Searching the catalog for books on biodiversity:
Browse the stacks: Biological Diversity -- QH541
Ecosystem Management -- QH75
- Biological Sciences - ELECTRONIC
An interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
- BioOne - ELECTRONIC
BioOne is the product of an innovative collaboration between scientific societies, libraries, academe and the private sector, and offers an aggregation of full-texts, high-impact bioscience research journals. Most of these titles are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers, and, until now, have been available only in printed form.
- Biodiversity Heritage Library - WWW
The Biodiversity Heritage Library works collaboratively to make biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.
- ProQuest - ELECTRONIC
Provides searching platform for a number of periodical databases covering Business, Science, Humanities and Social Sciences. Delivers more than 4,000 full-text publications from over 3,000 publishing partners.
- Biodiversity: A Reference Handbook - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor QH541.15.B56 B435 1998
The handbook covers the multiple issues surrounding biological diversity with an overview, a chronology, biographical sketches, statistics, documents, a directly of organizations along with their web sites, a glossary, and a listing of print and electronic sources of information
- Handbook of biodiversity methods : survey, evaluation and monitoring - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor QH541.15.B56 H35 2005
- BRIM (Biodiversity Resources for Inventorying and Monitoring)- WWW
The world's largest publicly accessible database of vascular flora and vertebrate fauna species inventories of protected areas. As of February 2000, species inventories from over 640 protected sites in 87 countries are included.
- Dictionary of Ecology - ELECTRONIC
Searchable dictionary database of ecology and the environmental sciences, covering topics from plant and animal physiology, animal behavior, evolution, environmental pollution, and conservation to climatology, meteorology, geomorphology, and oceanography.
- Encyclopedia of Life - WWW
- World Atlas of Biodiversity - PRINT
Hagerty Reference QH541.15.B56 G762 2002
- Life on Earth - PRINT
Hagerty Reference QH541.15.B56 L54 2002
- Facts on File Dictionary of Ecology - PRINT
Hagerty Reference QH540.4 .F35 2004
- Elsevier's Dictionary of the Genera of Life- PRINT
Hagerty Reference QH83.T77 1999
An alphabetical compilation of most of the recognized General of Life on earth, of the Animal and Vegetable kingdoms, including bacteria and other parasitic forms of existence.
- Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology - PRINT
Hagerty Reference QH540.4.E52 1995
Three volumes The encyclopedia includes over 154 entries and most of the entries are over ten pages long. Each entry includes a bibliography and glossaries. It is an excellent first resource to begin your search.
- Handbook of biodiversity valuation : a guide for policy makers - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor QH541.15.B56 H36 2002
- Biodiversity Hotspots - WWW
From the Center for Applied Biodiversity Science, Conservation International.
- ben:BiosciEdNet -- WWW
Digital library portal for teaching and learning in the biological sciences. The BEN Portal provides access to education resources from BEN Collaborators and is managed by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Over 12,930 reviewed resources covering 77 biological sciences topics are available. Access to some images and movies require registration, but all are free and well worth the extra effort.
- Invasive Species Program -- WWW
From USGS, this site offers programs, databases, monitoring information and much more. If you are interested in the ramifications of invasive species, this is a good place to start.
- NatureServe - WWW
Consider these “books” as supplements to course textbooks and classroom instruction. In the wiki world anyone can edit and contribute, so use these resources with some discernment.
Content Editor: Peggy Dominy
Last Updated: 07/30/2013