- Facts and Background Information
- Finding Books
- Finding Articles
- Biographical Information
- Selected Web Resources
- Blackwell Companion to Philosophy -- PRINT Extensive overviews of topics in philosophy. This reference work is divided into two sections: first covers areas of philosophy such as philosophy of biology, philosophy of law, and or subject areas; applied ethics, environmental ethics, feminism, etc. second part deals with history of philosophy, covering time periods of ancient Greece and Medieval philosophy, and major figures from Plato to Derrida.
- Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy -- PRINT, ELECTRONIC Over four thousand entries on major figures and concepts in philosophy; international in scope.
- Companion Encyclopedia of Asian Philosophy -- PRINT Coverage of various forms of eastern philosophy, including Chinese, Japanese, and Islamic.
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy -- PRINT 8 vols. plus supplement. Extensive coverage of philosophical topics.
- Oxford Companion to Philosophy -- PRINT, ELECTRONIC Over two thousand brief entries dealing with concepts and major figures in philosophy.
- Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy -- PRINT, ELECTRONIC Over three thousand entries on terms and concepts in philosophy.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy -- PRINT, ELECTRONIC Over two thousand in-depth articles on topics of interest to philosophers and philosophy students. Online version has new articles added regularly.
- Searching catalog for books on philosophy:
- Try a keyword search: Ethics and engineering Philosophy and race
- Try an LC subject search: Hermeneutics Phenomenology
- Browse 2nd floor stacks: B -- Philosophy, general BC -- Logic BD -- Speculative philosophy BJ -- Ethics
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index -- ELECTRONIC Part of ISI's Web of Science product, provides abstracting and indexing of journal literature of arts and humanities, including philosophy.
- Brepolis Medieval Bibliographies — ELECTRONIC
Combined searching of the most important indexes for Medieval Studies research, the International Medieval Bibliography, Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, and International Directory of Medievalists. Brepolis is a comprehensive index for Medieval Studies. The online database comprises over 300,000 records. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 400-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.
- JSTOR -- ELECTRONIC Contains searchable full text back issues of 25 philosophy journals. Use "Advanced" search option and check box for "Philosophy" for most focused results.
- Philosopher's Index -- ELECTRONIC Provides indexing and abstracts from philosophy books and journals, containing over 213,000 bibliographic citations with author abstracts. Limited to four concurrent users.
- Project MUSE — ELECTRONIC
Multidisciplinary, full text, collection of scholarly journals with heavy coverage in the humanities and social sciences. MUSE now includes books from major university presses in selected fields which, at Drexel, includes Anthropology, History, Literature, Philosophy, Political Science and Policy. The books are in chapter-level PDF files with no DRM.
- Noesis: Philosophical Research Online -- WWW Created by a professor of philosophy at University of Evanstown, this free, web-based search engine uses Google custom search technology to provide "a limited area search filter for open access, academic philosophy on Internet."
- Biography Resource Center -- ELECTRONIC Hundreds of biographies of prominent figures from around world. Search by name or use "Biographical Facts Search" to look for "philosopher" as an occupation.
- Fifty Eastern Thinkers -- ELECTRONIC Much of study of philosophy in United States naturally focuses on western philosophic traditions. This book serves as a good overview of major thinkers in Eastern philosophic traditions, including Islamic, Chinese, Japanese, and Indian.
- One Hundred Twentieth-Century Philosophers -- PRINT, ELECTRONIC Each entry provides brief biographical information, a list of major works by philosopher, a list of citations to secondary articles about philosopher, and a short scholarly overview of philosopher's work.
This list includes only a small fraction of useful web resources for this field. More web sites, which have undergone same selection process, are available in my Pinboard tags on right-hand side of this research guide.
- EpistemeLinks -- WWW Comprehensive resource for philosophy on internet, providing thousands of links categorized by philosopher, topic, and resource type.
- Intute: Arts and Humanities: Philosophy -- WWW This British-based resource provides acts as a gateway providing links to high-quality subject-specialist selected resources related to philosophy.
- Philosophy on EServer -- WWW This page provides links to full text of canonical philosophic works and links to scholarly philosophic organizations, as well as a small number of critical articles and some philosophic humor.
- Philosophy Now -- WWW Bi-monthly, non-academic publication with news, articles, and columns aimed at those with an interest in philosophy. Site features selected full-text articles from current issue as well as archived materials.
Content Editor: Larry Milliken
Last Updated: 10/31/2012