- Getting Started
- Using Databases to find Book Reviews
- Using Print Resources to find Book Reviews
- Using Web Resources to find Book Reviews
This guide will help you find book reviews for works in the humanities and social sciences. Things that will be helpful to know: the author's name, the title of the book, the year the book was first published, and the general subject matter of the book. Not all books will have a book review, especially a full-length review. Contact Larry Milliken if you cannot find a review for your book using the resources listed here.
- Lexis-Nexis Academic — ELECTRONIC
Searchable full text database of international, national, state, and local newpapers. Coverage goes back only to the early 1980s in most cases.Search for book reviews appearing in a number of international news sources. From the opening screen, choose the “Guided News Search” tab. For Step One: Select a news category, choose “Arts & Sports News” from the drop-down menu. For Step Two: Select a news source, choose “Book, movie, music and play reviews” from the drop-down menu. Adjust the dates in Step Four to focus on the year your work was published.
- America: History and Life — ELECTRONIC
Historical coverage of the United States, Canada, and Mexico from prehistory to the present; covers articles written from 1964-present. Search can be limited by the chronological range of the events discussed instead of just by the publication date of the book or article.
Covers books reviewed in both English and foreign languages relating to U.S. and Canadian history and culture, from 1964 to the present. You can choose to limit your search to “Book Reviews” on the search screen. Search for the book title and/or author’s name.
- Book Review Index Online -- ELECTRONIC
A comprehensive guide to book reviews that includes more than 5 million review citations from thousands of publications. Contains the entire backfile of the Book Review Index print content from 1965 to present, and includes reviews of popular, academic, and professional works. Database allows for only one user at a time.
- Academic Onefile -- ELECTRONIC
Covers journals from a wide range of disciplines, from 1986 to the present. Put "book review" into the first search box, and add keywords from your author's name and/or book title to the other search box(es).
- JSTOR — ELECTRONIC
Searchable full text collection of journal articles on various subjects, including over thirty history journals.JSTOR contains full text of journals from a variety of disciplines in the humanities and social sciences. Click on “Search” from the main page, then select the “Advanced Search” interface. From the “These Types:” option, choose the limit for “Reviews.” You can now do keyword searching for the book title and the author’s last name.
- ProQuest Research Library -- ELECTRONIC Covers journals from a wide range of disciplines, from the 1970s to the present. In the "Document type" list hit "Clear all" and then check the box next to "book review". Add your author's name and/or keywords from the book title to the other search boxes to focus your search.
- New York Times (Historical) (1851-2003)– ELECTRONIC
Complete full text of the New York Times back issues now available online! Search by topic or browse through an issue. Full page images available, along with the ability to look at a particular issue page by page. Print out or e-mail individual article “clippings.”
- Book Review Digest (1905-2000) -- PRINT
Ref Z 1219 .C96 This digest provides citations to reviews for books published in the United States and Canada. It provides excerpts from reviews of current fiction and non-fiction in the English language.
- Essay and General Literature Index (1900- 1999) -- PRINT
Offsite Storage AI 3 E752 This index covers writings in the humanities and social sciences. To see if there are reviews for your book, look up your author by name. The listing will include criticism and reviews of specific works under the subdivision "about individual works." This collection can be requested using the catalog, just request the year that interests you.
- Bookwire Reviews -- WWW
The Bookwire website provides a gateway to publishers' homepages, book statistics, and other publishing information. The Bookwire Reviews section includes full text of reviews of recently published works.
- Book Review Sources: Penn Library Research Guide -- WWW
A selective bibliography of print and electronic sources which provide citations to book reviews in the social sciences and humanities. Note: This is University of Pennsylvania specific; you will not be able to use links to their electronic databases. Check the Drexel Libraries website for Drexel access to these resources.
- Bookreporter -- WWW
Find reviews of current book releases by clicking on the "Reviews" link in the white toolbar. The site also contains information about authors, book clubs, and many other features.
- H-Net Reviews -- WWW
An online scholarly review journal in the humanities and social sciences. Search box allows for keyword/topic searching.
- New York Times Book Review Section -- WWW
High quality source of book and literature information. Book reviews from 1981 on are searchable through search box on the right.
Content Editor: Larry Milliken
Last Updated: 10/31/2012