Finding Books
-
Searching the catalog for books on library science:
- Try a keyword search:
- library AND information AND seek*
- Try a subject search:
- Library Science
- Try browsing the LC call numbers for info science related topics:
-
- Z 657-659 Freedom of Information Censorship
- Z 662-1000.5 Libraries
- Z 665 -718.8 Library science Information Science
- Z 695-695.83 Cataloging
- Z 711-711.92 Reference services (Libraries)
- Z 1001- 8999 Bibliography
- Z 1037-1039 Books for special classes of persons...
- ZA 3040-5185 Information Resources
- ZA 3201-3250 Internet
- ZA 4050-4460 Electronic Information Resources
Finding Articles
- [[121]]
Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA) — ELECTRONIC Library and Information Science Abstracts is an international abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists. LISA currently abstracts over 440 periodicals from more than 68 countries and in more than 20 different languages.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) — ELECTRONIC Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Many abstracts lead to full-text via SFX.

- Library Literature & Information Science Full Text — ELECTRONIC Library and Information Science Journals Indexed from 1982, abstracted from 1984, and available in full text from 1994.

- Library Literature & Information Science Retrospective: 1905-1983 — ELECTRONIC Indexing of over 1,200 periodicals, with citations to more than 500,000 articles, including book reviews. Search hundreds of periodicals, plus books, book chapters and library school theses.

- Use the Drexel e-journal directory to search by keyword (for terms such as "library") or browse by category (such as library & information science) then browse that journal's contents. Use the "Articles & More" tab from the front page of the library website to search across ALL subscribed databases simultaneously. This uses the discovery layer tool called "Summon" - learn more about it here.
- Need older articles? Try Library Lit & Info Sci Retrospective, or contact your librarian about using the following print indexes:
- Education Index (1929-1982)
- Information Science Abstracts (1969-1994)
- Library and Information Science Abstracts (1950-1994)
Encyclopedias & Reference Tools

- Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science -- ELECTRONIC & PRINT Ref Z1006 .E57 Online edition reissued in 2010, with more than 10,000 references this resource covers new developments in the distribution, acquisition, and development of print and online media.
- Annual Review of Information Science & Technology -- ELECTRONIC (2002-2010) and PRINT Ref Z699.A1 A65 (1966 - 2009) Provides a "state of the art" annual look at hot topics in the field by leading authors from American Society for Information Science & Techology "ASIST" and regularly features Drexel iSchool contributors. For older works, use this separate online index of entry titles back to the 1966 to identify the authoritative statement on most topics in 30-50 page entries with extensive bibliographies. A key reference for researchers seeking to get grounded in the literature for this field.

- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences -- ELECTRONIC & PRINT Ref H41 .I58 2001 This deep resource includes articles on libraries, archives, and more under the main entry "Information Science and Technology." Updated annually.
- Online Dictionary of Library and Information Science -- WWW A comprehensive resource for terminology used in all types of libraries, with more than 4,000 terms and cross-references . Its content includes terms from publishing, printing, literature, and computer science where they are relevant to both library professionals and laypersons.
Statistics

- ACRL's Academic Library Trends & Statistics -- WWW Survey data from the latest ACRL edition.
- Association of Research Libraries (ARL) -- WWW Statisical reports some of which Drexel has cataloged individually. As a participating member, we also have access to the full LibQual data set for Drexel and (I think) for other libraries too. Available by special arrangement. Email siftar at drexel dot edu for details.


- American Library Association -- WWW Office for Research and Statistics

- American Library Directory -- PRINT A classified list of libraries in the USA & Canada with annually updated personnel data & some statistics. (FYI - trial access to online version is free with registration.) Ref Desk Z731 .A53
- Bowker Annual: Library and Book Trade Almanac -- PRINT The industry standard for tracking annual changes is book prices. Ref Z731 .A47

- Institute of Museum and Library Services - WWW Public Libraries Survey and the State Library Agencies Survey


- National Center for Educational Statistics, Library Statistics Program -- WWW Strong coverage of academic and school library collections, expenditures, services, and staffing survey results.

- Public Library Data Service statistical report -- PRINT Ref Z731 .P94x (1988 - 2009)
- Salary Surveys: ALA-APA Library Salary Database --ELECTRONIC Various Reports --PRINT Includes librarians and library technicians. American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) Ref Z682.3 .B54 -- PRINT Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Ref Z682.3 .A88x -- WWW & PRINT Special Libraries Association (SLA) Ref Z682.3 .S58x -- ELECTRONIC & PRINT Professional associations often provide statistics via their web sites. Try our "guide to library associations" or search the Encyclopedia of Associations for more options.
Select Web Resources

- Internet Public Library One of the best free web directories and virtual reference services on the web - powered by Drexel I-School and others, using library science student volunteers from around North America.

- Select Library-related E-newsletters LIS News - a weekly blast for true librariana news junkies. Read and submit it! LJ Academic Newsletter - weekly academic-focused news from a leading industry journal. ResourceShelf - high value business and academic focused library news, twice monthly.
Content Editor: Tim Siftar
Last Updated: 10/31/2012









