Drexel Library Libraries Home Button Drexel Health Sciences Search Services Get Help About

Chat requires JavaScript.

Author Info

Tim Siftar

Tim Siftar
Librarian for Information Sci & Tech, School of Education, and Goodwin College
Hours M-F: 9am-5pm
Hagerty Library, Room 134
siftar@drexel.edu
215-895-2762

 

New Items in the Catalog

Information Science & Education

Please wait, loading
Loading new items...

Information Systems and Technology

  1. Technical (usually books)
  2. Tactical (usually articles)
  3. Strategic (advisory reports, etc)
  4. Academic (journals, proceedings & theses)
  5. Background (encyclopedias & handbooks

Technical (usually involves finding books)

  • OVERVIEW: The “how to” material is most often found in books or technical manuals. These tend to be a comprehensive treatment on a single systems or hardware subject. Drexel Libraries has a limited number of hard copy manuals, but loads more electronic IT-related books. Both hard copy and electronic books have individual records in our main library book catalog. Drexel gets e-books from several different vendors, each with its own platform. You can find links to these vendors below or from our list of databases. Entering the vendor platform lets you search the FULL TEXT of hundreds of their books. In the case of the vendor Safari Tech books, this includes publishers such as O’Reilly, Que, Microsoft, etc.  In addition to good technical books, there are lots of good websites that cover coding and hardware topics. But I trust you can find those on your own.
  • Try a keyword search:
  • information systems    AND java
  • Try a subject search:
  • Information Science -- Moral And Ethical Aspects
  • OR search across the full contents  of our three main info tech e-book databases:
  • Safari Tech Books  Books 24x7 IGI's InfoSci Books

Tactical ... (usually articles or reports)

    OVERVIEW: Technical managers guide a departments composed of a variety of front-line technology specialists. This manager must make day to day decisions as well as longer term recommendations to senior executive staff to guide business decisions in light of external factors, such as new disruptive technologies. This manager must keep up to date on tech trends and their implications at a conceptual level, and only occasionally deal with implementation level detail if at all. Technical managers rely on industry analysts and technology industry news about trends and new products, as well as the management literature found in the business press.
  • Summon -- ELECTRONIC A resource discover layer which allows users to search most of Drexel's subscribed resources at the same time. Seriously! Narrow your search results using the menus on the left hand side of the screen - primarily the "Subject Terms/more" option, choosing just a few of the most relevant indexing terms that appear.
  • best star
  • Faulkners Advisory for IT Studies --ELECTRONIC Short, basic overviews covering fundamental aspects of information technologies, the companies behind them and current topics in the industry. Offers nine report types such as "standards" and "selection guide" to support applied IT research and decision-making. Best basic definitions for newcomers or managers needing quick overview.
  • Faulkner
  • BACKGROUND: What are IT Advisory Firms? Independent IT advisory firms have analysts and consultants tracking IT product areas, technology frontiers and industry verticals. Most firms consult for clients as well as make analysts available for phone interviews.   TRIVIA: There are many IT advisory firms to which Drexel does *not* subscribe: ComputerEconomics, EMarketer, Forrester Research, Gartner, IDC, Jupiter Research, Yankee Group (telco), and selected investment banking firms. Reviewing their websites can be helpful if the industry language is new to you. Many offer previews of their reporting that can be helpful as context.

Strategic - (business articles)

  • The IT/ IS literature at top level blends with the business literature used by MBA's within the MIS concentration, as well as entrepreneurs and leaders of any organization that is enabled by information technology.  It's more about using technology as a strategic advantage in the marketplace to make business decisions in light of internal strengths and external opportunities. This leader has a good understanding of what technology enables an organization to do, but relies on subordinates to make the individual components work.  Good journals in this area are Harvard Business Review, CIO and journals of that nature. I recommend the following research guide to Business Articles, as well as Business Plans & Entrepreneurship.

Pure Academic - journals, proceedings & dissertations

  • best resource
  • Journals Search the titles of Drexel's journals for keywords such as: information technology, information systems, or computer. Then browse the holdings of those individual journals, or search again within each journal for your topic.  Please be aware that in computer science, the journal literature is often not where the most cutting edge research is to be found. The forum for new ideas is really at conferences and papers there are captured in proceedings (see below.)
  • Proceedings Research presented at conferences is often more cutting edge than what gets published in journals. Find information science conference proceedings in LNCS, ACM Digital Library, ERIC and also in the multidisciplinary Papers First - a  world-wide index to papers of conferences and meetings received at the British Library. Other finding aides include an index to the full meetings themselves Proceedings First or the global library catalog WorldCat that can help verify details before ordering hard-to-find items through the Library link to Borrow from Other Libraries for inter-libarary loan.
  • ACM Digital Library & Guide to Computing Literature -- ELECTRONIC Two separate products from the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery). The Digital Library includes abstracts, reviews, and the full-text of articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since 1985. The Guide to Computing Literature has abstracts-only of non-ACM computing literature and (through GetIT) often links to full-text. Covers many computing-oriented information science topics.
  • Lecture Notes in Computer Science -- ELECTRONIC Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) publishes hundreds of conference proceedings every year with new developments in computer science and information technology research. Includes the series in Artificial Intelligence (LNAI) and Bioinformatics (LNBI). If a proceeding is not in ACM, then it's here in LNCS. Content goes back to 1973.
  • Proquest Dissertations & Theses Searchable full-text by author, topic or institution. Dissertations from 1980 forward have 350-word abstracts. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. All titles published since 1997 are available in in PDF format and have 24 page previews available. Drexel dissertations are available in full text from 1997 without charge while those from other institutions may be purchased for $20 each directly through this external link.

Background - encyclopedias

Copyright © 2014 Drexel University  |   Privacy Policy

Powered by Drupal Druplicon icon