick Data Online - Previously known as the National Women's Health Indicators Database (NWHID), Quick Data Online provides state- and county-level data for all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories and possessions.
- Online Birth Center - Contains midwifery, pregnancy, birth and breastfeeding information.
- Osteoporosis and Related Bone Diseases~National Resource Center - An NIH-sponsored site which provides information about osteoporosis.
- Physical Activity and Health: A Report of the Surgeon General - Includes information about women and exercise.
- WebMD Health: Women Health - Contains articles and information about women's health.
- Women's Cancers - Information presented by the National Cancer Institute about treatment, prevention, genetics, screening, clinical trials, literature, research and statistics for cancers that occur mainly in women, as well as other cancers.
- Women's Health Australia - Reports on a longitudinal study, begun in 1996, of a cohort of women over a 20 year period.
- Women's Health Datasets on the Web - Consists of links to publicly available data concerning women's health; from the Population Research Institute, Penn State University.
- Women's Health Initiative (WHI) - Presents information resulting from a fifteen-year study of postmenopausal women, specifically addressing causes of death, disability and frailty.
- Women's Healthcare Forum - For the patient, offers materials on breast cancer causes, diagnosis, and treatment.
- womenshealth.gov - The federal government's source for women's health information on the web, containing materials on numerous health topics as well as health tools; from the National Women's Health Information Center.
Directories
- Canadian Women's Health Network: Health Topics
- Galaxy: Obstetrics and Gynecology
- Maternal & Child Health Resources on the Internet
- Martindale's The "Virtual" Medical Center: Obstetrics, Pediatrics & Gynecology
- National Women's Health Resouce Center: Healthy Women
- OBGYN.net Clinical Collection: Endocrinology and Infertility
- OBGYN.net Clinical Collection: Gynecologic Oncology
- OBGYN.net Clinical Collection: Operative Gynecology
- Web Sites for Women's Health
- Women's Health: General Resources
- Women's Health Resources On-Line
- WSSLinks: Women's Health
- WWWomen
- Yahoo: Women's Health
Content Editor: Linda Katz
Last Updated: 10/31/2012








