- Facts and Background Materials
- Finding Books
- Finding Articles
- Criticism Guides
- Finding Reviews
- Selected Web Resources
- Biography Resource Center -- ELECTRONIC Hundreds of biographies of historical and literary figures from around the world. Search by name or use the "Biographical Facts Search" to browse by nationality, ethnicity, gender, occupation, etc.
- Columbia Granger's World of Poetry -- ELECTRONIC Contains 250,000 poems in full text and 450,000 citations. The poems in full text are largely in English, though Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Polish, Yiddish, Welsh, Gaelic, and other Celtic languages are also represented, as well as poems in the ancient languages: Anglo-Saxon, Provencal and Latin. Scholars in each of these languages have reviewed and guided the selection of poems. Complete coverage provided of the works of several individual great poets, including the complete poems of Shelley, Blake, Burns, Keats, Marvell, Poe, Unamuno, Heine, Baudelaire, and other major poets. In addition users will find a wealth of current poetry from some of the best poetry periodicals, such as Poetry Magazine, The Southern Review, and Poetry Northwest.
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans 1639-1800 - ELECTRONIC
An important collection of primary source documents that includes the books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans. Full-text searchable and also browsable by document type, printer, and even bookseller. Useful for early American history, literature, political science, and the history of printing. A seven minute tutorial can be found on youtube here. Often refered to as the Evans Collection.
- Encyclopedia Britannica -- ELECTRONIC The world's premiere encyclopedia is at your fingertips online! Contains tens of thousands of high quality articles providing useful background information about authors, literary movements, and schools of criticism.
- Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism -- Electronic Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
- Literature Online (LION) -- ELECTRONIC Includes biographies of major authors writing in English, as well as a number of searchable reference tools. Search by the author's last name after clicking the "Authors" button. You can also search for authors from specific time periods or literary movements. Or choose "Criticism and Reference" then click the link for "Reference." Please note that this database can only be accessed by four users at a time.
- Literature Resource Center -- ELECTRONIC Provides biographical information and work overviews for more than 120,000 novelists, poets, playwrights, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
- Oxford Reference Online -- ELECTRONIC Provides online access to hundreds of dictionaries, handbooks, and other reference materials. Search the entire database, narrow your search by subject category, or explore individual reference tools. There is a special category for Literature reference, as well as a section on quotations.
- Try an LC subject search: modernism surrealism Woolf, Virginia
- Try an author search: Blake, William Walker, Alice Woolf, Virginia Remember, if you want books by an author, do an "author" search; if you want books about an author, do a "subject" search!
- Try a keyword search: literature and gender fiction and war
- Browse the 2nd floor stacks: Literature (General) -- PN English Literature -- PR American Literature -- PS
- Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies — ELECTRONIC
Combined searching of the most important indexes for Medieval Studies research, the International Medieval Bibliography, Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, and International Directory of Medievalists. Brepolis is a comprehensive index for Medieval Studies. The online database comprises over 300,000 records. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 400-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
- Contains two Gale Literary Criticism collections Contemporary Literary Criticism Online [CLC] and Short Story Criticism Online [SSC]. CLC is a massive collection of published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers now living or who died after December 31, 1959. Each entry contains a biographical essay that discusses the author's life, works, and critical importance critical essays or excerpts taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers, and scholarly journals and, where available, interviews with featured authors. Entries also provide suggestions for further reading. SSC profiles approimately three to six writers of short fiction from all time periods and all parts of the world in each volume. Each online collection includes the full content of more than 200+ print volumes of the series.
- Essay and General Literature Index -- PRINT REF AI3.E752 Covers writings in the humanities and social sciences from 1900-1999. Listings for authors will include criticism of specific works under the subdivision "about individual works."
- JSTOR -- ELECTRONIC Searchable full-text archives of journal articles on various topics. Includes over sixty journals on language and literature
- Literature Online (LION) -- ELECTRONIC Search by the name of an author, the name of a particular work, and/or by topical keywords. Includes indexing and some full text for over 200 literary journals. Please note that this database can only be accessed by four users at a time.
- Literature Resource Center -- ELECTRONIC Search by author name. Find lists of articles in the "Further Readings" section of biography and criticism entries, and find full text articles in "Critical Essays" section of criticism entries. Also, click on the tab called "Literary Criticism, Articles, and Work Overviews" for additional full text articles.
- MLA Bibliography -- ELECTRONIC The top resource for finding articles on literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics, including foreign languages. Covers articles printed from 1925-present.
- Project MUSE — ELECTRONIC
Multidisciplinary, full text, collection of scholarly journals with heavy coverage in the humanities and social sciences. MUSE now includes books from major university presses in selected fields which, at Drexel, includes Anthropology, History, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science and Policy. The books are in chapter-level PDF files with no DRM.
- Black Literature Criticism -- PRINT REF PS153.N5.B556 1992 -- 3 vols. Provides excerpts from criticism of the most significant works of Black authors over the past 200 years. International in scope.
- Gale Research Sets -- Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism -- PRINT REF PN 610 C53x Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism -- PRINT REF PN761 N5 Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism -- PRINT REF PN94 T83x Full text excerpts from criticism of the works of major and minor authors. Some of this information is found online in Literature Resource Center (see above), but for some authors these resources may be the "sole source" of critical information. The index to these volumes is with each set. The Contemporary Literary Criticism and Short Story Criticism sets are available online (see Literature Criticism Online, above)
- Magill Critical Surveys -- Critical Survey of Drama: English Language Series -- PRINT REF PR623.C75 1985 -- 6 vols. Critical Survey of Drama: Foreign Language Series -- PRINT REF PN1625.C74 1986 -- 6 vols. Critical Survey of Long Fiction: English Language Series -- PRINT REF PR821.C7 1983-- 8 vols. Critical Survey of Long Fiction: Foreign Language Series -- PRINT REF PN3451.C7 1984 -- 5 vols. Critical Survey of Poetry: English Language Series -- PRINT REF PR502.C85 1992 -- 8 vols. Critical Survey of Poetry: Foreign Language Series -- PRINT REF PN41.C7 1984 -- 5 vols. Critical Survey of Short Fiction -- PRINT REF PN3321.C7 1993 -- 7 vols. Each set contains multiple volumes of essays on major writers and their works. The last volume in each set has critical essays covering literature of specific time periods, geographical locations, or other specializations.
- Academic Universe (LexisNexis Academic) -- ELECTRONIC Search for book, movie, music or theatre reviews appearing in a number of international news sources. From the opening screen, choose the "Guided News Search" tab. For Step One: Select a news category, choose "Arts & Sports News" from the drop-down menu. For Step Two: Select a news source, choose "Book, movie, music and play reviews" from the drop-down menu. Adjust the dates in Step Four to focus on the year your work was published or performed.
- Book Review Research Guide -- WWW Hagerty Library's Subject Guide devoted to book review materials.
- CurtainUp -- WWW Reviews of currently running plays in New York, London, Philadelphia, and elsewhere. Site can be searched for past reviews as well.
- New York Theatre Critics' Reviews -- PRINT REF PN2000.N76 Full text reproductions of reviews of theatre performances published in the New York Times, the New York Post, and other New York newspapers and news sources. Coverage from 1967-1992.
This list includes only a small fraction of useful web resources for this field. More web sites, which have undergone the same selection process, are available in my Pinboard tags on the right-hand side of this research guide.
- Internet Public Library (IPL) Literature page -- WWW Resource hosted by the iSchool at Drexel University. Literature page includes information on authors, literary time periods, online texts, and more.
- Literary Resources on the Net -- WWW Maintained by Jack Lynch, professor of English at Rutgers University-Newark. High quality web links for information of use to scholars, primarily on English and American literature. Note: some links may now be out-of-date.
- Voice of the Shuttle -- WWW Maintained by Alan Liu, professor of English at University of California-Santa Barbara and a team of volunteers. Covers the humanities broadly, including literature and literary theory. Highly regarded, but links are sometimes in need of updating.
Content Editor: Larry Milliken
Last Updated: 04/04/2013