- Finding Books
- Finding Articles
- Handbooks and Encyclopedias
- Green Concerns
- Current Awareness
- US Government Agencies and Institutions
- Wiki Books
Searching the catalog for books on environmental sciences:
Browse the stacks: Environmental Sciences, Philosophy -- GE40-
Environmental Protection, Economic Aspects -- HC79
Sustainable Architecture -- NA2542
Green Marketing -- HF5413
- Biological Sciences - ELECTRONIC
An interdisciplinary database that offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
- Environmental Engineering Abstracts - ELECTRONIC
Coverage of the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. More than 700 primary journals are thoroughly indexed and abstracted. Over 2,500 additional sources, including monographs and conference proceedings, are also monitored for relevant articles.
- GreenFILE (open access) - ELECTRONIC
GreenFILE offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
- Encyclopedia of Life - WWW
Our knowledge of the many life-forms on Earth - of animals, plants, fungi, protists and bacteria - is scattered around the world in books, journals, databases, websites, specimen collections, and in the minds of people everywhere. Imagine what it would mean if this information could be gathered together and made available to everyone – anywhere – at a moment’s notice.
- The Environment Encyclopedia and Directory 2001- PRINT
Hagerty Reference GE10 .E56 2001
- Handbook of globalization and the environment - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor GE170 .H3663 2007
- Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science - PRINT
Hagerty Reference TD9 .W95 2001
- Biomass assessment handbook : bioenergy for a sustainable environment - PRINT
Hagerty 2nd Floor TP339 .B548 2007
- Rapid Guide to Hazardous Chemicals in the Environment - PRINT
Hagerty Reference RA1226 .P64 1997
- Terms of Environment - WWW
"Terms Of Environment" defines in non-technical language the more commonly used environmental terms appearing in EPA publications, news releases, and other Agency documents available to the general public, students, the media, and Agency employees.
- Standard Handbook of Environmental Science - PRINT
Hagerty Reference GE123 .S73 2000
- Facts on File Dictionary of Ecology and the Environment - PRINT
Hagerty Reference QH540.4 .F35 2004
- United Nations Data -- WWW
Find here data on Greenhouse Gas Inventory Data (4,219 records) United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change
- Biodiversity Heritage Library - WWW
The Biodiversity Heritage Library works collaboratively to make biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community. BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.
- Climate Debate Daily - WWW
A new way to understand the disputes about global warming.
- National Council for Science and the Environment - WWW
The National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE) works to improve the scientific basis for environmental decisionmaking. Guided by the needs of stakeholders, NCSE educates society about the importance of comprehensive scientific programs that integrate cross-cutting research with knowledge assessments, education, information dissemination, and training.
- Climate 1-Stop - WWW
The Climate 1-Stop provides a single location to share and access climate change tools, resources and information, with a primary focus on adaptation in developing countries. The Climate 1-Stop is a partnership of southern and northern organizations working at all levels, from grass roots to global.
- Envirolink - WWW
EnviroLink is a non-profit organization... a grassroots online community that unites hundreds of organizations and volunteers around the world with millions of people in more than 150 countries. EnviroLink is dedicated to providing you with the most comprehensive, up-to-date environmental resources available.
- IUCN - International Union for the Protection of Nature - WWW
More than 10,000 internationally-recognised scientists and experts from more than 180 countries volunteer their services to its six global commissions. They produce the Red List of Threatened Species, assessment of the conservation status of species, subspecies, varieties and even selected subpopulations on a global scale in order to highlight taxa threatened with extinction.
- Soil Biology Movies - WWW
This web site contains 16 movies on life in the soil. Produced by Dr. Tom Loynaachan of Iowa State University, each video replicates a lecture describing a living item found in the soil. Examples include nematodes, protozoa, mites, etc. This page is intended for high speed internet connections and requires macromedia flash player.
- USDA Forest Service - WWW
- US Geological Survey - WWW
- National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration - WWW
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency - WWW
- National Invasive Species Information Center - WWW
National Invasive Species Information Center (NISIC) is the gateway to invasive species information; covering Federal, State, local, and international sources.
- Invasive Species Program -- WWW
This site is from the USGS folks.
- U.S. Fish & Wildlfe Service - WWW
- Environmental Law Institute - WWW
The Institute has played a pivotal role in shaping the fields of environmental law, policy, and management, domestically and abroad. An internationally recognized, non-partisan research and education center working to strengthen environmental protection by improving law and governance worldwide.
- Scripps Institution of Oceanography - WWW
Founded in 1903, Scripps Institution of Oceanography is one of the world's oldest, largest, and most important centers for global science research, graduate training , and public service. As part of the University of California, San Diego, Scripps Institution today is world renowned for its preeminence in scientific disciplines relating to biology, physics, chemistry, climatology, geosciences, and geophysics.
- National Center for Atmospheric Research - WWW
NCAR, the National Center for Atmospheric Research, is located in Boulder, Colorado. NCAR's mission is to plan, organize, and conduct atmospheric and related research programs in collaboration with universities, to provide state-of-the-art research tools and facilities to the entire atmospheric sciences community, to support and enhance university atmospheric research education, and to facilitate the transfer of technology to both the public and private sectors.
- Center for Environmental Philosophy - WWW
Dedicated to providing access to Internet resources throughout the world which pertain to or focus on environmental ethics and environmental philosophy.
Consider these “books” as supplements to course textbooks and classroom instruction. In the wiki world anyone can edit and contribute, so use these resources with some discernment.
- Climate Change -- http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Climate_change
- Ecology -- http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Ecology
- Green Maven - WWW
Green Maven is your gateway to the Green Web. A search engine that focuses on green, conscious, and sustainable websites.
- Green Technology & Alternative Energy - WWW
The term "Green Technology" has been adopted over the last 5 years to identify a group of industries and industrial applications which exploit the commercial value of technologies that benefit the environment; particularly as it impacts the human condition. This site is an essay on Green Technology and material science associated with it. Links to solar energy, fuel cells, nuclear power, etc. make this a good summary and introductory guide to this arena. Includes bibliography!
- Best Green Blogs - WWW
Find here an annotated collection of Blogs relating to Green Concerns. Happy trolling!
- Green Building - WWW
Green building is a design and construction practice the promotes the economic health and well-being of the community and environment.
- U.S. Green Building Council - WWW
The U.S. Green Building Council is a 501(c)(3) non-profit community of leaders working to make green buildings accessible to everyone within a generation.
- Sourcebook for Green and Sustainable Building - WWW
- Green Building - WWW
From the good folks of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. A gateway to numerous EPA webpages on how to improve the environmental performance of buildings.
- BuildingGreen Suite - ELECTRONIC
BuildingGreen Suite integrates online versions of GreenSpec, Environmental Building News, and a database of more than 160 high-performance building case studies. The information is searchable and cross-referenced by CSI MasterFormat division, LEED credit, or green topic. Each article, product listing, and case study also lists related content and information sources.
- Built Green - WWW
Built Green Colorado is one of oldest and largest green home building programs in the nation. A voluntary industry-driven program of the Home Builders Association of Metro Denver offered to builders across the state, the purpose of Built Green Colorado is to encourage home builders to use technologies, products and practices that result in homes that are better built and better for the environment.
- GreenBiz - WWW
Business. The Environment. The Bottom Line. Now includes Joel Makower: Two Steps Forward - WWW - Blog. Makower does extensive research about companies and corporations on their green initiatives.
- Sustainable Business - WWW
SustainableBusiness provides global news and networking services to help green business grow, covering all sectors: renewable energy, green building, sustainable investing, and organics.
- Aligned for Sustainable Design - WWW
An A-B-C-D Approach to Making Better Products. This pdf document from Business for Social Responsibility contain many examples of products and case studies on disigning green.
- Evolvist - WWW
Find eco-friendly and socially responsible businesses around you.
- Jetson Green - WWW
Jetson Green is a daily updated web magazine that's obsessed with green building, sustainable architecture, good design, clean technology in the built environment, and eco-friendly development.
- Air Pollution Impacts on Infants and Children - WWW
Report from the UCLA Institute of the Environment and Sustainability (2008)
Environmental Resources for Youth
- Energy Education Council - WWW
The EEC is a 501 (c) 3 non-profit organization headquartered within the University of Illinois Extension. Council members include investor-owned electric utilities, cooperatives, municipal utilities, educators and others who share the mission to provide life-saving and energy-saving information and resources.
- Clean Air Kids - WWW
Loaded with activities, games and puzzles to engage children of all ages.
- Amateur Guide for Air Quality Testing - WWW
In the 1970s, the first regulations on air pollutants were implemented in the United States. Since that time, we have made many significant reductions on all types of air pollutants. However, bad air quality, smog, and acid rain continue to threaten our health and environment. In this chapter, we discuss certain key air pollutants and ways that you can monitor these air pollutants in your area.
- Chert Glades Naturalists - WWW
The Chert Glades Naturalists is a corps of volunteers who provide public education and community service aimed at promoting awareness and preservation of natural resources in the Joplin area. The group is part of the Missouri Master Naturalist program, established in 2004 through a partnership of the Missouri Department of Conservation and University of Missouri Extension. Also extensive additional resouces provided.
Content Editor: Peggy Dominy
Last Updated: 07/30/2013