- Facts and Background Materials
- Finding Newspaper Articles
- Finding Books
- Selected Web Resources
- Finding Journal Articles
Facts and Background Materials
Biography Resource Center -- ELECTRONIC Thousands of biographies of prominent and noteworthy people from around the world. Includes a number of people involved in the Vietnam War.
Columbia Chronologies of Asian History and Culture -- PRINT REF DS33.C63 2000 Chronologies of Asian countries, from pre-history to the 20th century. Includes entries for Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam.
Dictionary of the Vietnam War -- PRINT REF DS557.7.D53 1988 Definitions of terms and identification of people associated with the Vietnam War. A number of useful appendices include definitions of acronyms and slang terms, a chronology of the war, and a bibliography of additonal information sources.
Encyclopedia of Asian History -- PRINT REF DS31.E53 1988 4 volumes. Short entries on topics related to Asian history, including Vietnam. Historical
Dictionary of Vietnam -- PRINT REF DS556.25.D85 1998 Covers the entire history of Vietnam. Contains definitions and an extensive bibliography on a wide range of Vietnam topics.
Vietnam War -- PRINT REF DS557.7.H556 2001 4 volumes. Volumes 1 and 2 contain biographies; Volume 3 is an Almanac; and Volume 4 contains primary documents. Has cummulative index.
Vietnam War Films: Over 600 Feature, Made-For-TV, Pilot, and Short Movies, 1939-1992, from the United States, Vietnam, France, Belgium, Australia, Hong Kong, South Africa, Great Britain, and Other Countries -- PRINT REF DS557.73.V53 1994
World Conflicts -- PRINT REF D842.B69 1998 Individual chapters give history and overview of various conflicts from around the world. Includes chapters on Cambodia and Vietnam.
Finding Books
Searching the catalog for books on the Vietnam War: Try a subject search: Vietnam War 1961-1975 Cambodia Laos Try a keyword search: tet offensive vietnam and protest
Finding Journal Articles
America: History and Life -- ELECTRONIC Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes material on the Vietnam War.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) -- ELECTRONIC Comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs; includes material on Viietnam and the Vietnam War. Provides access to working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences, from 1991 to the present.
Academic Onefile -- ELECTRONIC Multidisciplinary database covering a wide variety of disciplines. Includes material on Vietnam and the Vietnam War.
Historical Abstracts -- ELECTRONIC Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Includes materials on Vietnam and the Vietnam War.
JSTOR -- ELECTRONIC This full text journal archive includes a number of history and political science journals, all searchable using keywords. Includes material related to the Vietnam War.
Project Muse -- ELECTRONIC Includes material related to the Vietnam War. This collection of online journals includes a number of history and political science titles. Includes material related to the Vietnam War.
ProQuest Reference Library -- ELECTRONIC Multidisciplinary database covering over 4,000 periodicals from 1971 to the present. Includes materials on Vietnam and the Vietnam War.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts -- ELECTRONIC Coverage of law and political science journals, from 1975 to the present. Includes materials on Vietnam and the Vietnam War.
Finding Newspaper Articles
Full Text coverage of the New York Times from 1851 - 2003, including original images.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post (1877-1995). This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. For more recent Washington Post articles, see LexisNexis Academic coverage (1977 - Present)
Free Library of Philadelphia - Central Branch 1901 Vine Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (between 19th and 20th on the B. Franklin Parkway) 215-686-5322 Houses an excellent collection of historical newspapers on microfilm.
Selected Web Resources
This list includes only a small fraction of useful web resources for this field. More web sites, which have undergone the same selection process, as available in my Pinboard tags on the right-hand side of this research guide.
The American Experience: Vietnam Online -- WWW This site contains the transcripts of the popular PBS television series "Vietnam: A Television History." Additional information includes a timeline, a "who's who," and a reference section with a bibliography, maps, and selected primary source material.
Avalon Project -- Indochina: Vietnam, Cambodia, and Laos -- WWW The Avalon Project is sponsored by the Yale University Law School and contains full text of primary source documents for many historical eras. This link takes you directly to a sub-set of the database, containing documents from 1950-1964 related directly to the Vietnam War and other conflicts in the area.
Re: Vietnam -- Stories Since the War -- WWW From the popular PBS Point of View (P.O.V.) series, Re: Vietnam is a gathering place for personal stories and a forum for dialogues about Vietnam's legacy in our lives. Stories can be found in two places: The Stories page contains excerpts of selected stories and is changed regularly. Previous Stories pages are linked to the current Stories page. Searchable archives contain the full text of everything on the Stories page, as well as everything submitted online.
The Vietnam War -- WWW Despite its pedestrian title, this is one of the most beautiful and interesting Vietnam War sites, from the standpoint of visual imagery. Put together by webmaster Peter Leuhusen, the site contains a compelling series of images from combat photographer, Tim Page. Remember: all images on this site are under copyright.
The Vietnam War Declassification Project -- WWW A selection of declassified National Security Adviser files dealing with Vietnam, from the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Library.
Vietnamwar.net -- WWW "Educational, Entertainment, and Research Material Relevant to the Study of the Vietnam War." Includes resources on Vietnam-related fiction, women and African Americans in the war, the anti-war movement, and even humor.
The Wars for Viet Nam: 1945 to 1975 -- WWW This excellent site was developed for Prof. Robert Brigham's senior seminar on the Vietnam War at Vassar College. It includes an overview, with numerous links; links to primary documents; and links to other sites of interest.
Content Editor: Larry Milliken
Last Updated: 10/31/2012










